We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay in Riad Alma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Save Saved
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay in Riad Alma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Alma with my wife for our 20th wedding aniversary and had a great stay. We were lucky enought to get an upgraded room and stayed on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The Alma was a lovely peaceful haven in the bussle and noise that is Marrakech. The staff were really friendly and helpful gave good adive about the best restaurantrs and how to get around. The room was cleaned daily and was spacious enough for two. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms do get the pleasure?? of birds walking each morning around 6:00 but by the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this place hoping to get a bit more of an 'authentic' Moroccan experience and overall it was very nice.
There are only 7 rooms but the property feels very spacious with lots of space to relax including a lovely little pool area.
We had a junior suite with the bathroom upstairs. The room was nicely decorated and furnished although somewhat lacking in mod cons: I didn't mind that there was no TV but i slightly did mind that there was no fridge. Not being able to have cold water in the room when it was 40 degrees outside wasn't really good enough especially @ €120 per night.
We had the set dinner the first night which was very good but a bit overpriced when compared to what was on offer outside.
The staff and management were very welcoming and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The location isn't bad (about a 15 minute walk to the main square) but the riad itself can not be accessed directly by car or taxi - the streets which immediately surround it are too narrow - to be honest, lone female travellers would probably not enjoy the walk along the quiet, dimly-lit streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 4 nights in Marrakech with my kids this past June, and am so happy we stayed at Riad Alma. Their hospitality is unmatched! They really made us feel at home, and what a beautiful home! We can't thank Mourad enough for all he did for us! Always met us with a big smile and willingness to help and show us around. Pierre also was always willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Their breakfast was wonderful, all homemade, including the crepes and jam. Try their dinner one night. The ladies cook it from scratch, and their brochettes and tagines are delicious. Very pretty and peaceful place! Loved staying there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad Alma is a great place to stay in the heart of old city of Marrakech. The biggest value of this place are people who are working there. Very friendly and helpful. They are going to help you to see what you want to see, to provide you a transportation to keep your luggage and provide you a shower once when you are checked out....
The hotel is located in the heart of the old city in very interesting area. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely furnished.
Highly recommended place for of you who wants to visit this very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Beautiful room, was upgraded without asking. Loved the roof terrace and plunge pool. Decor is gorgeous and staff could not be more friendly. Good position, near enough to the centre to walk, but far enough away for peace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my second trip to Riad Alma, travelled on the 9th April. Beautiful accommodation, fantastic hosts and great food. very tranquil and chilled Lunch at the Kasbah café is well worth a visit Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Riad Alma is a lovely home into which we were welcomed by owner Pierre. The Riad itself is beautiful, with a quiet roof terrace, and several courtyards for relaxing in the sun / shade, and lots of indoor lounge areas for chilling out in the evening with a glass of wine in the company of the other guests. Our room was small, but clean and functional, and decorated in a Moroccan style. The only negative was the location - a good 25 minute walk through dusty streets dodging cars and motorbikes to Jemaa el Fna (the main square). We were really pleased that we visited while Pierre was in town (he splits his time between Marrakech and France) as he was very friendly, ensured we had everything that we needed, and generally made us feel like old friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.