We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Mages

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Trois Mages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Mages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% discount extended.
Ranked #18 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Istanbul
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were hoping for a unique, local experience which was certainly the case at Riad Les Trois Mages. Rooms were beautiful and clean; breakfast included every morning; and knowledgeable helpful staff who were willing to arrange taxis; give recommendations and overall welcomed us always with a smile. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    31
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
159
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, Surrey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is now my 4th attempt at writing this review. I just keep on getting distracted. But if there was ever an establishment that deserved a solid write up - it would be Riad Trois Les Mages so I will try again.

We visited in August 2012. We had been staying at a villa in Le Palmeraie - just outside the medina walls. It was peaceful and quiet and oh so very hot! We arrived in the centre of Marrakesh and it was still oh so very hot - but that is where the similarities ended. Gone was the twittering of the Chaffinches and the gentle hiss of the sprinklers - instead a barrage of noise - mopeds revving, locals shouting, horns tooting, prayers blaring.. total chaos. As exciting at it was, I was already started to wonder if we could really handle this for 4 days whole days.

Our taxi driver (Hussain I believe?) had been sent by Riad Trois Les Mages to collect us. We were very wary of riding with him at first. His unairconditioned, beaten up (and dirty), 1980s hatchback was not all too reassuring. However, he turned out to be a delightful character - insightful, helpful and very amusing. Thank goodness he knew Riad Trois Les Mages well because we would not have found it without him. Away from the dust and the barrage of noise, we arrived at the door of Riad Trois Les Mages - and stepped into our little piece of paradise.

Mouhsin was there to greet us. Mouhsin is possibly the sweetest man I have ever met. With a broad and welcoming grin, he bowed his head to us and gestured towards the open air courtyard. It was cool, it was calm and it was silent - bliss. Mouhsin walked us around the beautiful property, from the music lounge to the reading room, the terrace to the kitchen. He pointed out that we free to use absolutely anything on show including books, instruments and even the fridge. I would describe the décor of this property as sumptuous elegance. The finishing touches are rich, luxurious and bright while the overall feel remains light and spacious. The pool on the terrace is something quite hard to find in a Riad but it is an extra worth having at that time of year.

After our tour we were sat down to enjoy mint tea and a selection of Moroccan sweets. Mouhsin gave us a tourist map and carefully talked us through every item of interest on there, marking out the best route to take. He kindly reminded us that he would take us anywhere that we weren't sure of or would organise transport if he couldn't. We were told time and time again that this was our home for the next 4 days and that we should treat it as such. Despite being incredibly attentive, Mouhsin absolutely understood how to be on hand without being under our feet. He stuck that balance perfectly.

The food we had at Riad Trois Les Mages was some of the best we'd had anywhere in Morocco. Good honest home cooking from the lovely ladies in the kitchen who always had a warm smile for us. The dinner that we had there on the 2nd night was the most romantic that we'd ever had. Mouhsin dressed the table beautifully with a crushed red satin table cloth and candle sticks. I watched him while he worked and the attention to detail that he was putting in was incredible. We could tell how much he wanted it to be just perfect for us. As we sat down to eat, Mouhsin and the cooks left us to eat alone. The only company we had was a little Chaffinch who sang his song as he flew from hanging lantern to hanging lantern. I've never experience a better setting for dinner in my life.

If one thing is for sure - we will be back again and again and again. We hope to bring friends and family with us next time as it would just be the perfect hang out spot for us all to enjoy together. My advice to you is to go and experience this magical little Riad for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I had a 2 nights stay at this Riad after returning from Sahara Desert. I have to say we enjoyed our stay here very much and would definitely recommend to those who are planning to visit Marrakech. The raid is located on a very quiet street approx. 15 min walk from the main square. At first we thought the location was a bit sketchy but after awhile we realize almost all riads in Marrakech are located in these side streets which give a sense of quietness from the chaotic main streets. It is also located very close to a main parking lot, so if you ever get lost in Marrakech, you can easily tell a cab driver to drive you back to this parking lot then there will be no issue finding your way back to this raid.

Another amazing experience in this raid is mainly from the manager - Aidan. He is the most sweetest hotel manager I have ever seen! He made us feel like home all the time and very accommodating. For our second night, we had to catch a flight in the early morning so had to leave the riad at 1:30am, and Aidan stayed up for us and helped us take the luggage to our driver who sent us to the airport. He was also so smily and helpful to all of our requests. I think he really made a huge difference to our experience.

