We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 40th Birthday Weekend at Dar Fakir!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Save Saved
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing 40th Birthday Weekend at Dar Fakir!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I have to apologise to Dar Fakir for posting this review so late. My husband and I organised a private house party at Dar Fakir for my 40th birthday celebrations in Jan this year. I searched thoroughly for the right place, as we wanted a luxurious but intimate feel for our guests. Dar Fakir, encapsulates everything you want in an exotic Marrakech experience, firstly it is beautifully tucked away down an old cobbled street that can only be accessed by foot, 5 mins from the square. This added an immediate adventure for our guests arriving at the decorative lantern lit wooden door. The interior is so chic and tastefully decorated in neutral palettes... Divine! It really comes alive at night when the lanterns are lit and the moroccan music is playing in the background. I appreciated the added touch of large vases of fresh roses placed around the Riad and in the rooms. Each room is individually decorated with stunning oversized ceiling lanterns that light up the cream walls with drama at night. We arranged a lunch on the sunlit terrace for our guests on arrival, we asked for a light moroccan lunch of salads and barbecued meats... It was a delicious feast(not so light)! That evening, Kerstin the manager arranged for the Riad to be lavishly decorated with lanterns and flower petals, so when our guests came out of their rooms for dinner they were instantly transported into a moroccan delight that set the mood for the evening. Kerstin arranged for pre dinner cocktails to be made and served on the terrace and then we went downstairs to enjoy our banquet meal of huge tagines and cous cous. It was some of the best food we ate during our stay and I would highly recommend going there just for dinner. The setting was everything I had hoped for ... We sat on a long low table with cushions and candlelight. It was the perfect first night for our guests, we finished the evening with drinks by the fire in one of their cozy open corner nooks. On my 40th, Kerstin recommended we go to their sister restaurant for dinner which is conveniently situated only 3 mins walk away, Le Salama. We arranged a huge banquet, including the highlight of slow roasted moroccan lamb, among many other delights. It was delicious, the perfect place to celebrate (we loved the music and belly dancing). Friends enjoyed the nearby spa the following day after a late night. We finished our long weekend with dinner in the desert by sunset in luxury bed win tents. The whole weekend ran smoothly with the help of Kerstin the hotel manager, she went out of her way to ensure all our needs were met. She was also very patient on the run up to the weekend, with my numerous emails and questions... Thank you to all the staff at Dar Fakir for the most wonderful 40th birthday weekend that I will never forget nor will my friends and family that loved every minute of their luxury moroccan adventure...... Karen and Mark

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was my second stay at the riad. I came here to Marrakech with family and we were staying at another riad but had too leave immediately. Luckily I had stayed here a few months back and had Kirsten details so we checked in the second day of our holiday. This place is amazing and absolutely value for money. Your only minutes away from the hustle and bustle. The workers are all helpful especially Aziza and Hannah who is fluent in English. I will be coming back and certainly staying here. Everyone at Dar Fakir thank you for a wonderful stay and your warm hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning in their own way. Very clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This riad is perfect!
I booked dar fakir exclusively for 14 of us to celebrate my 30th birthday and explore a new places and the building and it's staff helped with our whole experience, I'd love to return one day....... with some HP sauce and cheese for Kirsten the very helpful (and patient) manager!
Pictures don't do this riad justice, its so much more than I expected and I've been looking at the website for a year! Even the smell as you enter is inviting.
We were met by Kirsten who told us about the local area over a glass of mint tea and was so welcoming we got a bit comfortable and nearly cleaned her out if beers!
The staff, especially Hannah were amazing and produced anything food and drink related we asked for with a smile.
We had dinner in the riad on our first night and it was lovely, no one left a thing!
All our trips out and about were sorted by Kirsten almost without us doing anything and we enjoyed all we did.... including our shopping and bartaring which we had advise for too!
Thank you all for making the start of my old age fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Wonderful, I will never say no to a guests coming with HP sauce ;) The sooner the better! On a more serious note, we really enjoyed seeing how much fun you were having and are very happy to hear that the whole group enjoyed their stay. I know that even my staff will remember your group for quite some time. It was great how much you took advantage of having exclusive rental and actually enjoyed spending the time in the riad. Our beer stock is ready for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my second trip to Marrakech and my second experience of a riad. The location of the Dar Fakir is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the main square, but beware the menace of 40 mile per hour scooters through very narrow bustling streets and alleyways! There was no welcome when we arrived, and the non English speaking kitchen staff took some time to answer the door. They provided us with mint tea while we waited and eventually took us to our room. About an hour later Kerstin arrived to greet us. She was extremely welcoming and helpful, providing us with a map and suggested activites and restaurants and was available in the riad at some point every day. We stayed in the Zouhoure 'suite' which I would not stay in again. The door between the bedroom and bathroom was a bizarre saloon style half swinging door, affording no privacy whatsoever. There was no storage space for suitcases and the lighting was totally inadequate. I reported the main light and one lamp not working (no bulb!) but no action was taken so eventually I had to take a bulb from a lamp in another room myself! The bed, however, was huge and extremely comfortable and we both slept soundly every night. The room also had great air conditioning, a blessing after the unseasonal 41 degree heat outside. Our room seemed to be mid range in the riad, with some being much smaller, especially the bathrooms, and a couple being very large and spacious. We had dinner on our first night which was of very poor quality and most definitely not worth 30 euros each. Breakfast, however, was lovely and served beautifully on the terrace by the night duty staff. Airport transfers also went smoothly. All in all, I would stay at Dar Fakir again, but would definitely choose a larger room and decline dinner!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the larger suites and only in the Zouhoure room if you are with a very good friend, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First the Very Good: this is my third trip to Marrakech and Dar Fakir is a true oasis from the sensory overload of the main square and the souks.

