We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight - classy and boutiquey, a gem in the centre of Marrakesh.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Flore

Villa Flore
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Flore
Save
You added Villa Flore to your Saves list
4 Derb Azzouz | Quartier Mouassine - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #609 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A delight - classy and boutiquey, a gem in the centre of Marrakesh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Me, my wife and our two teenage sons spent three days here and it was classy, stylish and immaculate. It's a gem, right in the centre of Marakesh, tucked well inside the ancient city walls and a perfect base from which to advance and withraw from adventures in the central square and the sea of markets. The French owners are delightful, he is the architect that built the hotel. The restaurant in the hotel is first class and we would have no hesitation in recommending both the food and the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My guide book recommended Villa Flore. It turned out to be only a few steps from my Riad in the Mouassine area of the Medina and it was the promise of bouilliabaisse from a reputable French restaurant that drew me in for a midweek lunch. However, I was somewhat disapponted. In these chic surroundings, I expected an elegant version of this classic Provencial fish stew rather than the rustic platter you'd get in the Coeur Salaya in Nice. What I got was a tapas-sized portion of white fish with julienne carrots and courgettes in a saffron sauce. It was delicious and there was clearly a lot of technical skill in the gloriously golden sauce - but it could hardly be described a bouilliabaisse. Where was the variety of fish? Where was the shellfish? At the very least, a few mussels could have transformed it from 'Fish in Saffron Sauce'. It came with a decent rouille, but only 2 slivers of crouton to spread it on. I can see the skill of the dish and the inspiration behind it, but to call it a bouilliabaisse is a gross exaggeration. No doubt other reviewers will have a more positive experience, but don't go there expecting authentic French food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

For some reason Villa Flore is not listed on Tripadvisor under restaurants (hopefully this can be corrected??). We were in Marrakech for 4 nights, but due to volcanic ash had 3 extra - Villa Flore was top of our list for another visit. It was just as good second time round. Lovely central courtyard, and elegant surrounding rooms - with 2 visits we had an opportunity to try a good selection off the menu and nothing dissappointed - Lamb main course was a highlight. Prices were very good, compared to some more expensive. We have a little domestic dispute in comparing Villa Flore to Riad Kniza (where we went the following night). We both agree that both are wonderful, but my wife preferred Villa Flore, even though it is almost half the price. In my view, Riad Kniza just won on quality of food and ambience, but it is more expensive. I suggest you try them both.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I discovered Villa Flore on my last day in Marrakech and most certainly will stay there next time! Can't wait to go back! Three days in Marrakech isn't enough!
Tripadvisor is my best source for travel but in this case I selected an okay Riad near the top of the list/ but not as terrific as Villa Flore which was 125 on the list. Many Riads with the center courtyard have dark rooms with minimal reading lights.I asked to see a room at Villa Flore which was lovely, complete with a comfortable large bed, fantastic bathroom, and quiet location away from the main walkway. We had dinner at this beautiful small hotel with a bright center courtyard. The ambiance and quality of food was as good as it gets. The staff served the most delicious dinner and the the chocolate mousse was the best I've ever tasted in 63 years! The cost to stay is almost the same as the popular Riad nearby but the room and food were far superior at Villa Flore. Location is EASY to find...no dark alleyways to navigate! We will be thrilled to return and take advantage of the half board deal because the food is real quality without the risk of the Jemaa El Fna night market food stalls. Marrakech was worth the trip; the trains are a great way to see the landscape and meet interesting people.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We had dinner at Villa Flore (entree, main course and dessert). The food was very very good, sophisticated and well balanced. The duck and the chocolate mousse were amazing. We also had a bottle of good Moroccan red wine (160 Dirham). The service was excellent. The atmosphere was quite elegant, nice jazz music and the fireplace was working. We paid about 800 Dirham for a 3 courses dinner for 2 people. Definitely a must visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Read about this restaurant in Lonely Planet, found it was only a couple of steps away from our Riad. From the booking, through to the pleasure of eating, everything was great - -What a brilliant building, setting and fabulous food.

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — Could not eat here every night!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

With its great location, style and exceeding hospitality, this is my pick of Marrakech s Riads.
Even though it s situated in the crowdy, old town of Medina, it does provide you with peace and quiet.
We stayed in the Tangerine room, a very tastefully decorated room with a spacious interior for a surprisingly inexpensive price!
The owner doesnt just run a businness. She really loves what she s doing. Its obvious that all the furniture and fillings(of both room and restaurant) have been selected with loving care. And its true that the guests receive the same conscientious attention.
What can I say, we felt like home!

Almost every evening we had dinner at the Riad s restaurant in a pampering and romantic ambience. The food was excellent (and reasonably priced).An eclectic menu, of french and moroccan cuisine to die for!

So i would strongly recommend this magnificent Riad and I hope to stay there next time I visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Flore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flore

Address: 4 Derb Azzouz | Quartier Mouassine - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Flore is a charming boutique hotel, with a very good restaurant. We have five rooms with marble bathroom, flat screen TV, DVD player and wifi. Three of them have got a private terrace. Each room and each lounge are a showcase for antiques from all the corner of the world. Villa Flore is very closed the place Jemaa el Fena in the district of Mouassine. Very quiet place in the heart of the souks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Flore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.