We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Mages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Les Trois Mages to your Saves list
Riad Les Trois Mages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We had the perfect stay in Marrakech thanks to all at Riad Les Trois Mages.

The riad itself was beautiful & authentic... From the bedrooms to the rooftop terrace! Even in the heart of the old town it was a really relaxing place to be.

We were welcomed by Moushine who kept us 2 girls very well looked after and safe even when venturing outside into the maze of the medina at night- we could have got very lost!
Aidan made sure we were able to get the best out of our trip helping us organise a tour of the souks & a day visit to the atlas mountains- both were very memorable highlights! We would definitely recommend a tour guide for a first trip to marrakesh... as well as sharing their knowledge & showing us places we would not know to go (or dare venture!) they also kept a watchful eye on us.
All the lovely ladies at the riad made delicious breakfasts each day & the chicken skewers & gratin for lunch was one of our favourite meals on this holiday. They also had us hooked on mint tea!

We would definitely return again & highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
177
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I had high hopes for this riad after reading so many great reviews but sadly didn't live up to my expectations!! First day of arrival our room never had any heating which wasn't great as we found the Riad rather cold so instead was given heaters which in the end was for the duration of our stay they tried to fix the day before we were leaving which makes no sense to me!!!

The house keeping wasn't up to my standards didn't seem to give us clean sheets once while their or clean towels didn't expect our sheets to be changed every day but every other day would of been nice along with the towels.

I found the Riad very noisy, I understand it sometimes can’t be help due to the echoes but I think they should try and be a bit quieter. Some works where going on outside the hotel so we had a lovely sound of drilling, also be warned you will hear prayers at 5am this sounds as though it was in surround sound very annoying!!


On a plus side the night guard was lovely made you feel so welcome and at home nothing was too much for him, he made our stay worth while. We were often in the Riad at night and he looked after us so much can’t thank him enough for his hospitality

As for the hussle and bussle found it a bit to much

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lestroismages, Owner at Riad Les Trois Mages, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
We are very disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay at Les Trois Mages. Unfortunately back in January there was a problem with the air con heating in The Jade Bedroom which necessitated the unit being replaced, and this did take a few days to resolve. We appreciate that this was inconvenient and can only apologise again.
Fortunately this is not a usual occurrence and we are sorry to only now hear that the measures we put in place to address the issue at the time were not to your satisfaction.

Marrakech can be cold in the evenings from Oct/Nov to Feb/March. All rooms have electric blankets in the colder months, and we light the open fire in the lounge area. All rooms have air conditioning and there are additional electric heaters and blankets always available on request.

With regard to the comments on housekeeping, we pride ourselves at Les Trois Mages on a very high standard of cleanliness, as many previous reviews attest to. All bed linen and towels are changed regularly. On receipt of this review we checked with the housekeeping staff and can confirm that during your 5 night stay your bedding and towels were changed twice. If guests want towels or sheets changed daily, they only need to ask and we will be happy to oblige.

With regard to the noise issues, the local council were carrying out routine maintenance to the services in the Riad Laarousse district during your stay which did generate some noise for a short period, but unfortunately we do not have any control over this, nor can we control the volume or timing of the call to prayer.

Les Trois Mages, unlike many riads is not particularly close to a mosque so the call to prayer whilst audible generally delights our guests. The vibrancy, chaos and authenticity of staying in a riad within the medina is not for everyone and the “hussle and bussle” which is usually one of the main attractions of being in the medina was clearly not enjoyable to you.

We are pleased to hear that our night guardian Mouhsine took care of you with the customary Les Trois Mages hospitality and will be sure to pass on your thanks.
Tony & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Marrakech and Les Trois, but this time, we brought our daughters who are 10 and 14. We stayed in the Gaspard and Melchoir rooms, which are next to each other on the ground floor.

As ever, Les Trois is the haven from the hustle and bustle of the city itself. It was cooler than our previous visit in March 2010, so we were pleased with the extra bedding and heaters provided in the rooms, plus the fire was lit in the lounge each evening for us. This is a small riad, well maintained, cosy and homely and run by staff who care about their guests without being intrusive. Aidan, the General Manager, really looks after you - and was kind enough to go to the trouble of buying some new, fuller pillows for me, as I found theirs to be a bit too hard for my neck. Thank you Aidan!

We had a couple of evening meals at the Riad and Saida, the cook, prepares delicious food. Our trip was slightly more low-key, as we did less city-seeing this time and more relaxing, so our daughters really enjoyed the sun-terrace and pool.

Everything is clean, tidy and organised but not clinical and too "boutique" - we chose Les Trois originally because we didn't want the overdone boutique experience, we wanted to stay in a traditional riad with friendly, local Morrocan charm and service. I'd recommend Les Trois to couples, families with children over 10 and single travellers, as they can cater for all. It's located well for all the sights of the city, and Aidan and his team help with excursions and advice on where to eat, what to avoid, etc.

