We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet but not much service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Kheir

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Kheir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kheir
4 Derb El Ferrane Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #762 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
NB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet but not much service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed one night at Dar El Kheir, traveling with our almost 2 year old toddler. I must say the riad was very clean and calm, and has warm water and air-conditioning and is on walking distance to the Jemaa El Fna, but that's all positive.
When we came in, we had to wait until somebody showed up. The temperatures in Marrakech was about 46 degrees Celsius and when we came into the small room, it was only warmer than that. They could have turned on the air-conditioning just before our arrival.
We've asked before our arrival for a baby bed, and the owner assured us there would be a babycot. But all we found was a mattress on the floor, right in front of the air-conditioning. Which caused us not being able to sleep due to the heat.

We didn't had food in the airplane, there was no restaurant at the airport and when we asked for food, they let us know that we had to make a reservation and nothing could be arranged! So we had to take a 20 min. walk to the Place Jemaa El Fna to find some restaurants and be able to eat. Gladly we passed some kiosks on the way to buy some cold water. Also the way to Jemaa El Fna is very easy, just straight on and at the Koutoubia Mosque to the left.

Our son was awake around 5:30 and we could entertain him for 1,5 hour in the room, but then we took him to the pool downstairs too cool off, but the owner stepped out of his room, angry and telling us 'NO!' like an angry father. This while our son wasn't shouting and very happy singing songs in the room and laughing when he saw the pool. Off course when we needed to go back to the room that was different and he was crying very loudly.

Breakfast was poor and tasted old. I've asked the owner the night before for some boiled milk for our son, but in the morning we've found out there was no milk, even for our coffee!
The personnel looked annoyed from the moment we arrived.
We didn't feel relaxed and felt like we were staying in the owners house.

We don't recommend going to this/a riad with young kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    7
    14
    7
See reviews for
2
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very nice rooms and service. Breakfast was a bit weak; typically consisted of bread, croissant or cake or pancake, orange juice and tea or coffee. No menus for food or drink though very tasty and traditional. Service was very good besides the language barrier. Riad owner recommended a few restaurants that were quite expensive so shop around before you commit to any.
Rooms were very clean but received minimal replenishments on consumables ie toilet paper, clean towels, etc... Cleaner randomly invited 2 guests into our room which we believe were the next users. No lock on door but key safe was available in room. Plunge pool is not heated at all but well worth a dip to cool yourself down.
Transfers that were supposedly included in price didn't include return trip. So make sure you have a spare 150 dhm for a taxi.
Overall I would come again and I would recommend it but do not take the riad owners advice for excursions, eating out, etc...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I visited with my partner in january, this was not our first trip to Marrakech, The riad was lovely, the room(the water room) was everything I could wish for with a four poster bed and a wonderful bathroom. Stephane and his crew were all charming and very helpful and the riad was so, so calm and peaceful once you come through the door, this is something I really value in a city like Marrakech. We were given a free meal one evening, having booked three nights, and it was delightful, a truely excellent kefte tagine, at least as good as food we had in an expensive restaurant in the town centre, and better than most. The price, even if this was in the low season, was just right, a feeling of luxury for a very reasonable cost. We would not hesitate to book here again the next time we visit the city.

Room Tip: I loved the water room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

An oasis of calm in hectic Marrakesh. Very pretty, clean, and characterful riad. The chain smoking host Stefan is very helpful. Had an excellent time there. Had lovely meal too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A very nice and peaceful Riad in the middle of Marrakech hassle. Picked upnat the arrival, we noticed that the Riad was very easy to find, a short walk from the market. Beautiful rooms- we were two couples - cosy and clean. The young staff was about the most friendly and service minded I ever met! All smiles and laughter, no problems seem to exist.
On top of all, our complimentary dinner and the dinner on last evening turned out to be the best meals we had in the week in Marrakech, including the posh joints too!
This will definitively be one of the places we will be returning to!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very dissapointing!! indeed, having to knock at the door also no key to lock ur room & a safe that anyone can carry out! breakfast was next to nothing bread & more bread very poor, had a meal on the Riad gave us wine , then to our surprise wanted to charge us 140 dirhams ,14 euros, they should have a drink list! of course we did"nt pay! room basic cold water 2days, top terrace very dirty & old beds. only 1 girl that was simpatic & done all the work, Stephan & his partner i found very rude ,no !!! you can"t take food into this Riad they took Bananas off us, they should state this to their clients before!! this Riad spoilt our holiday!!!! never again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I've stayed fopr 4 nights with my girlfriend recently in this Riad and we stayed in the red room or heart room, just above the tiny tiny pool (better to call it a large tub...). It was nice, basic with all the essencial needs, not any luxury but generally tidy.
We had a car transport to pics us up to the Riad in the airport and we had the complementary dinner, simple but nice and welcoming enough. The breakfast was simple but good, butter, good olive oil, orange juice, tea or coffee and croissant and bread as well as jam and honey. Our staying was very good and relaxed the only negative aspect was the fact that had a young child that was constantly crying, from the morning (very early morning...) to the night time and i didn't spent much time in the Riad!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar El Kheir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kheir

Address: 4 Derb El Ferrane Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #762 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated in 2006 respecting the original architecture, Riad DAR EL KHEIR is traditional home, but with all the modern comforts, located in the romantic medina of Marrakech, at 5 minutes working from the famous place Djemaa el Fna , your guest can relax on our quiet terrace and enjoy the sun. Afterwards they may sample the fabulous Moroccan cuisine on the patio. The Riad is built around 2 flower-filled patios in the center with nice swimming pool, includes six rooms and nice terrace roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Prestigia, Budget Places, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar El Kheir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Kheir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.