We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and characterful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Kheir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar El Kheir to your Saves list
Riad Dar El Kheir
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4 Derb El Ferrane Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #817 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty and characterful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

An oasis of calm in hectic Marrakesh. Very pretty, clean, and characterful riad. The chain smoking host Stefan is very helpful. Had an excellent time there. Had lovely meal too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A very nice and peaceful Riad in the middle of Marrakech hassle. Picked upnat the arrival, we noticed that the Riad was very easy to find, a short walk from the market. Beautiful rooms- we were two couples - cosy and clean. The young staff was about the most friendly and service minded I ever met! All smiles and laughter, no problems seem to exist.
On top of all, our complimentary dinner and the dinner on last evening turned out to be the best meals we had in the week in Marrakech, including the posh joints too!
This will definitively be one of the places we will be returning to!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very dissapointing!! indeed, having to knock at the door also no key to lock ur room & a safe that anyone can carry out! breakfast was next to nothing bread & more bread very poor, had a meal on the Riad gave us wine , then to our surprise wanted to charge us 140 dirhams ,14 euros, they should have a drink list! of course we did"nt pay! room basic cold water 2days, top terrace very dirty & old beds. only 1 girl that was simpatic & done all the work, Stephan & his partner i found very rude ,no !!! you can"t take food into this Riad they took Bananas off us, they should state this to their clients before!! this Riad spoilt our holiday!!!! never again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gail022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I've stayed fopr 4 nights with my girlfriend recently in this Riad and we stayed in the red room or heart room, just above the tiny tiny pool (better to call it a large tub...). It was nice, basic with all the essencial needs, not any luxury but generally tidy.
We had a car transport to pics us up to the Riad in the airport and we had the complementary dinner, simple but nice and welcoming enough. The breakfast was simple but good, butter, good olive oil, orange juice, tea or coffee and croissant and bread as well as jam and honey. Our staying was very good and relaxed the only negative aspect was the fact that had a young child that was constantly crying, from the morning (very early morning...) to the night time and i didn't spent much time in the Riad!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rostodocao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

If I could give half a point rating I would!
My partner and I booked a few days in Marrakech and this Riad appeared on their website as "hotel of Generosity", it was pretty central and looked amazing on the pictures. Such a shame it failed in all aspects apart from being central. The two ladies who ran the front of house were horrid. Unfortunately we are not fluent in French or Spanish, but they were even worse at English. There was some confusion with when you had to pay for your stay, so we ended up speaking with the owner Stefan, who fortunately clarified that for us. As it was during Ramadan, we thought of buying some food from the market to eat at the riad, which we were forbidden to do. So was drinking anything purchased outside of the riad. This hadn't been explained to us beforehand. We tried to exchange some euros for dirhams, as most hotels/riads offer this but were told they don't have any. The coca cola which was offered on our arrival was then charged to our room at restaurant prices.
We booked 3 x nights so we got a complimentary meal, which was actually rather good. The breakfasts however were terrible and consisted of stale bread and some pancakes with jam or honey. And coffee is only served at breakfast.
The free wifi was intermittent and most frustrating.
After staying in a riad in Essaouira we got accustomed to Moroccan friendliness and level of hospitality that they are known for, and sadly the staff at Riad Dar el Kheir was less than accomodating. Will not recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the riad for 4 nights. Stephane, the French owner, and his team were very friendly and definitely made you feel at home. The surroundings are beautiful and its a genuine oasis from the hustle & bustle of Marrakech itself.

Its worth booking a taxi from the airport (165 Dirhams which you pay to the riad. Return taxi to the airport is only 100 Dirhams and you pay the driver!). Honestly, you will never find it otherwise as the riad is situated down an alley way. Use the knocker on the big wooden door and someone will let you in.

The room is fine. Very clean with fresh towels every day, as you would expect. The toiletries are 'interesting' in glass bottles without labels. We still don't know to this day which the shampoo was! Also, you will need to ask for a hairdryer (seche cheveux) as there isn't one in the room. Or a television, although we did expect that.

Breakfast was fairly minimalist, but none the less typical of Morocco. Baguette, cake or pastry and usually a local crumpet or pancake. Washed down with coffee (you are only offered one cup mind you!) and local orange juice which is delicious.

The riad will do you a 3 course dinner for 20 Euros, but if it was me I wouldn't bother. You can eat cheaply locally. In Jemma el Fna (the main square which is 15 mins walk away) two of you can have dinner for around £10. For around £10-15 you can find dinner in a small restaurant in the side streets. We liked to finish off at the cafe on the corner overlooking the Koutoubia - it didn't have a name, but has a large canopy - coffee is around £1 and a diet coke around £1.50, so it won't break the bank.

We did feel a bit ripped off with dinner at the riad on New Year's Eve. Whilst the food was lovely, the service good and the ambiance memorable, we never got the coffee and Moroccan pastries that were promised at the end of the meal. It may have been because it was approaching midnight, but Stephane did seem to still find time to sell us a glass of bubbly at £4 each and a bottle of wine for £11!

Overall though, a positive experience. If we ever end up in Marrakech again we would defintely stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeseymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The wife and I visited Marrakech for my 30th birthday in Nov 2009 and we spent one night in this riad for the experience. We initially stayed at the Ibis Moussafir and we were very glad we stayed at least one night here - in hindsight I wish I had not bothered with the Ibis.

The staff here were very welcoming and accomodating. The owner is a French expat who was helpful in introducing us to the local area and reccomended sites to visit. We did feel he was a bit pushy at trying to sell his services e.g. Moroccon meal at the riad @ £25 per head etc.

The riad will generally arrange a transfer from and to the airport. I don't recommend getting a taxi here and most taxi drivers will not know where this riad is.

Overall a great experience and would return again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uk1raver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#267 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Zarka
Riad Zarka
#265 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#93 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Kheir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kheir

Address: 4 Derb El Ferrane Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #817 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Kheir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated in 2006 respecting the original architecture, Riad DAR EL KHEIR is traditional home, but with all the modern comforts, located in the romantic medina of Marrakech, at 5 minutes working from the famous place Djemaa el Fna , your guest can relax on our quiet terrace and enjoy the sun. Afterwards they may sample the fabulous Moroccan cuisine on the patio. The Riad is built around 2 flower-filled patios in the center with nice swimming pool, includes six rooms and nice terrace roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar El Kheir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing