We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful from service to style.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Save Saved
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #167 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful from service to style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose to spend my birthday in Marrakesh, which turned out to be one of the best holidays of my life so far. which is quite a statement as i have traveled extensive. I strongly feel this is owed to the experience we had at Dar fakir. The surroundings are simply beautiful - a luxury oasis in the heart of the Medina. Sumptuous furnishings, lush greenery and attention to detail all added to a real 5 star experience, which let me say is at a very reasonable price compared to other establishments of equal measure. Breakfast is not to be missed, (although this would be hard as they accommodate you any time!) I have never had such a feast, with local dishes which makes it really special. We had dinner on our first night there at the Riad too and it was delicious - highly recommended! For us though the service was simply the best i have ever experienced. Upon arrival Kristen and Kate greeted us with mint tea and an abundance of local knowledge which led to feeling like we had a secret map of the city, with the best restaurants, bars and sights all laid out for us. This made our trip what it was, amazing, and its this insider knowledge that is truly unbeatable! The whole staff were happy and helpful, but we would like to give a special mention to Kate who was on hand to help us with everything we could possibly need and her service and warmth made us feel so at home. We will be coming back next year and im bringing the whole family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    23
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
53
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 with my husband and our two friends. The Riad is beautiful and the staff very courteous and helpful. Oliver made us laugh and was always there if we needed him. We stayed in the Ghalia room which is small but adequate although the shower room is tiny and the shower sprayed everywhere (only the suites have a bath). There is a large window into the Riad, above the door, which let in a lot of light early in the morning. The lighting is very dim in the rooms and no good to read by or if you want to use the mirror. There is no plunge pool. It is more like a large decorative pool. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and available till 12 noon. Location is brilliant being easy to find and only 5 minutes from the main square (Jemaa-el-Fna) There is no bar as such but drinks are available on request. The A/C in the room cannot be controlled within the room. For dinner, go to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, then try the cocktails on the top floor or for lunch, go to Kosybar just off Jemaa-el-Fna square.

Room Tip: If you need a large wash room, it is worth paying more for a suite. The shower in Ghalia room sprays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were guests at a house party in January and thought the Riad a tranquil oasis ideally located for the medina. Kirsten the manageress was polite and helpful but you didn't get a sense of warmth or any real desire to make the stay a treasure. She was late twice, incl. check-out which caused some consternation given the complexity of a group payment. The house was booked exclusively and as such we were very casual about room security only one night we saw a few people going into our room, we complained at once to be told that it was a mistake but this made us nervous. The food served in the Riad was good and the service attentive but a little slow, but maybe that's the Moroccan way.

Room Tip: Go for a big suite as you'll need the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and apologies if you felt that there wasn't the desire to make you feel comfortable. Actually it is the contrary but sometimes it is hard to spend equally much time with every guest that arrives as part of a larger group. It only goes to show how different people's feelings and opinions within one and the same group can be having received this email from another guest within the same group:

"I am writing to send our sincere gratitude for your wonderful hospitality at Dar Fakir. Not only is the Riad simply gorgeous and everything we had hoped for, but the staff were friendly and so eager to please.

I had a 40th to remember and everyone in our group went away loving their weekend and are still raving about it now.

I have to thank you for your patience in allowing me to indulge in many email communications with you over a length of time! You always came back to me in a speedy manner with answers to my questions and I appreciate that. It made the weekend go much smoother with you at the helm !

Thank-you for arranging all the special touches, the Riad looked absolutely stunning on the night we had cocktails and dinner. It was exactly how I would of wanted it to be, so thank you :)"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Conviently located 5 minutes walk from the main square, this Riad boasts very nice and clean rooms with good amenities and a very friendly, polite and knowledgable staff. Kirsten the manager was very helpful and had good local knowledge. I was surprised to read negative reviews as none of them rang true, until I realized this was under the previous management.

Our room was very atmospheric and spacious, and overall had good facilities. The food was very tasty and the service very friendly.

If you're looking for an hotel, a Riad may not be for you as there's a 'guest house' feel to them but if you're looking for the personal touch and a 'home away from home' feel then this Riad is the one for you.

Overall very pleased with our few days here, and would reccomend to anyone looking for the authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. It's always nice to see when guests are enjoying their time in Marrakech and Morocco as you and your partner were doing. The internet has in the meantime been fixed and the builders down the road will hopefully not be so quick to cut through a telecom cable by mistake in the future. Prior to noticing where the error came from it was definitely a first for us to have a guest with IT skills offering to solve our problem. Thank you for trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My mother and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Dar Fakir. So close to the main square and the souks, yet quiet and inviting. The fire and candlelight that greeted us as we arrived created a lovely atmosphere and was perfect for a glass of wine and relaxation after a busy day of sight seeing etc. The beds were very comfortable and the shower excellent. Thank you to Kerstin and everyone at Dar Fakir for a fabulous and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We will certainly remember you as our guests. It was a real pleasure to have you and your mother stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous short holiday - only a few days, but Dar Fakir was perfect. The location was excellent - a very short hop from the souks and the main square, perfectly safe to walk even at night and remarkably quiet and tranquil. Upon our arrival, we were immediately 'upgraded' to a larger room (what a welcome!) and had the Dar to ourselves most of the time. Breakfasts on the terrace are spectacular, and every single member of the staff are very welcoming, friendly, accommodating and helpful at all times. Kerstin runs the Dar very efficiently and thanks to her directions and insider-knowledge of the medina, we didn't get lost once (and thats quite an achievement!) All in all, it was a great place to be - tranquil, relaxing, calm and beautiful. We'll visit again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Where to begin... A truly amazing place. Dar Fakir was fantastic. Hidden away nicely from the hustle of the Medina but close enough to be able to enjoy a walk to the Souks or a terrace bar for a drink and an afternoon of people watching.

We stayed at Dar Fakir for four nights mid November and it was perfect.

We choose to stay in Suite Iswane and it was everything i hoped it would be. It romantic, classy and very refined.

The Riad is maintained to the highest standard, the decor is amazing and the staff are helpful, attentive and most importantly very friendly. The director Kerstin is brilliant, her knowledge of the area, restaurants and pretty much anything we wanted to know helped to make us feel very at home and relaxed and created a real lasting impression. She offered us a number of high class services ranging from drivers to and from destinations, night porter services to walk us back from nights out as well as an excellent suggestion of restaurants and bars to try out, all of which were brilliant. Great food and fantastic atmosphere in each of them. (La Salama, Tanjia and L'Avenue were our choices and I would thoroughly recommend them all)

A personal highlight for me was the amazing meal we had cooked for us in the Riad itself. Situated in the room with open fire it made for the most prefect way to spend a night after a day out and about. It was quiet, relaxing and with the fire burning in the background very atmospheric.

As I said before, a truly amazing place and one I would definitely recommend.

Thank you to Kerstin and everyone at Dar Fakir for making Marrakech a very special holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Hotel
Dar Fakir Marrakech
Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#167 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, HotelsClick and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.