We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, picturesque location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amira Victoria

Save Saved
You added Riad Amira Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Amira Victoria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12, Derb El Baroud, Hart Essoura | Bab Kechich, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #493 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Value for money, picturesque location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Riad Amira Victoria and found the experience to be wonderful. The breakfast served in the roof top terrace every morning was a brilliant way to start the day and the staff were helpful, polite and welcoming. We loved the location of the riad, deep in the madina which allowed easy access to all of the main attractions and sights. This riad was recommended to me by a friend and I would highly recommend it to others. High levels of cleanliness, very relaxing, when I go back to Marrakech, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
19
95
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very pretty little hotel/riad, but the location is not the greatest. It's hard to find your way to the main square and someone is always waiting to guide you there for a tip—even when you tell them no. We had a room booked for three nights, and when we got there he said they were overbooked and sent us to the riad next door. That was kind of a nuisance, but it wasn't the end of the world. The other riad was nice enough. The room here was pleasant and breakfast was good—different each day—with homemade yogurt, fresh o.j., coffee or tea, different Moroccan breads, and one day a Moroccan doughnut. Some other guests said they had dinner here and it was quite good, but you have to order it a day in advance, so that is something to consider. Wish we had done that. If you're not in the mood to go out into all the hubbub, a quiet dinner in this relaxing little hotel would be nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

PLEASE NOTE MY RATING IS FOR THE STAFF AND NOT THE RIAD. I would rate the actually riad a 4 but the staff made our stay feel very very uncomfortable.
Me and my friends just came back after a 7 night stay here for my birthday. RUINED. The Riad is very beautiful and really what you would expect of Morocco. However, the staff are the most impolite people I have ever met on my travels. You are locked in and out every day/night. You get dirty looks from them, none can speak English, breakfast is thrown down on the tables and is the same everyday. If you wanted an extra juice with breakfast, you will pay for it. There are no price lists anywhere int he Riad, no times for breakfast or dinner, nothing. No welcome signs. Definately no Hammam too.
Room was nice, air-con, not great but helped. Big bill at end of week with no breakdown of costs. Thrown out of room at 11:30, asked to stay till 5 because flight was in evening, told no there was people coming, LIE, we was in reception all day and no one arrived, rooms were empty. Found somewhere to have a beer on my birthday only for it to be spoilt by the rude and bad mannered man working in the Riad because we woke him up to let us in the Riad.
Riad is about a 20 minute walk to the square, you will get hassled and people want money to help you if you get lost. All part of the experience, but paying someone for directions is not.
Mani square fun and exciting, great food stalls and the best orange juice you can buy (only 4dh) for less than 40p a glass, Great barter and jokes from people working on the stalls to get your custom.
So just to say, stay away from this Riad, you will not be made welcome - the night we arrived we was thrown 4 cards to complete, gave passport, and pointed to the directions of our rooms. We was given a bottle of water for the room (charged at the end of stay). One night we thought we would stay in and order their dinner, for 20 euros per person it certainly may taste nice but it definitely is not worth 20 euros. Starters: Salad, Main: Tangine meat, Desert: Fruit. Waste of money. Oh a glass of water too. No wine, No soft drinks.
We had room number 8 and my friends were in room number 1. Number 8 is fine, spacious, twin beds a bit small but it was fine to sleep in. Room 1 is like a shoe cupboard, bathroom full of mould, air con hahah - i could blow air faster out of my mouth - Ceiling fan, Too noisy to keep on. No fridge in any room to keep drinks cool. No TV in any room. No phones in any room. WiFi if front forecourt of Riad is very good but will not work towards back of riad.
The so called 'MANAGER' was rude and obnoxious and only interested in taking your money. We see him twice in 7 days for a total of 3 or 4 mins in the whole week. He could not care less about anyone other than how much he is earning. I even told him the girls were a bit scared to stay in room 1 (which is in the forecourt on the ground floor) but he said they was not. I told him he promised us a room next to each other but he just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. That was the last we saw of him until he asked us if we wanted an excursion, we looked at him and shrugged our shoulders and walked away. Ditto!
There is one lady who works there, maid, she was the only one who smiled at us or greeted us humanely. The 'head' maid was a real nasty piece of work along with the man who works night and day, they are truly disgusting and nasty people. No way are they what other people say on here. On the day leaving we even caught the woman going through my friends underwear and laughing.
I have traveled the world and experienced 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 star hotels. This was by far the most unwelcoming place i have ever stayed in my lifetime of travelling.
I wish I could put 0 for service, but this is not on the rating system. Just please think very carefully about staying here, there are many places to stay in Marrakech you do not need to book this.

