We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & Noisey but cosy & endearing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Mages

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Trois Mages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Mages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Amslon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small & Noisey but cosy & endearing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

English owned and a Eng MNGR until next week a then Aziz (a lovely guy takes over). ABS Gent and credit to Riad. We were warmly greeted by Aidan and Staff. Given the lowdown and Map. Very helpful. Room Jade, was OK, colourful and nice shower area. AC worked but needs 20mins to get going, WIFI worked in your room.

Usual lock and bolt story which is noisey and we are all around the courtyard which at breakfast time is annoying as laughing, loud guests will wake you up.
Location very poor and again issues with your personal security. Be aware.

Staff are superb, we met the owners, lovely chaps & very good pianist and breakfast was the usual unimaginative Maroc breakfast.

all in all a mix bag but if you rented this place as a group, (which you can) I reckon you will be very pleased and quite happy with your decision.

PS Hassan the fixed rate Taxi driver for this Riad, please do not use him, he is RIP off Merchant and very cheeky chap. He Tooks us for 200DH on a 100DH fare. IF he is ripping us off then I assure you AZIZ he ripping off all your guests. GET a new Driver is my advice and he owes us 100DH.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroismages, Owner at Riad Les Trois Mages, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Outside101

Thank you for your lovely review, which despite the 3 star rating was actually very positive about the riad. Although you stayed less than 24 hrs in Les Trois Mages it is gratifying to receive such encouraging feedback on the welcome and level of service you experienced within the riad. Tony particularly enjoyed your comment on his piano playing!

We were sorry to hear that you felt the riad was noisy. Breakfast is served in the central courtyard from 8.30am-11.00am and if guests are particularly loud, the noise does travel due to the structural design of all riads. Fortunately most guests are aware of this and in general it is not usually an issue. Your comment on personal safety surprised us as we are not aware of any issues with personal safety of any of our guests. Our area of the medina is particularly well lit and extremely safe. We do warn guests to keep an eye on personal possessions while out and about as there is a danger of pickpockets, but no more so than in any other major city. We have safes in all the bedrooms so valuable items can be safely deposited in your room if guests have any concerns.

Regarding your experience with Hassan the taxi driver, we would just like to clarify that Hassan is an independent driver, and is not employed by Les Trois Mages. We use him and 4 other drivers for airport transfers as all of them speak English and we have negotiated a fair transfer charge which guests are informed of in advance of booking transfers. We did not arrange airport collection for you as you were already in Morocco (which probably explains the comment on Maroc breakfasts!!)
We can only assume you used Hassan to collect you on leaving the riad. It is always advisable to agree on a fare for any taxi journey in advance. Guests are under no obligation to use a particular taxi driver at Les Trois Mages, and we are fortunate to be located just off Rue El Gza, one of the main arteries through the medina, so taxi’s can be easily hailed within a few hundred meters of the front door and prices negotiated before boarding the taxi. It would be useful if you could contact us directly on lestroismages@gmail.com to clarify where the journey was to. We can then raise the matter directly with Hassan.

Best wishes

Tony & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    31
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
156
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech was undoubtedly made by a stay at Riad Les Trois Mages, a true oasis of peace and tranquility amidst the madness that is Marrakech. spotlessly
clean and sumptuously decorated with a stunning cool roof terrace with splash pool. Take meals in your room, on the terrace or in any one of the intimate corners of this beautiful house with great food and fabulous host management From Aziz and wonderful staff. Superb!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we were 5 girlfriends travelling for a svchool reunion Enjoyed our stay thooughl. the riad is stunning and we had the best time. the hospitality is the best i have ever seen and the service was always with a smile and we were not exactly the easiest guests. thanks for a lovely stay. just 1 change i would recommend is that the loghting in the bathroom 9we stayed in gaspard) was relly very very dim and difficult for women to get dressed and do make up. rest was perfect.
purnima and friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroismages, Owner at Riad Les Trois Mages, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Your comments really made us smile. Interestingly we are shutting the hotel for renovation next week just for one week in order to upgrade all the lights. There will be sidelights and spots in addition to our lanterns and the existing lights. Will post some pictures on Tripadvisor in the next couple of weeks to show the results. Hopefully you can return to see for yourselves. Really glad that you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were made to feel most welcome the moment we were picked up from the airport.
It is a beautiful riad that is an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Aziz and Aiden were most helpful and Saida is an amazing cook........I am craving her cooking since returning!
The roof top pool and terrace is perfect after a morning of bartering in the souks.
Would recommend this riad without hesitation.......hopefully one day we will return!
Thank you Aiden and your team, we had a fabulous stay x x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Riad is fantastic and all the staff even better - the food was great and they couldn't be more helpful in organising tours for us. The rooftop plunge pool is great for lounging around in the afternoons after a morning in the Souks. Aidan was great from start to finish. It was clean and the rooms were beautiful. Not a bad word to say, would definitely recommend! thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

From the moment I booked Raid Les Mages Aidan the hotel manager took us under his wing . Organising a transfer from the airport ,a cooking class and a special dinner ,nothing was a problem . The Raid was small making it an intimate stay getting to know the other guests .It was clean ,calm and had air conditioned rooms which made it pleasant to come back to after the bustle of Marrakech. We were treated regularly to mint tea and home made biscuits while relaxing on the roof top pool,an added bonus to swim and relax by the pool in the sun .The breakfast was included and had a slight variety each morning so we never got board . A short walk into the main square made this a convenient location . I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this great riad, including our arrival night. The airport transfer, arranged by the riad, was seamless. We stayed in the Melchior room which has very beautiful decor and is comfortable and a good size. Only minor downside is that it adjoins the courtyard where people dine and was therefore not as private as we may have wished. The location is ideal - right in the centre of the Medina allowing you to walk everywhere and the riad staff were fantastic in providing directions and recommendations. We ate dinner on our arrival night and it was a great introduction to Morocco with a fanstastic tagine and good wine. Overall, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms up the stairs may allow for more allow for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Les Trois Mages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Mages

Address: 11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Trois Mages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Moroccan Riad has a large terrace with a heated pool next to a beautiful shaded tent. There are five en suite air conditioned bedrooms and one stunning suite with its sunken Moroccan bed. Downstairs we have a grand piano in the music room, a sunlit bache and a spacious cloistered sitting room dominated by a large open fireplace. Beautiful Moroccan drapes and furnishings complete the understated elegance of this tranquil haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Trois Mages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Mages Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Trois Mages Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Mages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.