We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dorset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We visited here in January 2014 and found it to be a refreshing beautiful comfortable Riad in a maze of the back streets of Marrakech. We had arranged an airport transfer with the hotel which eventually arrived and took us as close as possible to the Riad and then guided us through the narrow streets to Riad Alma. It is a traditional Riad built around a lovely courtyard with water feature. There is a plunge pool and a large roof terrace where it's possible to find your own space on comfortable loungers to soak up the sun. The lounge had a large open log fire which was so welcome on the cool nights and the fresh flowers in the communal areas were amazing - we never did find out where the beautiful scented roses came from! There are only 7 rooms here and we stayed in a junior suite, which was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the house) and had a large bathroom upstairs. Lovely soft fluffy white towels were provided and quality toiletries. In the bedroom we had a window sofa and coffee table and chairs as well as 2 very comfortable beds which had good quality linen and feather duvets.
What made the stay here so relaxing was that breakfast could be taking at any time so there was no mad rush to get up in the morning. It was disappointing that there was not one piece of fresh fruit seen at the Riad which was strange in a city which has an abundant variety of fruit and a fruit seller on each street corner. It also would have been nice to know what we could expect for breakfast rather than be surprised each morning when it was served. Admittedly had one of us been able to speak French may have helped!
On arrival we were met and given a key to the front door of the Riad meaning we could come and go as we pleased.
We had a hamman and massage one evening in the Riad Alma which was a disappointment as the young girls seemed not to know what they were doing added to which the hot water ran out. They have two couches but only one is a proper massage couch with a cut out at the head end making it uncomfortable. Also the couches are very close together with little room to walk around each of them and to offer couples a massage together is not appropriate as there is not room for two 'masseurs'. I would not recommend having a massage here - there are so many other places to choose from in Marrakech.
Overall it was a beautiful relaxing weeks stay and an amazing find in the hustle and bustle of the magic of Marrakech, would love to return in the warmer months.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived in the evening with help with our cases from our taxis we walked along the dimly lit narrow streets to Riad Alma. We were greeted by Martine and staff to a warm fire and mint tea. We also accepted dinner that night of Morrocan salad, beef tejine and chocolate moose.
Martine and staff could not do enough for us. We stayed for 5 nights over New Year.
Breakfast was continental, yoghurt, cake/ pancakes with jam, you can order omelette as well. We would liked to have had some fruit each day although you do get freshly squeezed orange juice.
We were delighted to have stayed in a Riad rather than an all inclusive hotel. The Riad is located in the Kasbar area right in amongst real Marrakesh.
I had a Hannan at the Riad 400 Dds (Moroccan wash and massage) which was lovely.
Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had standard room which was comfortable. If you wanted a larger more superior room you pay extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just back in the UK and already missing Riad Alma, it was such a relaxing experience. It's a typical Riad, looks nothing from the outside but an oasis of calm on the inside. The hotel were great in organising airport transfers and were really welcoming. The meal we had at the hotel and breakfasts were great and the overall place was clean, friendly and spacious. It is set in a quiet area in the Kasbah but it is a 20-25 minute walk/gauntlet run to the Djemaa El Fna which is the only negative when you want to go back out in the evening after a hard days sightseeing. The area though is buzzing with locals and if you can cope with the fun of dodging scooters, bikes, cars and donkeys its fine!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Riad Alma is a 7 bedroom well run Riad in the Kasbah area in the south of the Medina with comfortable communal spaces and a lovely roof terrace. The house is like a tardis - seems small on the outside - inside it is large and spacious. Set in a quiet and peaceful pedestrian area where the locals live, a 20 minute stroll from the main square and the souks. This can be an advantage as going to and fro you get a good feeling for every day life in Marrakech without the hustle. It is also conveniently near to fascinating attractions like the Tombs and the Palaces. Micheline and Mourad are delightful hosts and will happily advise and arrange any restaurants or taxis that are required. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Like most houses in the Medina, Riad Alma is down a twisting sequence of narrow alley ways with no direct vehicle access - at first this might seem intimidating, but in fact after a few hours acclimatisation it is very easy to find your bearings in a safe and friendly environment. If you want more pzzazz and luxury book a hotel but for a comfortable, personal sample of what it is like to live in Marrakech a Riad is the way to go and Riad Alma is definitely a good and caring example of Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed four nights in the senior suite which was certainly worth the treat with lots of space, traditional furnishings, a private terrace and views down into the courtyard.

The Riad management organised our airport pick up which was jolly useful as you need a friendly taxi driver to walk you down the maze of alleyways to the front door. On arrival - well in advance of the official check in time our room was ready with twin beds as booked. Staff just couldn't be more helpful with advice on where to visit and were always on hand to supply a glass of wine or pot of green tea and nibbles as required. If you stay make time for an afternoon relaxing on the day bed and braving the plunge pool which makes a lovely contrast to the hustle and bustle outside of the Riad walls.

The Riad is a good stroll from the main square but the stroll via the Rue de Kasbah was always of interest, leads you close to a number of 'things to see' and culminates in the wonderful Kasbah Cafe which I would highly recommend for a rooftop lunch or dinner.

Many thanks to Mourad, Martine, Micheline and the catering and cleaning team for making our stay so special - excellent customer service delivered with warm smiles - lovely.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the treat of the Senior Suite you will not be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Alma with my wife for our 20th wedding aniversary and had a great stay. We were lucky enought to get an upgraded room and stayed on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The Alma was a lovely peaceful haven in the bussle and noise that is Marrakech. The staff were really friendly and helpful gave good adive about the best restaurantrs and how to get around. The room was cleaned daily and was spacious enough for two. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms do get the pleasure?? of birds walking each morning around 6:00 but by the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this place hoping to get a bit more of an 'authentic' Moroccan experience and overall it was very nice.
There are only 7 rooms but the property feels very spacious with lots of space to relax including a lovely little pool area.
We had a junior suite with the bathroom upstairs. The room was nicely decorated and furnished although somewhat lacking in mod cons: I didn't mind that there was no TV but i slightly did mind that there was no fridge. Not being able to have cold water in the room when it was 40 degrees outside wasn't really good enough especially @ €120 per night.
We had the set dinner the first night which was very good but a bit overpriced when compared to what was on offer outside.
The staff and management were very welcoming and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The location isn't bad (about a 15 minute walk to the main square) but the riad itself can not be accessed directly by car or taxi - the streets which immediately surround it are too narrow - to be honest, lone female travellers would probably not enjoy the walk along the quiet, dimly-lit streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.