Room Tip: Room 1 is in the courtyard where everyone will walk through, small, hot, and a very mouldy shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were staying 4 night in the Riad from 15th July, till 19, July 2013. The accommodation was really nice. Typical Moroccan. What we wanted. For request the management sent a taxi to pick us up from the airport and back as well. The staff is friendly. They are not too strong in English but we were not any problem with the communication. The French is more preferable. We had breakfast every morning. It was more than enough. Home made pastries, rolls, jams, fresh orange juice, eggs, cheese etc. Delicious. The air-condition was perfect in the room. The temperature was 42 C outside. The Riad is in Medina in the old city area. Which is the real Marrakesh. The location is a bit fare from the center about 25 minutes by walk. After the Museum, which is 3-5 minutes from the Riad, just follow the red sign (they are on the sides of the buildings). We are really enjoy the stay there. I can recommend it everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Riad Amira Victoria offered fantastic value for a reasonable price point. My room was spacious and clean, and my shower had shockingly good water pressure. When I requested a new hair dryer because the original was shot, the staff promptly delivered a new (functional) one.

The location is somewhat removed from the hustle and bustle of the medina, which offers pros and cons. On the plus side, Riad Amira Victoria feels like an oasis from the frenetic and visceral experience of the medina. On the down side, the riad is challenging to access upon first visit. Taxis can only drop off within a five minute walk of the hotel, and then it's a maze to get there; it's important to get exact directions from Hussan, the hotel owner, as to where the taxi should drop off and then a map of where to walk from there.

While the staff spoke limited english, I found them friendly, prompt, and respectful. Definitely consider Riad Amira Victoria for your next Marrakesh visit!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 11 and found it luxuriously spacious. It can more than comfortably accomodate two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Quite difficult to find would be the only downside. Almost imperative that you organise a taxi in advance with the manager to get you from the airport. The location down little alleys is amazing and entirely as we were hoping! The room we had was one of the 3 in the lobby leading to the office and restaurant. Ample size for our needs and I suppose some may say small. For just sleeping as we were never there in the day it was perfect. Bathroom was great and the best shower ever although a little small but does that matter? Beautifully decorated. Breakfast was the only meal we had unfortunately as we met friends whilst there and never had need to use the restaurant. Be prepared for the 5am wake up from the mosque and the cleaners start sweeping at 7am. After a couple of days we never noticed though. For two 40 something sisters it was perfect. We were made to feel very welcome. It seems to be quite a family affair?The waiter with his white gloves is the father of the chambermaid and husband of the cook we think. All very charming. Highly recommend breakfast on the roof terrace but be sure to let them know as the waiter may be perplexed at having to move everything that is already laid out. Don't let him put you off though and insist politely if he pulls a face!

Room Tip: probably not in the lobby due to the cleaner. The glass doors rattle a bit if they hit it with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here the weekend of the 19th April. After arriving at the rhiad around 8:30 we were told by Hassan there was no food being served. As we hadn't eaten since 1pm we were starving so ventured out into the maze of the medina to find a restuarant. This was a big mistake. As 2 women travellers we were very intimidated and got lost so came back to the hotel and didn't eat till breakfast.
Very basic breakfast but very nice.
The staff were very unfriendly and we had long waits for both food & drink. The wine was awful and expensive so we only had a few beers, this was the only selection of alcohol.
Evening meal consisted of cold tinned veg but the tagine was lovely, however 20Euro's was way overpriced.
We had the bill at the end of stay and nothing was explained so again was very expensive. Overall Hassan was lovely but not in the Rhiad enough, the staff were very rude & unhelpful. The Rhiad is lovely and clean but very hard to find without arranging a taxi in advance.
Sun terrace was basic and a pool would be nice.
Wouldn't go back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and have air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Amira Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira Victoria

Also Known As:
Riad Amira Victoria Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amira Victoria Hotel
Address: 12, Derb El Baroud, Hart Essoura | Bab Kechich, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amira Victoria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Marrakech Museum and the Mederasa Ben Youssef, a genuine haven of peace and quiet, Riad Amira Victoria, welcomes you in from the hustle and bustle of the souks. Indeed, a beautiful home with over 500 square meters on the ground floor the riad boasts 11 bedrooms with views on the two tree-lined patios. Original labyrinth style architecture with Moorish lines symbolizing the epitome of traditional Moroccan art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Amira Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amira Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.