We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What an oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Save Saved
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow! What an oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 4 nights in Marrakech with my kids this past June, and am so happy we stayed at Riad Alma. Their hospitality is unmatched! They really made us feel at home, and what a beautiful home! We can't thank Mourad enough for all he did for us! Always met us with a big smile and willingness to help and show us around. Pierre also was always willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Their breakfast was wonderful, all homemade, including the crepes and jam. Try their dinner one night. The ladies cook it from scratch, and their brochettes and tagines are delicious. Very pretty and peaceful place! Loved staying there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad Alma is a great place to stay in the heart of old city of Marrakech. The biggest value of this place are people who are working there. Very friendly and helpful. They are going to help you to see what you want to see, to provide you a transportation to keep your luggage and provide you a shower once when you are checked out....
The hotel is located in the heart of the old city in very interesting area. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely furnished.
Highly recommended place for of you who wants to visit this very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Beautiful room, was upgraded without asking. Loved the roof terrace and plunge pool. Decor is gorgeous and staff could not be more friendly. Good position, near enough to the centre to walk, but far enough away for peace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my second trip to Riad Alma, travelled on the 9th April. Beautiful accommodation, fantastic hosts and great food. very tranquil and chilled Lunch at the Kasbah café is well worth a visit Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Riad Alma is a lovely home into which we were welcomed by owner Pierre. The Riad itself is beautiful, with a quiet roof terrace, and several courtyards for relaxing in the sun / shade, and lots of indoor lounge areas for chilling out in the evening with a glass of wine in the company of the other guests. Our room was small, but clean and functional, and decorated in a Moroccan style. The only negative was the location - a good 25 minute walk through dusty streets dodging cars and motorbikes to Jemaa el Fna (the main square). We were really pleased that we visited while Pierre was in town (he splits his time between Marrakech and France) as he was very friendly, ensured we had everything that we needed, and generally made us feel like old friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at Riad Alma was perfect. The food was tremendous, everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Micheline made our stay so enjoyable I can't wait to return. Riad Alma was wonderfully comfortable and beautifully decorated, and the plunge pool was very welcomed after being out in the bustling streets of Marrakech. I cannot fault it at all, I would definitely recommend it 100%

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Riad is clearly a labour of love for the management and their personalities shine in all of its detail, simplicity and elegance. Pierre is regal, witty, gentlemanly and fascinating and essential to my friend and I (two women travelling alone) acclimatising to the Marrakesh way of life. Why am I writing this email so long (6 months) after my stay? Because I want to go back, stay and languish there for weeks and dip in and out of life outside this beautiful fortress. I will read every book they own, dine on baked bread next to the pool and retire to the stillest space I have ever known. This is an adult choice for adult, responsible travellers who want to understand Marrakesh with just a little hand holding. And I am the better for having experienced it. Thank you Pierre, Mourad and I hope to see you again one day. It was really touching to meet you both.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.