We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the lobby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amira Victoria

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Riad Amira Victoria
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12, Derb El Baroud, Hart Essoura | Bab Kechich, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #493 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stay in the lobby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This riad is located close to the souks in central Medina. The riad has beautiful common areas, beautifully appointed double courtyards with lush plants, and inbetween an enclosed dining/sitting area. The room (upstairs) was not up to the standard the lobby promised. The room was not as nice as other riads at the same price, and the bathroom was absolutely below standard. I couldn't even take a proper picture of it because there was no room to move back with the camera. Only one person can fit in the bathroom at one time, I think that says it all. The uncomfortable sink, the low mirror, harsh lighting, a small dark shower with a soapdish and nowhere else to put bathing products except on the floor, but you can't really bend down to pick them up unless you want your behind to touch the cold wall. Very uncomfortable. We left very early morning at 6am, the lady asked us the night before what time we would like the taxi and if we wanted breakfast. The next morning they woke up late, called the taxi late, we barely made it to the airport, and we never got breakfast. The same company owns Riad Dar Foundouk which I am also reviewing.

Room Tip: Although my room sucked, I did peek into a room with a king size bed on the ground floor and it seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
19
95
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Divonne-les-Bains, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

to be fair our first impressions of Marrakech weren't positive having to trek to the Riad from the taxi drop off which is approx 200M from the Riad (suggest getting picked up by the hotel staff at the airport if possible) navigating strange streets while being approached by everything with two legs was somewhat stressful!
The Riad is situated down a side street and upon entering you find yourself in a different world full of tranquility.
Our room was on two levels with 4 beds and two bathrooms - but facing the street so the general street noise was difficult to ignore (as was the 5am call to prayer!!!) Would suggest a room facing the courtyard for real quiet. The room was spacious and comfortable. We breakfasted on the roof terrace daily which was a real treat. Breakfast was really very good with plenty to tuck into each day. A special thanks to Mustafa for trekking upstairs multiple times to serve breakfast. The staff were helpful and made our stay more pleasant
We took advantage of a trip planned to the Atlas Mountains (again this was with the help of the hotel) our guide for the day was really nice and we used him on other occasions to get from A-B

Watch out however for the scheduled stops at the Argan oil co-operatives and other attractions on the way (it seems all tours of this type have the same agenda).
A piece of advice - agree prices for extras in advance - never at the end. Overall, the trip to the mountains is a great experience

I would certainly recommend the Riad to anybody wishing to stay within the walls of the Medina.

Room Tip: For absolute isolation from the outside world choose a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I found this riad at a great price, I've never been to Marrakech before so didn't know anything about it in terms of location etc. I had emailed the riad to arrange airport transfer which worked really well. When we arrived at the riad it was all immaculately clean and there was always staff around to let us out.
The breakfast was great, all different breads, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, and sometimes an egg or yoghurt, we rarely needed anything until evening dinner!
The location of the riad was a bit confusing at first and took us a while to find our way, but after getting rather lost the first couple of days we eventually found a route to the main square, however at night we then got disorientated again in the dark!!
Staying in the the riad was always very peaceful and quiet away from any hustle and bustle! The staff were helpful, despite limited English, however we met the manager later in the week who spoke excellent English, it was a shame we didn't meet him at the start when we arrived!
We also arrange to go on a couple of excursions to the Atlas Mountains which was a great trip stopping at various places in the way, and a great price at 25€ each for four people.
Overall a great little break (5nights) and a lovely riad to stay in, just make sure you have some sort of map, or we thought a compass would have been helpful so we knew at least which direction we were heading in!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sist09
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this Riad through a travel agent. I have not been disappointed, the room was specious with traditional deco, very pleasant. The breakfast was generous and really tasty and fresh, the people were very helpful and and polite. We experience the Haman which was delightful. In general, we had a great experience and we highly recommend this hotel which was well located, in really good condition and amazing service.
Minuses: when we stayed there, the bathroom had sewage smell and the water wasn't evacuating properly in the shower and quite noisy in the morning only because our room was located close by the entrance of the Riad. Advise, ask for a higher up located room.

Room Tip: rooms was located close by the entrance can be noisy, Advise, ask for a higher up located room, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

When you visit Marrakech and wonder what is behind those doors in the Medina you will never find out unless you stay at a Riad. The Amira Victoria is beautifully decorated with quality artisan work everywhere and the contrast of calm after the Souks is wonderful. A very warm welcome awaits, amazing rooms which each open on to a peaceful garden. The roof terrace, with it's pretty fountains and bougainvillaea is a lovely place to relax in the sun with mint tea - or a glass of wine! We had dinner on our first evening as we arrived late and didn't want to search for somewhere and were treated to simple tasty starters and a flavourful introduction to delicious Moroccan cuisine with a chicken tagine, followed by the most gorgeous strawberries, not in season in England! We had lots of requests before arriving, including a taxi from the airport which was very reasonable and most polite driver. I highly recommend a stay here and if you need anything please ask the Manager who is more than happy to help with everything. All the staff indeed were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Riad Amira Victoria is a fusion of authenticity and modern amenities. The ambience of the interior has a calming effect after the hustle and bustle outside.The courtyard is lovely, and typically all the rooms are leading from it. The Riad Amira Victoria is very centrally located, a walk to the square takes about 5 Mins. Along the way you may have to be firm with the locals whose enthusiasm to be your 'walking tour guides' can be annoying, the staff are the most reliable sources for those tourist activities and services. I believe Riad Amira Victoria is moderately price and their breakfasts were almost a banquet, and most importantly 'the fresh coffee was good'.
- I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The split level rooms are wonderful, very clean and well lit, allowing that extra privacy which is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An very nice Riad very close to the souks and the 'big square'. Kind staff and fine breakfast. Make sure you arrange a pick-up form the airport - the Riad is hard to find. The manager will be more than willing to arrange a trip to the Atlas mountains or Essaouira at the coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Amira Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira Victoria

Also Known As:
Riad Amira Victoria Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amira Victoria Hotel
Address: 12, Derb El Baroud, Hart Essoura | Bab Kechich, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amira Victoria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Marrakech Museum and the Mederasa Ben Youssef, a genuine haven of peace and quiet, Riad Amira Victoria, welcomes you in from the hustle and bustle of the souks. Indeed, a beautiful home with over 500 square meters on the ground floor the riad boasts 11 bedrooms with views on the two tree-lined patios. Original labyrinth style architecture with Moorish lines symbolizing the epitome of traditional Moroccan art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Amira Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amira Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Amira Victoria to your Saves list