We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful riad with perfect service and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful riad with perfect service and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Riad Alma is absolutely beautiful: it has been decorated with amazing attention to detail and all of the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend this riad and would love to return there some time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed with some friends at the beginning. Riad Alma was slightly away from the Medina (About 20 minutes walk away) in a much quieter area of the Kashba which suited us fine. It was in an area in the heart of Moroccan daily life
We couldn't fault the Riad at all. Very charming. Excellent service and nothing was too much trouble for Pierre and his staff. Mourad was absolutely great. We had a meal cooked for us personally on the second night and that was good.
We would definitely recommend the Riad to anybody.
There was one slight negative however and that was that they charged us each 10 Dirhams EACH for what was a FREE map. It was a shame really that they persist in doing this. But this musn't put you off. Just refuse the map or ask that you don't want to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Can't speak highly enough of the riad or pierre and his staff. friendly and unobtrusive made us feel very welcome and our stay very comfortable. it was always re assuring to know that the oasis was waiting for us after the hurly burly of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We loved our stay at Riad Alma... our suite was beautiful, the staff were exceptionally attentive and breakfast, lunch and dinner were fabulous. The location - within the Medina and a short distance from the square - was perfect for our three day Marrakech break. I would recommend Riad Alma to anyone looking for a luxury and restful santuary.

The Riad is furnished with an array of beautiful objects and antiques from all over the world and has a really stylish and elegant feel. What a special and unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Hello Trip Advisor family.

After so much turmoil about choosing a place to stay we decided on Riad Alma.
I had found this Riad through hipmarrakesh.com and spoke to Amanda over the phone and she took my deposit over the phone. I had so much apprehension since so many reviews are biased or skewed or based on 1 contribution. Our flight was delyaed by 2 hours and I contacted Amanda at Hip Marrakesh and she contacted the Riad and let them know that we were arriving late.
We were picked up at the airport by a driver that works with the Riad. My boyfriend and I speak no French or Arabic and the driver spoke English.
To my very very surprise, this Riad was perfect. The pictures are just as the Riad is.
Pierre the owner was there and gave us so many great suggestions on where to eat dinner or lunch. The room was immaculate, the bathroom large. We had a terrace outside out room. We needed something ironed the staff did it, laundry needed? Not a problem.
Breakfast was superb, fresh squezzed orange juice, crepes, eggs, toast, whatever you wanted.
Dinner was also excellant at the Riad.
The free wifi was a plus!
Dinner on rose petals in the courtyard was a plus!

My suggestion..go ahead and book it, you will not be dissappointed.
Any questions? feel free to ask.
I LOVE MARRAKESH

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2010 and had a fabulous time. Pierre, the owner, and his staff, were great; they were very friendly and helpful, and they gave us loads of excellent advice. They also organize transportation to and from the airport, helping take the strain out of finding the Riad. Based in the Kasbah, the Riad is in an excellent location, very central but quiet, and within easy walking distance of the sights. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, with great rooms and plenty of outside areas where you can chill out. We also had dinner once in the Riad and it was one of the best Moroccan food we tasted on our trip. I can’t recommend it high enough in terms of location, value for money, atmosphere, service, setting, food, safety etc. Looking forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

As the Riad we normally stay in was full, we booked Riad Alma based on good reviews in Tripadvisor. Based in the Kasbah area, it is more of a walk to the Jemma al Fna and Souks than one might have hoped, but it was very elegant and quiet with lovely rooms. It should have been everything we wanted and in many ways, it was - a very beautiful place, a delicious pre-booked dinner on the first night and a good breakfast offered each day with pancakes and eggs cooked to order. It was only spoilt by the attitude of the owner, Micheline, who made us feel that everything was a little bit of an effort and that she was really having a troublesome time running a Riad. We were slightly late arriving from the airport due to slow immigration and when I asked if she would like us to dine straightaway she said yes, because the girl was waiting to go home - which made us feel rather uncomfortable and it was the same when we asked if we could have afternoon tea and a sandwich - the slight negative surprise although they do offer snacks etc in their hotel blurb. We had to wait at least half an hour to check out when we left, despite the fact that we had to get somewhere because she had gone out without preparing our bill and there was no-one who could cope with checkout. At the price they charge, it was surprising that there was not someone capable in charge all the time - although Mohad who served us at dinner and breakfast was very sweet and helpful. It was also surprising that we were actually charged for the usual free handout map of Marrakech - which given the fact that we had no hot water for the first night because of a breakdown and given everything above it made my usually very tolerant husband say he would not be back!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.