We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary amongst the madness of Marrakech (enjoyable madness)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Mages

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Trois Mages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Mages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sanctuary amongst the madness of Marrakech (enjoyable madness)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Where Marrakech was an assault on your senses and wore the traveller down Les Trois Mages was the most comfortable and peaceful retreat you could ever find. Brilliantly and comfortably decorated, impeccably clean and expertly ran by Aziz and all the other Moroccan staff.

We loved this place so much we returned at the end of our Moroccan adventure. The food was amazing (thank you Saida) and Aziz could not be helpful enough. Anyone looking for the perfect map of Marrakech go see Aziz; very helpful. Day or night, Les Trois Mages had an amazing ambience and the rooftop pool was a brilliant touch after a trip to the souks or Djemaa el-Fna. Much needed.

I have already recommended a stay at Les Trois Mages to some friends who are already planning a trip to Morocco and would highly recommend it to any body else considering Marrakech.

While you are there go to Le Jardin for a meal or cold drink too. :-)

Thank you Aziz and all at Les Trois Mages for making our stay so enjoyable.

Jay, Bron & Portia (the 2 Kiwis!)

Room Tip: All rooms are cool, quiet and very clean. 1st floor rooms may afford you a little more privacy. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    31
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
158
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed in Les Trois Mages for three nights. What a fantastic place - lovely rooms, great rooftop pool and terrace and such friendly staff. Aziz the manager was really helpful in terms of surviving our first trip to Marrakech souks and markets and generally helping us find our way around. All the staff were really friendly and we felt very well looked after. We would both highly recommend this Riad in terms of the place, the staff and the location if you are considering a trip to Marrakech. If I ever visit Marrakech again, I will definitely stay at Riad Les Trois Mages.

Room Tip: As the Riad is in the Medina you may hear the call to prayer and the birds are very chirpy first thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Les trois Mages for one night only, with 3 friends. We were really pleased with it: great location, beautiful place with a roof top swimming pool and, last but not least, amazing staff. Everyone was so kind and welcoming, in a true Moroccan style. Aziz is a great host and not only he came to pick us up when we first arrived on La place Jemma el Fna, he also offered us to check out late and use the pool and shower again on our last day whilst we were supposed to check out at noon...what a star (when it's 40 ° outside, that's great..)
Thank you so much Aziz for having us, we all want to come back soon!

Room Tip: any room would be a good one, really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

First trip to Marrakech for our family of four. Aziz and his team offer outstanding hospitality and I feel the trip would undoubtedly have been much less enjoyable without this Riad to retreat to each day. We would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I organised a hen do of 14 to stay at Riad Les Trois Majes, and we were all absolutely blown away by our experience there. Aziz and his team made us all feel absolutely at home, and organised every element of our trip for us so that we could completely relax and focus on having fun. We had a wonderful, wonderful meal, prepared by the lovely Saida, in the courtyard of the riad, and Aziz arranged for Moroccan dancers to come, which was fantastic fun.

The rooftop pool was also an absolute winner, and rare to find in Marrakech.

I really couldn't recommend Riad Les Trois Majes more highly, and think it particularly good to hire privately for group holidays. THANK YOU for helping me organise an incredible hen party!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amslon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

English owned and a Eng MNGR until next week a then Aziz (a lovely guy takes over). ABS Gent and credit to Riad. We were warmly greeted by Aidan and Staff. Given the lowdown and Map. Very helpful. Room Jade, was OK, colourful and nice shower area. AC worked but needs 20mins to get going, WIFI worked in your room.

Usual lock and bolt story which is noisey and we are all around the courtyard which at breakfast time is annoying as laughing, loud guests will wake you up.
Location very poor and again issues with your personal security. Be aware.

Staff are superb, we met the owners, lovely chaps & very good pianist and breakfast was the usual unimaginative Maroc breakfast.

all in all a mix bag but if you rented this place as a group, (which you can) I reckon you will be very pleased and quite happy with your decision.

PS Hassan the fixed rate Taxi driver for this Riad, please do not use him, he is RIP off Merchant and very cheeky chap. He Tooks us for 200DH on a 100DH fare. IF he is ripping us off then I assure you AZIZ he ripping off all your guests. GET a new Driver is my advice and he owes us 100DH.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroismages, Owner at Riad Les Trois Mages, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Outside101

Thank you for your lovely review, which despite the 3 star rating was actually very positive about the riad. Although you stayed less than 24 hrs in Les Trois Mages it is gratifying to receive such encouraging feedback on the welcome and level of service you experienced within the riad. Tony particularly enjoyed your comment on his piano playing!

We were sorry to hear that you felt the riad was noisy. Breakfast is served in the central courtyard from 8.30am-11.00am and if guests are particularly loud, the noise does travel due to the structural design of all riads. Fortunately most guests are aware of this and in general it is not usually an issue. Your comment on personal safety surprised us as we are not aware of any issues with personal safety of any of our guests. Our area of the medina is particularly well lit and extremely safe. We do warn guests to keep an eye on personal possessions while out and about as there is a danger of pickpockets, but no more so than in any other major city. We have safes in all the bedrooms so valuable items can be safely deposited in your room if guests have any concerns.

Regarding your experience with Hassan the taxi driver, we would just like to clarify that Hassan is an independent driver, and is not employed by Les Trois Mages. We use him and 4 other drivers for airport transfers as all of them speak English and we have negotiated a fair transfer charge which guests are informed of in advance of booking transfers. We did not arrange airport collection for you as you were already in Morocco (which probably explains the comment on Maroc breakfasts!!)
We can only assume you used Hassan to collect you on leaving the riad. It is always advisable to agree on a fare for any taxi journey in advance. Guests are under no obligation to use a particular taxi driver at Les Trois Mages, and we are fortunate to be located just off Rue El Gza, one of the main arteries through the medina, so taxi’s can be easily hailed within a few hundred meters of the front door and prices negotiated before boarding the taxi. It would be useful if you could contact us directly on lestroismages@gmail.com to clarify where the journey was to. We can then raise the matter directly with Hassan.

Best wishes

Tony & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech was undoubtedly made by a stay at Riad Les Trois Mages, a true oasis of peace and tranquility amidst the madness that is Marrakech. spotlessly
clean and sumptuously decorated with a stunning cool roof terrace with splash pool. Take meals in your room, on the terrace or in any one of the intimate corners of this beautiful house with great food and fabulous host management From Aziz and wonderful staff. Superb!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Les Trois Mages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Mages

Address: 11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Trois Mages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Moroccan Riad has a large terrace with a heated pool next to a beautiful shaded tent. There are five en suite air conditioned bedrooms and one stunning suite with its sunken Moroccan bed. Downstairs we have a grand piano in the music room, a sunlit bache and a spacious cloistered sitting room dominated by a large open fireplace. Beautiful Moroccan drapes and furnishings complete the understated elegance of this tranquil haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Trois Mages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Mages Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Trois Mages Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Mages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.