Overall, a great and memorable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This Riad was great in all respects! We stayed for three nights, including Christmas. We were 5 people and stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which were great. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here several times and the food was SO AMAZING. They made us this soup called harira - if you go you must get this! We took a cooking lesson one day with the Riad's chef which was so fun. Every staff member was beyond friendly and helpful. I actually got deathly ill one day (think it was something I ate at a restaurant - should have just stuck with Trois Mages!) and one of the staff went with my boyfriend to the pharmacy to help him communicate and got me anti-nausea meds. We also wanted to go out one night and they were happy to arrange for a car to pick us up/drop us off at our destination. On Christmas they served us champagne and treats which was really nice of them. Will definitely go back if I ever make it to Marrakech again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here with some girlfriends and we would definitely recommend it if you want an authentic riad experience with exceptional service. There are 5 rooms i think, decorated quite traditionally. The rooftop sun terrace and pool is a massive bonus and we spent a few hours catching rays even in December! They provide towels and there are a few sun hats up there.

The riad is about a 15 minute walk from the square - once you find the quickest route. And it really is a calm respite from the craziness. The staff are all very helpful! Great suggestions for trips. And the breakfasts are delicious! Oh and they serve beer and wine at the riad! Overall fantastic experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We came to stay at Les Trois Mage as a thank you present from my daughter and her husband. We enjoyed the stay immensely and felt very spoilt by the staff, who were most attentive..nothing was too much trouble for them. In fact we almost felt like we had a personal butler in Aidan the manager who came and spent time with us each morning helping us decide what to do during the day and booking us trips, drivers, guides, meals out etc...talking of the food, it was of a very high standard the chicken tagine was gorgeous...and the chocolate mouse divine!! ( we had this 3 times!!) The atmosphere and ambiance in the Riad was magical! There are number of very comfortable and extremely tastefully decorated communal sitting rooms...sumptuous is the word! We benefitted from the roaring log fire, as the evenings in November were a little chilly. During the day we benefitted from the lovely plunge pool and 'Arabian Nights' style tented area on the roof where we lounged and drank the fantastic mint tea on offer! We had a real treat at one of the Riad recommended and 2 minute walk away Spa's ..well worth the money fabulous massage and Hamam! The rooms ..well they were FABULOUS! We had the suite and felt like royalty with a sitting room as well as a sunken bed!! It was quite frankly like being on a television set for Aladdin!
WHilst we were there we sadly had bad news which cut short the holiday for my daughter and husband. The night porter was so kind and went the extra mile to help organise emergency flights back home we can't praise the staff enough they were all so kind.
The location of the Riad is fantastic it takes about 10 minutes to walk into the main square. We would recommend a guide when going into the souk as it is a bit of a rabbit warren!! We had one and think that if hadn't we might still be there!! We had a very interesting and enjoyable trip to the Atlas mountains with a lovely guide who knew his stuff....Aidan recommended & booked this for us at a very reasonable price!
It is a real haven of peace when you walk through the doors of the Riad, you really wouldn't think you were in the bustling old part of the city...however take ear plugs because at 5.00am there is the call to prayer every day. It is no real problem and It didn't cause me any problems with the ear plugs...and my husband slept right through it!! HIghly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

12 frends and I stayed at Les Trois Mages for a long weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday.

We had the most fanastic time and would highly reccomend Les Trois Mages.

The Riad is magical, each room beautifully decorated and no attention to detail spared. We really enjoyed and made full use of the communal spaces, having a lovely breakfast served to us in the sunshine on the roof terrace each morning, playing games next to the open log fire on an evening and enjoying the array of instruments in the music room.

The staff were all wonderful, extremly warm, friendly and accomodating, helping us with anything we needed from preparing fresh teas and coffee all day and night, cooking, ordering taxis, and helping us make table reservations. We also organised our transfere to and from the airport though Aiden and this proved to be very convenient. Aiden and his staff have a wealth of local knowledge and simply couldnt do enough for us. It really made our stay enjoyable.

We enjoyed a lovely home cooked lunch when we arrived at the Riad, i would highly reccomend having at least one meal prepared by the staffat the Riad. Everything was very fresh and tasty and there was a good balence of meat and vegitarian dishes. We would have eaten more meals at the Riad if we were there for longer.

The riad always felt like a safe and tranquil haven to return back to after the hustle and bustle of daily life in the Madina. The only thing we would have changed is to have had longer to enjoy Les Tres Mages. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Les Trois Mages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Mages

Address: 11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Trois Mages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Moroccan Riad has a large terrace with a heated pool next to a beautiful shaded tent. There are five en suite air conditioned bedrooms and one stunning suite with its sunken Moroccan bed. Downstairs we have a grand piano in the music room, a sunlit bache and a spacious cloistered sitting room dominated by a large open fireplace. Beautiful Moroccan drapes and furnishings complete the understated elegance of this tranquil haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Trois Mages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Mages Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Trois Mages Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Mages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.