We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad for Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Save Saved
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad for Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Riad was lovely, it was quiet when we were there with only one other guest. Very close to Medina but once you are inside you feel away from it. The staff were friendly and very helpful to us.
I have rated the sleep quality as average as I think we had our aircon on the wrong setting, as I just couldn't get cool and it was too late to see someone. I don't think it was broken as it was fine the next day. We only stayed one night so we did not get a chance to have a second night, if we had I am sure it would have been much better.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all the rooms are equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    26
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

One on the best things in Marrakesh was our stay at Dar Fakir, the staff is very friendly, the chef is the best one in town! Very clean, and they will do whatever it takes to make sure you leave with a smile. Very romantic!
Depending on the time you arrive the area could be intimidating but don't worry, the people are very helpful, they will walk you to we're you need to go if you are lost (very easy to get lost)
Go out and enjoy the plaza after 7pm.
No worries about getting robbed, just don't walk in to the shops unless you are ready to buy.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor! That way you can walk downstairs and the terrace.... Best at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Raid Dar Farkir from 18th July until the 21st July 2013. we had arranged a transfer with the Raid which I would definately recommend if its your first time staying at the Raid. We were picked up from the airport and then dropped off to the square as cars coudln't go through during the evening. We were then met by a young man who then escorted us thought the square and medina to our Riad. I would recommend you carry a
Some loose change as the boy had asked us for a tip but we didn't have any Dirhams on us which was embarrassing and felt very sorry for him as he left without anything.
We were greeted by Kertin-Riad supervisor and welcomed with delicious mint tea. Our bag were taken up stairs and Kerstin then gave us information about the area and gave us a map highlighting key areas to visit, which was very helpful. As we had gone during the Ramadan period we decided to to have a meal at the Riad as restaurants tended to open at 8.30/9pm a d we didn't want to have to look around and then end up eating very late as I am 27 weeks pregnant!.
Oh and I am vegetarian and I had no problem with food-everywhere we visited had a few veg options.

The RIad is beautiful and really tastefully decorated. Our room was lovely with a great big bed and bathroom but unformately our AC didn't work and were provided with another room to sleep. Kerstin tried to get the AC fixed during our stay but unfortunately it wasn't so we just used the 2 rooms-1 to sleep and 1 to get ready but this wasn't a big problem at all-just felt like we had 2 rooms and was actually quiet nice as we were the only guests at the Raid for the first 2 days so fe like it was our own little Raid.

The staff at the Raid are lovely and are happy to help.

We oud definately go back to the Riad and think it'd be amazing to book the whole Raid with friends and family.

The location of the Riad is amazing and literally 5/10 min walk from the square. I am 6 months pregnant and found it no problem.

Recommend places to go/see:
1) Jenaa El Fna Square- go during the day and night
2) Souks- we didn't spend too much time here are we didn't want to really buy stuff but was great to look around and see
3) Nikki beach- we loved it here and would def recommend it to young groups/couples who like dance music. It is expensive but totally worth it.
4) Salamas restaurant/bar-right near the square-it doesn't look much from outside but really nice inside with beautiful decor and atmosphere
5) Bo & Zin: amazing! Really tasty food and cocktails/mocktails and great music
6) Tanija Restaurant-really gorgeous and romantic-lush!
7) Kosy bar-literally right next to Tanija-we went here for a drink before dinner at Tanija-really nice

Oh and during Ramadan the time is moved back but the airline and many clocks in the city have not changed and our phones stayed the same so we didn't realise the time had changed until we arrived for dinner an hour early. We were pretty confused about the time durning our stay as it doesn't seem to change everywhere and the rest of the world are not made aware of the change as we checked on world clock and Internet-lol

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just back from a lovely 3 nights stay at the Dar Fakir. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and was made to feel very welcome. Kerstin was a great help and with our welcome meeting we felt very confident that we would have a great stay. The Riad is very calm and peaceful even though you are only minutes away from the square. The location is perfect and when you are walking down the streets you can never imagine that such a beautiful place exists. The staff are very helpful and alway at hand so I would deffinatly recommend Dar Fakir if anybody wants the Moroccan experience! Once again thanks Kerstin! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What can I say, if you want Moroccan charm mixed with European service then Dar Fakir is your place.

From the style to the staff, our experience was excellent. We had a number of good tips of where to visit and probably ate our best meal on the first evening. The staff looked after our group and the building was like a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the crazy Medina streets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spend some 30-40 Dirhams for a guide from Dschemma al Fna place to the riad - without you wouldn't find it the first time. A warm hospitality in a familiar atmosphere and very oriental rooms made our stay of 4 nights a really good event. We felt very well an d will go back there, sure!

Room Tip: Though the smaller rooms are very pretty - allow yourself (and after all your wife) one of the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. This is a beautiful Riad with a very accommodating Manager/Owner always on hand to help or advise.
This is a very open traditional style riad with rooms that all open out on to a lovely courtyard balcony, its very much a home away from home. Not forgetting the amazing roof terrace of course. Also lovely shampoos and shower gel miniatures.
However if you are looking for a very private room, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;