We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this place hoping to get a bit more of an 'authentic' Moroccan experience and overall it was very nice.
There are only 7 rooms but the property feels very spacious with lots of space to relax including a lovely little pool area.
We had a junior suite with the bathroom upstairs. The room was nicely decorated and furnished although somewhat lacking in mod cons: I didn't mind that there was no TV but i slightly did mind that there was no fridge. Not being able to have cold water in the room when it was 40 degrees outside wasn't really good enough especially @ €120 per night.
We had the set dinner the first night which was very good but a bit overpriced when compared to what was on offer outside.
The staff and management were very welcoming and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The location isn't bad (about a 15 minute walk to the main square) but the riad itself can not be accessed directly by car or taxi - the streets which immediately surround it are too narrow - to be honest, lone female travellers would probably not enjoy the walk along the quiet, dimly-lit streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    26
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in Marrakech with my kids this past June, and am so happy we stayed at Riad Alma. Their hospitality is unmatched! They really made us feel at home, and what a beautiful home! We can't thank Mourad enough for all he did for us! Always met us with a big smile and willingness to help and show us around. Pierre also was always willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Their breakfast was wonderful, all homemade, including the crepes and jam. Try their dinner one night. The ladies cook it from scratch, and their brochettes and tagines are delicious. Very pretty and peaceful place! Loved staying there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad Alma is a great place to stay in the heart of old city of Marrakech. The biggest value of this place are people who are working there. Very friendly and helpful. They are going to help you to see what you want to see, to provide you a transportation to keep your luggage and provide you a shower once when you are checked out....
The hotel is located in the heart of the old city in very interesting area. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely furnished.
Highly recommended place for of you who wants to visit this very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Beautiful room, was upgraded without asking. Loved the roof terrace and plunge pool. Decor is gorgeous and staff could not be more friendly. Good position, near enough to the centre to walk, but far enough away for peace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my second trip to Riad Alma, travelled on the 9th April. Beautiful accommodation, fantastic hosts and great food. very tranquil and chilled Lunch at the Kasbah café is well worth a visit Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Riad Alma is a lovely home into which we were welcomed by owner Pierre. The Riad itself is beautiful, with a quiet roof terrace, and several courtyards for relaxing in the sun / shade, and lots of indoor lounge areas for chilling out in the evening with a glass of wine in the company of the other guests. Our room was small, but clean and functional, and decorated in a Moroccan style. The only negative was the location - a good 25 minute walk through dusty streets dodging cars and motorbikes to Jemaa el Fna (the main square). We were really pleased that we visited while Pierre was in town (he splits his time between Marrakech and France) as he was very friendly, ensured we had everything that we needed, and generally made us feel like old friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at Riad Alma was perfect. The food was tremendous, everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Micheline made our stay so enjoyable I can't wait to return. Riad Alma was wonderfully comfortable and beautifully decorated, and the plunge pool was very welcomed after being out in the bustling streets of Marrakech. I cannot fault it at all, I would definitely recommend it 100%

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.