We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again, friendly, clean and good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would stay here again, friendly, clean and good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Conviently located 5 minutes walk from the main square, this Riad boasts very nice and clean rooms with good amenities and a very friendly, polite and knowledgable staff. Kirsten the manager was very helpful and had good local knowledge. I was surprised to read negative reviews as none of them rang true, until I realized this was under the previous management.

Our room was very atmospheric and spacious, and overall had good facilities. The food was very tasty and the service very friendly.

If you're looking for an hotel, a Riad may not be for you as there's a 'guest house' feel to them but if you're looking for the personal touch and a 'home away from home' feel then this Riad is the one for you.

Overall very pleased with our few days here, and would reccomend to anyone looking for the authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. It's always nice to see when guests are enjoying their time in Marrakech and Morocco as you and your partner were doing. The internet has in the meantime been fixed and the builders down the road will hopefully not be so quick to cut through a telecom cable by mistake in the future. Prior to noticing where the error came from it was definitely a first for us to have a guest with IT skills offering to solve our problem. Thank you for trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
60
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My mother and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Dar Fakir. So close to the main square and the souks, yet quiet and inviting. The fire and candlelight that greeted us as we arrived created a lovely atmosphere and was perfect for a glass of wine and relaxation after a busy day of sight seeing etc. The beds were very comfortable and the shower excellent. Thank you to Kerstin and everyone at Dar Fakir for a fabulous and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We will certainly remember you as our guests. It was a real pleasure to have you and your mother stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous short holiday - only a few days, but Dar Fakir was perfect. The location was excellent - a very short hop from the souks and the main square, perfectly safe to walk even at night and remarkably quiet and tranquil. Upon our arrival, we were immediately 'upgraded' to a larger room (what a welcome!) and had the Dar to ourselves most of the time. Breakfasts on the terrace are spectacular, and every single member of the staff are very welcoming, friendly, accommodating and helpful at all times. Kerstin runs the Dar very efficiently and thanks to her directions and insider-knowledge of the medina, we didn't get lost once (and thats quite an achievement!) All in all, it was a great place to be - tranquil, relaxing, calm and beautiful. We'll visit again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Where to begin... A truly amazing place. Dar Fakir was fantastic. Hidden away nicely from the hustle of the Medina but close enough to be able to enjoy a walk to the Souks or a terrace bar for a drink and an afternoon of people watching.

We stayed at Dar Fakir for four nights mid November and it was perfect.

We choose to stay in Suite Iswane and it was everything i hoped it would be. It romantic, classy and very refined.

The Riad is maintained to the highest standard, the decor is amazing and the staff are helpful, attentive and most importantly very friendly. The director Kerstin is brilliant, her knowledge of the area, restaurants and pretty much anything we wanted to know helped to make us feel very at home and relaxed and created a real lasting impression. She offered us a number of high class services ranging from drivers to and from destinations, night porter services to walk us back from nights out as well as an excellent suggestion of restaurants and bars to try out, all of which were brilliant. Great food and fantastic atmosphere in each of them. (La Salama, Tanjia and L'Avenue were our choices and I would thoroughly recommend them all)

A personal highlight for me was the amazing meal we had cooked for us in the Riad itself. Situated in the room with open fire it made for the most prefect way to spend a night after a day out and about. It was quiet, relaxing and with the fire burning in the background very atmospheric.

As I said before, a truly amazing place and one I would definitely recommend.

Thank you to Kerstin and everyone at Dar Fakir for making Marrakech a very special holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived early evening for a 4 night stay and we felt as if we were stepping into an oasis of calm. It was peaceful, absolutely beautiful; we don’t think we could have picked a better location or place to stay. Dar Fakir is run by Kirstin who runs it very efficiently and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Included was breakfast which was always plentiful and delicious. Our room was beautiful as were the others which we sneaked a look at. Also included was our first evening meal served to us on the roof terrace and this was fantastic - one of our better meals during our stay. The location is perfect set behind the main square but once you enter Dar Fakir it is almost silent – a fantastic escape from the hustle and bustle outside. Whilst there we did a cooking morning at Maison MK which was fabulous but as a place to stay it was far too modern for us and prefer the more traditional style of Dar Fakir. I would highly recommend the cooking morning. All in all a great stay and already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Kerstin and her fabulous team at Da Fakir. We had a superb time and would truly recommend it to anyone.

Kerstin is a wealth of knowledge and organised a wonderful day trip to the high Atlas, an awesome hammam and some top tips for finding our way around the medina. The service was attentive, the surroundings induced relaxation, the room was spacious and comfortable. The roof terrace was a wonderful space too and made the riad a welcoming place to return to after a hectic day in the medina and surrounds.

Da Fakirs location has to be one of the best in Marrakech and the airport transfer service was slick and professional.

Thanks Kerstin for making our trip the best it could have been and thanks again to your wonderful staff.

Robin & Michaela

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we arrived in the square and was met by a man with his trolley to transport our luggage down the hideaway alleys. When the door was opened to us it was like another world inside, it was warm cosy and inviting, decorated in a very morrocan style. However it was shabby chic, but a little more shabby than chic, but very clean, nice crisp fresh linen and soft fluffy towels. My one complaint was the lighting, theres ambient and there is cant see much at all so dont bank on reading in your room at bedtime!!! However we couldnt fault Kirstin the manageress/ director, she had so much info to tell you, ie where to visit and see, where is good to eat and drink how and what to tip etc.........she was great, so thank you kirstin. Dar Fakir is worth a visit and the other staff are wondrful working extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble for them, so take a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#158 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.