The Iswane Suite was spacious with a sofa so there was somewhere other than on the bed to sit. The bed was enormous with room to get in and out on both sides, which is not always the case in some raids. The mattress gets top marks for comfort. The bath room was the largest in the riad. The toilet got temperamental while we were there, but this has been reported so I would hope the issue is resolved quickly. The room was also air conditioned, which given the unseasonably high temperature (102 degrees!), made the difference between comfortable and meltdown. However, the volume did run a range from reasonably quiet to small airplane taking off, a situation that was reported to the Director so hopefully rectified, but I would check or be sure to take ear plugs.

Some of the smaller rooms that we were able to view did have very small bathrooms and were dimly lit, but that is reflected in the price.

The staff are lovely and made huge efforts to meet every need. Until 2 pm, when Hannah arrives ( whose English is a bit better), there are no English speaking staff on site. We got by with games of international charades and "pictionary" ( try drawing the transfer request for the baggage handler and taxi to the airport). Good fun, but not sure it would be quite so much fun if there was any real problem that a guest needed to have addressed or resolved. They are able to contact the Director, so I assume that would be the fall back position.

We ate dinner at the Riad on our second night. It was £30 per person and we both felt it was well worth the price. The beef and chicken tagines were perfectly cooked and beautifully aromatic. After two days of the full on frenzy, heat and sensory overload that is Marrakech, we found the peace and quiet of dinner in just the restful and relaxing break we needed.

So why not an Excellent rating? We were met at the airport as arranged, but had to wait at the Riad for over an hours and a half for the Director to arrive. Having been up since 0400, we were tired and just wanted to get settled. I do understand that the driver failed to contact her that we were on our way, but I feel she could equally have checked with him or used the Internet to see that our plane had landed. Alternatively, a procedure established at the Riad to contact her when guests arrive might be a good idea.

More importantly, the Riad is supposed to have a member of staff on site during the night, but on our last night, two young women returned at 0020 to find themselves locked out. Luckily, I heard their frantic knocking and was able to let them in. When I reported this to the Director, she stated that the night duty member of staff had been called to an emergency just over the road and had only been absent for a very brief time. Unfortunately, too long a time for me or the young women who were locked out! I suggested that in the future she should have an emergency plan that does not leave guests locked out in the street. If I was going to be out late, I would definitely want to be issued with a key. Needless to say, I didn't have the best nights sleep.

Given, the toilets, noisy air conditioner and the night access issues are resolved, I can highly recommend Dar Fakir and would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend the Iswane Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I spent three nights with my girlfriend, it was on February for a long week-end. I picked the place randomly but I was nicely surprised.

I would recommend to whoever is seeking something very romantic yet not extremely pretentious.

BW

Marco

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose to spend my birthday in Marrakesh, which turned out to be one of the best holidays of my life so far. which is quite a statement as i have traveled extensive. I strongly feel this is owed to the experience we had at Dar fakir. The surroundings are simply beautiful - a luxury oasis in the heart of the Medina. Sumptuous furnishings, lush greenery and attention to detail all added to a real 5 star experience, which let me say is at a very reasonable price compared to other establishments of equal measure. Breakfast is not to be missed, (although this would be hard as they accommodate you any time!) I have never had such a feast, with local dishes which makes it really special. We had dinner on our first night there at the Riad too and it was delicious - highly recommended! For us though the service was simply the best i have ever experienced. Upon arrival Kristen and Kate greeted us with mint tea and an abundance of local knowledge which led to feeling like we had a secret map of the city, with the best restaurants, bars and sights all laid out for us. This made our trip what it was, amazing, and its this insider knowledge that is truly unbeatable! The whole staff were happy and helpful, but we would like to give a special mention to Kate who was on hand to help us with everything we could possibly need and her service and warmth made us feel so at home. We will be coming back next year and im bringing the whole family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#148 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.