We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little bit disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Save Saved
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Dalry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just a little bit disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my second trip to Marrakech and my second experience of a riad. The location of the Dar Fakir is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the main square, but beware the menace of 40 mile per hour scooters through very narrow bustling streets and alleyways! There was no welcome when we arrived, and the non English speaking kitchen staff took some time to answer the door. They provided us with mint tea while we waited and eventually took us to our room. About an hour later Kerstin arrived to greet us. She was extremely welcoming and helpful, providing us with a map and suggested activites and restaurants and was available in the riad at some point every day. We stayed in the Zouhoure 'suite' which I would not stay in again. The door between the bedroom and bathroom was a bizarre saloon style half swinging door, affording no privacy whatsoever. There was no storage space for suitcases and the lighting was totally inadequate. I reported the main light and one lamp not working (no bulb!) but no action was taken so eventually I had to take a bulb from a lamp in another room myself! The bed, however, was huge and extremely comfortable and we both slept soundly every night. The room also had great air conditioning, a blessing after the unseasonal 41 degree heat outside. Our room seemed to be mid range in the riad, with some being much smaller, especially the bathrooms, and a couple being very large and spacious. We had dinner on our first night which was of very poor quality and most definitely not worth 30 euros each. Breakfast, however, was lovely and served beautifully on the terrace by the night duty staff. Airport transfers also went smoothly. All in all, I would stay at Dar Fakir again, but would definitely choose a larger room and decline dinner!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the larger suites and only in the Zouhoure room if you are with a very good friend, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    26
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First the Very Good: this is my third trip to Marrakech and Dar Fakir is a true oasis from the sensory overload of the main square and the souks.

The Iswane Suite was spacious with a sofa so there was somewhere other than on the bed to sit. The bed was enormous with room to get in and out on both sides, which is not always the case in some raids. The mattress gets top marks for comfort. The bath room was the largest in the riad. The toilet got temperamental while we were there, but this has been reported so I would hope the issue is resolved quickly. The room was also air conditioned, which given the unseasonably high temperature (102 degrees!), made the difference between comfortable and meltdown. However, the volume did run a range from reasonably quiet to small airplane taking off, a situation that was reported to the Director so hopefully rectified, but I would check or be sure to take ear plugs.

Some of the smaller rooms that we were able to view did have very small bathrooms and were dimly lit, but that is reflected in the price.

The staff are lovely and made huge efforts to meet every need. Until 2 pm, when Hannah arrives ( whose English is a bit better), there are no English speaking staff on site. We got by with games of international charades and "pictionary" ( try drawing the transfer request for the baggage handler and taxi to the airport). Good fun, but not sure it would be quite so much fun if there was any real problem that a guest needed to have addressed or resolved. They are able to contact the Director, so I assume that would be the fall back position.

We ate dinner at the Riad on our second night. It was £30 per person and we both felt it was well worth the price. The beef and chicken tagines were perfectly cooked and beautifully aromatic. After two days of the full on frenzy, heat and sensory overload that is Marrakech, we found the peace and quiet of dinner in just the restful and relaxing break we needed.

So why not an Excellent rating? We were met at the airport as arranged, but had to wait at the Riad for over an hours and a half for the Director to arrive. Having been up since 0400, we were tired and just wanted to get settled. I do understand that the driver failed to contact her that we were on our way, but I feel she could equally have checked with him or used the Internet to see that our plane had landed. Alternatively, a procedure established at the Riad to contact her when guests arrive might be a good idea.

More importantly, the Riad is supposed to have a member of staff on site during the night, but on our last night, two young women returned at 0020 to find themselves locked out. Luckily, I heard their frantic knocking and was able to let them in. When I reported this to the Director, she stated that the night duty member of staff had been called to an emergency just over the road and had only been absent for a very brief time. Unfortunately, too long a time for me or the young women who were locked out! I suggested that in the future she should have an emergency plan that does not leave guests locked out in the street. If I was going to be out late, I would definitely want to be issued with a key. Needless to say, I didn't have the best nights sleep.

Given, the toilets, noisy air conditioner and the night access issues are resolved, I can highly recommend Dar Fakir and would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend the Iswane Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I spent three nights with my girlfriend, it was on February for a long week-end. I picked the place randomly but I was nicely surprised.

I would recommend to whoever is seeking something very romantic yet not extremely pretentious.

