We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloriously relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Fakir

Save Saved
You added Dar Fakir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Fakir
16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gloriously relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Kerstin and her fabulous team at Da Fakir. We had a superb time and would truly recommend it to anyone.

Kerstin is a wealth of knowledge and organised a wonderful day trip to the high Atlas, an awesome hammam and some top tips for finding our way around the medina. The service was attentive, the surroundings induced relaxation, the room was spacious and comfortable. The roof terrace was a wonderful space too and made the riad a welcoming place to return to after a hectic day in the medina and surrounds.

Da Fakirs location has to be one of the best in Marrakech and the airport transfer service was slick and professional.

Thanks Kerstin for making our trip the best it could have been and thanks again to your wonderful staff.

Robin & Michaela

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we arrived in the square and was met by a man with his trolley to transport our luggage down the hideaway alleys. When the door was opened to us it was like another world inside, it was warm cosy and inviting, decorated in a very morrocan style. However it was shabby chic, but a little more shabby than chic, but very clean, nice crisp fresh linen and soft fluffy towels. My one complaint was the lighting, theres ambient and there is cant see much at all so dont bank on reading in your room at bedtime!!! However we couldnt fault Kirstin the manageress/ director, she had so much info to tell you, ie where to visit and see, where is good to eat and drink how and what to tip etc.........she was great, so thank you kirstin. Dar Fakir is worth a visit and the other staff are wondrful working extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble for them, so take a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Collected at the airport by a friendly driver, guided through the souks by a helpful young chaperon, welcomed by the Moroccan family living opposite, greeted warmly by the French speaking night guards. Our arrival in Marrakech could not have been smoother - all thanks to Dar Fakir.

The first thing that hit me about Dar Fakir, besides the impeccable range of services they were able to pull together and it's location close to La Place, was the sweet smell of the incense, followed by the friendly nature of all the people who greeted us. We were told to abandon our cases, and invited to sit in the lounge and sip the most delicious drink (which I now know to be sweet mint tea) to relax before being shown to our room.

The decor of Dar Fakir is so up my street - whitewashed luxury. Words cannot do the beauty of the place justice. It is exactly as it appears on the website - maybe a bit better in the flesh!

We instantly fell in love with our room and knew that it would be heart break when it came to leaving in a few nights time. The property has a chic but peaceful feel about it and to be honest we couldn't resist jumping into our robes and hitting the sheets so we would be fresh in the morning.

I woke up confused as to where I was - I haven't slept so deeply for a long time! The glimmer of sunshine through the bottom of the door was the first thing I saw. We were served a beautiful selection of Moroccan breads and cakes for breakfast - lots of sugar so we had energy for the day ahead. The female night guard ( I feel terrible I've forgotten her name) was interested in our plans for the day and kindly booked us into Nikki Beach for mid-day.

Not before we had checked out the views of the Medina from the roof terrace (which are breathtaking) did we venture out into the souks for some morning shopping. We were escorted to the square to our driver and were greeted at the doors of Nikki Beach - here followed 4 hours of pure relaxation, which included the owner of Dar Fakir introducing himself and recommending restaurants for our dinner plans.

On returning to Dar Fakir we were greeted by Kerstin, who I cannot praise highly enough. Kerstin knew who we were, when we had arrived and apologised that she hadn't been there as it had been very late at night. She wanted to help us make the most of our time in Marrakech and so arranged to see us later to go through things. Kerstin made reservations for dinner a cookery class and a hammam, on top of recommending places for lunch and routes to take through the Medina. Additionally, Kerstin made us feel so welcome just by chatting with us about her own experiences of Marrakech - she has so much time for her guests!

I hope I've covered everything I've enjoyed about this lovely riad. I whole-heatedly recommend it and cannot wait to return.

A special mention to the lovely Fatna who taught us how to make gorgeous lemon chicken tagine on my birthday. Shukran!

Room Tip: They're all beautiful, but there's quite a size difference between the rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed with my wife at the dar fakir of October 2012. What makes this riad stand out is the authentic Moroccan decor.The restaurant is fantastic
Waking up in the morning from the birds melody.But the main qualifications of this riad is the Director, Kerstin which is always next to each visitor ready to satisfy any requirement of.
Thank you Kerstin
Thank you dar fakir

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our recent stay at Dar Fakir made our Marrakech trip especially memorable. This quiet, peaceful Riad is the perfect tonic after a long day of exploring the Medina. It’s unpretentious and comfy - yet very refined. You can tell that much care was taken in designing the décor – which is such a big part of the any traveler’s experience. Kerstin was amazing! She was very helpful and gave you her personal insight to navigating the medina. Dar Fakir was the perfect choice. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I love to stay in Marrakech’s best Riads for a few days. That enables us to truly disconnect with our stressful jobs. This is what you should be looking for when choosing Dar Fakir. It is a very peaceful place, splendidly decorated, comfy and unique. It is like being in a cocoon while only a few meters away from place Jemaa El Fna and the best spots in the city. A unique experience, highly recommended!

Room Tip: the higher the better ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Fakir in September 2012 in the junior sutie for 4 nights for a city break. The location of the riad is PERFECT for getting to all the medina sights, and surprisingly, due to it's central location is not noisy at all! From the pictures we saw we knew it was going to be something special but it surpassed out expectations - the decor is beautiful and classy. The 3 course set meal was sublime and the staff, especially Kirsten and Hassan were all attentive and very helpful! I would have no hesitation to recommend this Riad to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. You already let us know during your stay how much you enjoyed it but we appreciate that you have taken the time to share the experience and your opinion with other Tripadvisor readers too. You truly settled into Marrakchi life and made the most of your time here. Congratualations again on the good batering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#149 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Fakir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.