We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Chaos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Kheir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Kheir to your Saves list
Riad Dar El Kheir
4 Derb El Ferrane Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #758 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Chaos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A very nice and peaceful Riad in the middle of Marrakech hassle. Picked upnat the arrival, we noticed that the Riad was very easy to find, a short walk from the market. Beautiful rooms- we were two couples - cosy and clean. The young staff was about the most friendly and service minded I ever met! All smiles and laughter, no problems seem to exist.
On top of all, our complimentary dinner and the dinner on last evening turned out to be the best meals we had in the week in Marrakech, including the posh joints too!
This will definitively be one of the places we will be returning to!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    7
    14
    7
See reviews for
2
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very dissapointing!! indeed, having to knock at the door also no key to lock ur room & a safe that anyone can carry out! breakfast was next to nothing bread & more bread very poor, had a meal on the Riad gave us wine , then to our surprise wanted to charge us 140 dirhams ,14 euros, they should have a drink list! of course we did"nt pay! room basic cold water 2days, top terrace very dirty & old beds. only 1 girl that was simpatic & done all the work, Stephan & his partner i found very rude ,no !!! you can"t take food into this Riad they took Bananas off us, they should state this to their clients before!! this Riad spoilt our holiday!!!! never again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I've stayed fopr 4 nights with my girlfriend recently in this Riad and we stayed in the red room or heart room, just above the tiny tiny pool (better to call it a large tub...). It was nice, basic with all the essencial needs, not any luxury but generally tidy.
We had a car transport to pics us up to the Riad in the airport and we had the complementary dinner, simple but nice and welcoming enough. The breakfast was simple but good, butter, good olive oil, orange juice, tea or coffee and croissant and bread as well as jam and honey. Our staying was very good and relaxed the only negative aspect was the fact that had a young child that was constantly crying, from the morning (very early morning...) to the night time and i didn't spent much time in the Riad!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

If I could give half a point rating I would!
My partner and I booked a few days in Marrakech and this Riad appeared on their website as "hotel of Generosity", it was pretty central and looked amazing on the pictures. Such a shame it failed in all aspects apart from being central. The two ladies who ran the front of house were horrid. Unfortunately we are not fluent in French or Spanish, but they were even worse at English. There was some confusion with when you had to pay for your stay, so we ended up speaking with the owner Stefan, who fortunately clarified that for us. As it was during Ramadan, we thought of buying some food from the market to eat at the riad, which we were forbidden to do. So was drinking anything purchased outside of the riad. This hadn't been explained to us beforehand. We tried to exchange some euros for dirhams, as most hotels/riads offer this but were told they don't have any. The coca cola which was offered on our arrival was then charged to our room at restaurant prices.
We booked 3 x nights so we got a complimentary meal, which was actually rather good. The breakfasts however were terrible and consisted of stale bread and some pancakes with jam or honey. And coffee is only served at breakfast.
The free wifi was intermittent and most frustrating.
After staying in a riad in Essaouira we got accustomed to Moroccan friendliness and level of hospitality that they are known for, and sadly the staff at Riad Dar el Kheir was less than accomodating. Will not recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the riad for 4 nights. Stephane, the French owner, and his team were very friendly and definitely made you feel at home. The surroundings are beautiful and its a genuine oasis from the hustle & bustle of Marrakech itself.

Its worth booking a taxi from the airport (165 Dirhams which you pay to the riad. Return taxi to the airport is only 100 Dirhams and you pay the driver!). Honestly, you will never find it otherwise as the riad is situated down an alley way. Use the knocker on the big wooden door and someone will let you in.

The room is fine. Very clean with fresh towels every day, as you would expect. The toiletries are 'interesting' in glass bottles without labels. We still don't know to this day which the shampoo was! Also, you will need to ask for a hairdryer (seche cheveux) as there isn't one in the room. Or a television, although we did expect that.

Breakfast was fairly minimalist, but none the less typical of Morocco. Baguette, cake or pastry and usually a local crumpet or pancake. Washed down with coffee (you are only offered one cup mind you!) and local orange juice which is delicious.

The riad will do you a 3 course dinner for 20 Euros, but if it was me I wouldn't bother. You can eat cheaply locally. In Jemma el Fna (the main square which is 15 mins walk away) two of you can have dinner for around £10. For around £10-15 you can find dinner in a small restaurant in the side streets. We liked to finish off at the cafe on the corner overlooking the Koutoubia - it didn't have a name, but has a large canopy - coffee is around £1 and a diet coke around £1.50, so it won't break the bank.

We did feel a bit ripped off with dinner at the riad on New Year's Eve. Whilst the food was lovely, the service good and the ambiance memorable, we never got the coffee and Moroccan pastries that were promised at the end of the meal. It may have been because it was approaching midnight, but Stephane did seem to still find time to sell us a glass of bubbly at £4 each and a bottle of wine for £11!

Overall though, a positive experience. If we ever end up in Marrakech again we would defintely stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The wife and I visited Marrakech for my 30th birthday in Nov 2009 and we spent one night in this riad for the experience. We initially stayed at the Ibis Moussafir and we were very glad we stayed at least one night here - in hindsight I wish I had not bothered with the Ibis.

The staff here were very welcoming and accomodating. The owner is a French expat who was helpful in introducing us to the local area and reccomended sites to visit. We did feel he was a bit pushy at trying to sell his services e.g. Moroccon meal at the riad @ £25 per head etc.

The riad will generally arrange a transfer from and to the airport. I don't recommend getting a taxi here and most taxi drivers will not know where this riad is.

Overall a great experience and would return again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Very clean and tastefully decorated. Convenient to the main square (Jemaa El Fna) as well as the shopping area of the souks. Also extremely convenient to catch a taxi or caleche to Gueliz (new part of city) and the Majorelle Gardens. It is actually walking distance to anywhere you'd want to go in Marrakech, but the farthest end of Gueliz would be a half hour walk.
The owner smokes and so do some of the guests. If cigarette smokes bothers you at all, however, I recommend finding a completely different country to visit because there is no escape from it anywhere in Morocco, and I mean 24/7. I stayed in 5 hotels in various cities on my trip and they all had bars or nightclubs in them so you can't even open the windows for fresh air, it's all full of constant cigarette smoke. Likewise the restaurants, trains, taxis, even taking a shower and sleeping in the hotel gives you no respite from the constant cigarette smoke.
Another point, if you're at all squeamish about non-hygienic circumstances, don't go to Morocco. The toilets are a hole in the ground, no indoor plumbing in many places so nowhere to wash your hands. Think about the fact that the people preparing your food in the restaurants can't wash their hands either and it might bother you.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and convenient location
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoking permitted (the owner smoked, too)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar El Kheir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kheir

Address: 4 Derb El Ferrane Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #758 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated in 2006 respecting the original architecture, Riad DAR EL KHEIR is traditional home, but with all the modern comforts, located in the romantic medina of Marrakech, at 5 minutes working from the famous place Djemaa el Fna , your guest can relax on our quiet terrace and enjoy the sun. Afterwards they may sample the fabulous Moroccan cuisine on the patio. The Riad is built around 2 flower-filled patios in the center with nice swimming pool, includes six rooms and nice terrace roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar El Kheir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Kheir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.