BW

Marco

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose to spend my birthday in Marrakesh, which turned out to be one of the best holidays of my life so far. which is quite a statement as i have traveled extensive. I strongly feel this is owed to the experience we had at Dar fakir. The surroundings are simply beautiful - a luxury oasis in the heart of the Medina. Sumptuous furnishings, lush greenery and attention to detail all added to a real 5 star experience, which let me say is at a very reasonable price compared to other establishments of equal measure. Breakfast is not to be missed, (although this would be hard as they accommodate you any time!) I have never had such a feast, with local dishes which makes it really special. We had dinner on our first night there at the Riad too and it was delicious - highly recommended! For us though the service was simply the best i have ever experienced. Upon arrival Kristen and Kate greeted us with mint tea and an abundance of local knowledge which led to feeling like we had a secret map of the city, with the best restaurants, bars and sights all laid out for us. This made our trip what it was, amazing, and its this insider knowledge that is truly unbeatable! The whole staff were happy and helpful, but we would like to give a special mention to Kate who was on hand to help us with everything we could possibly need and her service and warmth made us feel so at home. We will be coming back next year and im bringing the whole family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 with my husband and our two friends. The Riad is beautiful and the staff very courteous and helpful. Oliver made us laugh and was always there if we needed him. We stayed in the Ghalia room which is small but adequate although the shower room is tiny and the shower sprayed everywhere (only the suites have a bath). There is a large window into the Riad, above the door, which let in a lot of light early in the morning. The lighting is very dim in the rooms and no good to read by or if you want to use the mirror. There is no plunge pool. It is more like a large decorative pool. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and available till 12 noon. Location is brilliant being easy to find and only 5 minutes from the main square (Jemaa-el-Fna) There is no bar as such but drinks are available on request. The A/C in the room cannot be controlled within the room. For dinner, go to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, then try the cocktails on the top floor or for lunch, go to Kosybar just off Jemaa-el-Fna square.

Room Tip: If you need a large wash room, it is worth paying more for a suite. The shower in Ghalia room sprays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were guests at a house party in January and thought the Riad a tranquil oasis ideally located for the medina. Kirsten the manageress was polite and helpful but you didn't get a sense of warmth or any real desire to make the stay a treasure. She was late twice, incl. check-out which caused some consternation given the complexity of a group payment. The house was booked exclusively and as such we were very casual about room security only one night we saw a few people going into our room, we complained at once to be told that it was a mistake but this made us nervous. The food served in the Riad was good and the service attentive but a little slow, but maybe that's the Moroccan way.

Room Tip: Go for a big suite as you'll need the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and apologies if you felt that there wasn't the desire to make you feel comfortable. Actually it is the contrary but sometimes it is hard to spend equally much time with every guest that arrives as part of a larger group. It only goes to show how different people's feelings and opinions within one and the same group can be having received this email from another guest within the same group:

"I am writing to send our sincere gratitude for your wonderful hospitality at Dar Fakir. Not only is the Riad simply gorgeous and everything we had hoped for, but the staff were friendly and so eager to please.

I had a 40th to remember and everyone in our group went away loving their weekend and are still raving about it now.

I have to thank you for your patience in allowing me to indulge in many email communications with you over a length of time! You always came back to me in a speedy manner with answers to my questions and I appreciate that. It made the weekend go much smoother with you at the helm !

Thank-you for arranging all the special touches, the Riad looked absolutely stunning on the night we had cocktails and dinner. It was exactly how I would of wanted it to be, so thank you :)"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Conviently located 5 minutes walk from the main square, this Riad boasts very nice and clean rooms with good amenities and a very friendly, polite and knowledgable staff. Kirsten the manager was very helpful and had good local knowledge. I was surprised to read negative reviews as none of them rang true, until I realized this was under the previous management.

Our room was very atmospheric and spacious, and overall had good facilities. The food was very tasty and the service very friendly.

If you're looking for an hotel, a Riad may not be for you as there's a 'guest house' feel to them but if you're looking for the personal touch and a 'home away from home' feel then this Riad is the one for you.

Overall very pleased with our few days here, and would reccomend to anyone looking for the authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. It's always nice to see when guests are enjoying their time in Marrakech and Morocco as you and your partner were doing. The internet has in the meantime been fixed and the builders down the road will hopefully not be so quick to cut through a telecom cable by mistake in the future. Prior to noticing where the error came from it was definitely a first for us to have a guest with IT skills offering to solve our problem. Thank you for trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.