We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Milan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The General Manager is a German girl which is super nice and helpful, as is the rest of the entire staff! Always eager to make one feel cozy and at home and always offering a great smile along with their service! Location is very good, too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
60
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed bacak in Oct 2013 but was too lazy to write a review til now (oops :D). The riad was excellent, so close to the square. On our arrival, we had a welcome tea and the lady gave us a map and talked us through all the main attractions. The room is nice and the bed is comfortable. The breakfast was really good too since they gave us many options. What we like most is the staff. They were so polite and helpful, especially the guy who served us breakfast every morning. Thank you and we'd love to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was my first trip to Morocco and I have truly fallen in love with the culture. I especially enjoyed my stay at Dar Fakir as it made the experience even more special... and I would love the opportunity to return.

The location is superb as it's only a 5 min walk to the main square. So, there is plenty to explore on your doorstep which is ideal especially for a short stay.

The riad is breathtakingly beautiful from the first moment you step in. It's a treat for all your senses with the exquisite aromas from the reed diffusers and burning candles, to the soft music playing in the background through to the sight of the open court yard with the pool.

The rooms are super clean and quite frankly stunning! The beds are enormous and extremely comfortable. I would really enjoy to wake up the sound of the little birds singing that came to the open court yard every morning.

The service is impeccable and the staff are so friendly, professional and helpful if you need advice.

We only had breakfasts here and they resembled a banquet, filling the table with a variety of croissants, cake, yoghurt, baguettes, pancakes and more! Unfortunately, I'm gluten intolerant so I'd always opt for the omelet with Moroccan cheese. It has to be the most delicious omelet I've ever had, (thank you Ridwan).
We could have our breakfast laid out anywhere we chose within the riad, and quite often we would chose to sit by the grand fire place, but on our last day as it was warm and sunny we decided to sit on the roof top terrace overlooking the Atlas Mountains in the distance. It was the perfect way to spend our last morning in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is the first time I've ever left a review on trip advisor but having just returned from the Dar Fakir for a surprise birthday present for my wife I have felt compelled too. There's not much else I can add to the best reports on here only to say that the service provided by the staff is as good if not better as some of the finest 5 star hotels, they really cannot do enough. Anyone deliberating whether to book this Riad based on location, quality, cleanliness, or service should just do it as it's difficult to see how it could be bettered, even if paying more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dar Fakir was the perfect location - close to everything, very comfortable, extremely friendly...the staff could not have done more to make our stay memorable. i know where we'll stay when next in Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved everything about the Dar Fakir! It's immensely stylish, with the sort of seemingly simple décor that has entailed a great deal of thought and attention to detail, resulting in a calm and quietly luxurious atmosphere which is a striking contrast to the narrow streets of the medina outside. The staff were delightful and looked after us with the greatest care and consideration, and the breakfast was the best we had in Morocco.
It was fortunate though that we were the only guests, as our party included children of five and six who might have disturbed any other guests since the rooms all opened onto the central courtyard.
This hotel is so special that it would be worth going back to Morocco just to stay there again: and it would be a wonderful place to take a party of friends for a weekend in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from Marrakech and a fantastic stay at Dar Fakir - a little oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the city! Marrakech is a place of extremes - extreme hustle and bustle and then extreme calm and this is certainly the latter - it made for a fantastic stay.

After taking a trip down a winding alleyway you emerge into the most beautiful courtyard of the Riad - Very calm, very friendly staff and a good relaxing area after a wild day in the Medina.

Kerstin the manager was fantastic at offering advice on things to do and helped make booking for any excursions we made. The trip went without hitch.

The rooms themselves are spotless and full of character - facilities you'd expect in a hotel charging far in excess of the room rates of Dar Fakir - it is fantastic value.

The breakfasts that are prepared are also very tasty and filling and set you up for the day ahead.

I would certainly recommend this Riad to everyone - my folks will no doubt be following in my footsteps on an upcoming trip.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to one of the larger rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.