We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Greenlawn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Dar Fakir is a lovely small riad tucked away in the heart of the medina. Great value for the cost. Luxury without great cost. The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms large and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Not to be missed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    30
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
65
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this Riad for three days in March. Marrakesh is a magical place and so is this place. We arrived around 10 o'clock on a Saturday. They send someone out to get you near the city square as it would be virtually impossible to find on your own. Once we arrived in the Riad it was charming, small and we were welcomed with open arms. Our room was beautiful. There is not a lot of lighting and the electrical outlets are in need of repair. Nevertheless the experience of the room was so different. The staff went over the top when it comes to service. They made you feel safe, comfortable and directed you to outstanding restaurants and tourist adventures. The breakfasts they served in the morning on the terrace was extremely enjoyable and relaxing. They didn't have food available for supper. You had to reserve it and it was basically was being brought in. However, there are many many restaurants within easy walking distance. Each of the restaurants that we went to were absolutely magical and we will remember them forever. You get an excellent feeling of living in the old city by staying at this Riad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A very magical place to stay for a very reasonable price! The accommodations were beautiful and centrally located. Staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to be of assistance. Dining was a wonderful experience in itself. I recommend Dar Fakir to anyone traveling to Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed here a while ago, but am only now getting round to doing my reviews. This Riad is beautiful and impeccably kept. The service was amazing and the staff could never do enough to help you. Breakfast was delicious - full freshly cooked range of pancakes, bread and moroccan treats with fresh honey and orange juice, all served on the morning sun on the roof terrace.

Rooms were comfortably furnished (beds so comfortable!) and had everything you could need, including bath robes.

It's so close to the main square, but far enough that the noise at night is not a problem. I didn't hear the prayer calls very often either.

Great trip and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am a little late in placing this review but looking at the recent comments it looks as though things are just as good, so it's nice to know the Riad is consistent in terms of it's excellent accommodation & service.
This is a wonderful retreat just Minutes away from the hustle & bustle of the Madina.
The Riad is tastefully decorated and furnished to give you a true feeling of Moroccan Hospitality.
We ate in the Riad on a couple of a nights and enjoyed the piece and quiet having been out and about in the heat all day.The breakfast was traditional and tasty and we ate in the Restaurant which had prepared the night time food for the Riad on the next two nights. It was excellent , great ambiance with excellent food and wine.
The room itself was very atmospheric furnished with Moroccan style dark furniture and fabrics. The whole effect i would say is shabby chic which is perfect for this type of building.
I would definitely recommend a Riad when staying in Marrakech , although you may not have all the mod cons,room service, swimming pool etc i think it more than makes up in an experience you will never forget.
Thank you .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay , I highly advise anyone that's visits Marrakech to stay here . It's close to the main square but yet quiet and luxurious I felt it was a palace . The staff are excellent and very helpful we all felt truly looked after and I would love to go back again . It's a must if you get an opportunity to stay here absolutely beautiful :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My friend and I stayed here last week for five nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay! The service was impeccable. Kirstin, the owner, was kind and helpful. The AC of the room we booked was broken, and even though the maintenance workers claimed it was working, she recognized that it was not as cool as it should be and upgraded us to a suite so we would be more comfortable. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious, and we had dinner at the hotel one night which was also delicious. The only complaint I had was that the rooms were all very dimly lit, and it was hard to see, even during the day. Also, with the genuine experience comes a slight sacrifice in amenities (no conditioner, mini fridge, TV, pool) which we did not mind, but if you are looking for these things you might want to look elsewhere. Overall, an amazing and authentic experience that I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Doubles are very small, book a suite if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#165 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.