Though breakfast was a bit disorganised on two mornings, it wasn't a big issue for us and wasn't typical - usually, tables are set early, coffee and tea appear quickly and the fresh rolls, croissants and jams plus scrambled or boiled eggs set you up for a day of sightseeing.

We love Les Trois Mages and have grown very fond of the staff - thank you Aidan, Saida, Mouissin and all the ladies. We had a great holiday again!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be made up into twins, so good value for single travellers wanting to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at this Riad for a long weekend at the tail end of last year.

The advantages of staying at this Riad are evident before you’ve even entered the building – our taxi from the airport was able to drop us off at the end of the alleyway in which the Riad was located, meaning we only had a short walk to the front door and the taxi driver walked us there. The access route via the alleyway isn’t the most impressive, however, once you’re through the outside door the Riad itself is a pleasant retreat.

The ground floor contains two separate bedrooms, a lounge area (with piano), a second lounge area (with soft sofas, music player, PC and log fire) and, in the courtyard space, several dining tables. On the first floor you’ll find another two bedrooms (including the Arabesque Room that we stayed in) and a small seating area in an alcove. Finally, on the roof there’s a small heated pool and a selection of seats / loungers including a shaded area. Our bedroom had a double bed, wardrobe, bedside tables and ensuite bathroom with plenty of space for two (although we had travelled with hand luggage only). Given the nature of the building, with all rooms surrounding an open central courtyard, noise could be a problem for some, so earplugs might be a good idea (we had slightly noisy neighbours for part of our stay), however, we suspect this would be the case in any traditional Riad.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, with any request being fulfilled with the minimum of fuss. For the night manager, Moushine, nothing was too much trouble. He kept the log fire in the lounge burning in the evening, offered and provided mint tea and always had a smile and time for a chat.

Breakfast was plentiful, enough to keep you going until a late lunch if need be.

We had arranged two excursions in advance via the Riad (a trip to Kasbah de Toubkal and a guided walk in the Souk) and both were provided exactly as expected. The walk through the Souk with Mohammed was a particular joy – he guides you to places of interest you’d never find on your own, providing the right amount of commentary to keep you interested without being overloaded.

As on any trip, there is always the possibility of a slight hiccup. Here, it was a misunderstanding over the timing of our pre-booked evening meal on the day we arrived. We headed downstairs at the appointed time to find no-one around. A quick phone call to Aidan, the Riad Manager, soon had things sorted. The way in which problems are handled is a good indicator of the quality of any establishment – in this case, the issue was resolved quickly and satisfactorily, so, no harm - no foul. In any case, the Tagine dinner itself was lovely, well worth any wait.

We’ll certainly return here if we go back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

A stunning little riad that lives totally up to expectations. Our suite was delightful if a little chilly once the sun went down. We love open fires but the one in our room didn;t throw out much heat when it was lit, so the electric blankets were appreciated, The Riads central courtyard is open to the air to cope with the heat - so in the cold times in Jan & Feb you will need to take warmish clothing at most times outside 11-3. It was too cold for us to use the splash pool or sun terrace.
We pre-booked supper on the Thursday we arrived but - the simple salad, meat taglia and tarts at 240Dh pp was disappointing - but I think it was the cooks night off! We ate in the square on all other nights.But every time we came back "home" the staff provided we had super coffee/English or Mint Tea with little sweetmeats or cakes.. All in all excellent, romantic, exciting and fun. A place we would visit again for a long weekend - and hopefully the super cooking we anticipated will appear.

Room Tip: Look at Flee Winters Website - they have great images of every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The team at Riad Les Trois Mages were fantastic and would go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The Melchoir room we stayed in was very comfortable, clean and the shower was better than our one at home! The added bonus of the small pool on the roof was great for relaxing and with plenty of sunbeds this sun trap was enjoyed. The trips and guides offered by the riad was brilliant especially the trip to the Atlas Mountains! We would stay here again if we returned to stay within the Medina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Wonderful stay in this charming riad. This was our first visit to Marrakech and we will definitely be returning. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, from collecting us at the airport to recommending restaurants and arranging our taxi transfer to Agadir.

Our pre-arranged dinner on arrival was delicious and the relaxing lounge areas were very comfortable.

We look forward to returning when the weather is a bit warmer and we can make use of the lovely roof terrace

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Trois Mages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Mages

Address: 11 Derb Ajamma | Rue El Gza, Riad Laarouss, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Trois Mages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Moroccan Riad has a large terrace with a heated pool next to a beautiful shaded tent. There are five en suite air conditioned bedrooms and one stunning suite with its sunken Moroccan bed. Downstairs we have a grand piano in the music room, a sunlit bache and a spacious cloistered sitting room dominated by a large open fireplace. Beautiful Moroccan drapes and furnishings complete the understated elegance of this tranquil haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riad Les Trois Mages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Mages Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Trois Mages Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Mages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.