We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #85 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were a group of five staying at the Riad Alma from 8th to 11th February 2013.Arrangements were made with the Riad for transfer from the airport to the Riad. This was very successful and we were met by Hicham with a modern people carrier which was comfortable. We were taken to a place close to the Riad where we were met by the Riad manager Mourad with a hand cart for the luggage. The approach to the Riad is a bit daunting but on entering the Riad it was clean, well furnished and very welcoming. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable but did not contain coffee or tea makings. There were plenty of electric points and a safe in each room, We were welcomed by Annette who was very helpful. Mourad took our party to the main Square that evening to give us an initial insight into life in the Medina returning by horse drawn carriageThe following day breakfast was continental and varied. Eggs are available. Fruit, yoghurt toast,pancakes,cake and preserves including honey was plentiful.Through the Riad we hired an accredited guide, Abdul, to escort us on a half day walking tour of the Medina which was excellent and gave us a basic knowledge of the area. Dinner in the Riad was available on request and was very good. The ambiance of the lounge with a log fire was comfortable on the cool evenings.All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We hired the driver Hicham for the day to go to the Atlas mountains. This was a super trip and not expensive and the La Falouka restaurant for lunch that day was superb in every way.
This stay was an excellent experience and a thoroughly recommended. We missed the roof terrace so maybe next time !!!

Room Tip: We were given a choice of rooms all of which were comfortable. Those overlooking the courtyard and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is well maintained by great staff. The room which we had we beautifully decorated, and had an excellent heating system which was great as the nights are cold in february. The breakfast was simple but filling. Mourad the hotel manager was excellent and made the experience fanatistic as he was always willing to help us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A beautiful and quiet place where you feel at home. Great service, friendly and helpful staff, good home cooked dinner, peaceful setting even though being in the Medina. A wonderful experience to be in a Marrakech neighbourhood and see the daily routine. It is hard to find a negative point about this place and the only thing I can think of would be the bread in the morning. I am a "bread addict" and would have loved freshly baked bread instead of the toasted little chunks. But ... breakfast is plenty, with juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit. I can and will highly recommend this wonderful riad and hope to be back one day. What a relieve compared to these huge impersonal hotels outside the city walls!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel situated in the Medina about twenty minutes walk from the main square. If you are looking for a small haven of tranquility in the madness that is Marrakech, then this is the place for you! The rooms are comfortable and attractively decorated, the food is authentic and delicious and the welcome is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and they will go out of their way to help.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights over the course of a week in july 2012. Everything about the Riad Alma and their staff was exceptional from the welcoming emails from the owner Pierre before we left for Morrocco to Maurod walking us halfway into the city centre late on our first night to upgrading us to a suite ( we were they only guests in the Riad......it seems the approaching Ramadan and the 47 degree heat are a turn off for tourists) to allowing us to leave most of our bags in our room and keep our key while we went to Essaouira for 2 days to allowing us a late check out at 4.30 because we had a late evening flight. The Riad itself is beautifully designed and spotlessly clean. There was a small dipping pool which was great to jump into after a few hours exploring marrakesh in the heat.....because we were the only guests it was perfect and private for us though would have been a little crowded if there were more guests around. The Riad is located in the Kasbah district of the city and is about a 20 minute walk ( less than 5 euro in taxi) to Djemaa el Fna. it is within 5/10 minute walk of the Saadian Tombs, El Badi Palace & the Bab Agnaou gateway. I can't speak highly enough about Pierre, Maurod (whose English was limited but still managed to do all he could to help us) and the other staff. I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpower101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Calm, quiet hotel. Fabulous bedroom with crisp white bedlinens and a decent shower. Helpful staff and Pierre invaluable booking good restaurants. Eating in was also good - home cooking, will make what you ask for, and good local wine. We spent too much time on the roof terrace - just so seductive in the spring sunshine.
East in Haq Brick if you get the chance - no alcohol but fab food and VERY cheap

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We found Riad Alma after a thorough search in ... tripadvisor ... and we have not been disappointed. This is THE place to stay if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly and extremely conveniently located place in Marrakech.
Pierre and his people know all there is to know, they help out when needed and they serve the best dinner we found in this part of the world.
There is actually nothing I find at fault. The bed is good, it is quiet at night, roomy rooms, small but private pool. Perhaps finding the riad is a bit of a puzzle, but the first time we were helped by one of Pierre's people and the other times it was fun to get lost in those tiny, twisty, turny streets.

We were up at 5.30 one day to take part in an excursion but, we were served a perfectly good breakfast in time and as it was the most normal thing in the world. Great stuff!

Room Tip: Don't forget to spend some time on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#40 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#107 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#67 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#18 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#54 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alma is our beautiful house of 1200m2 , with two courtyards with a pool and another with a fountain , the patio is equipped with misters for cool summer. We have 8 rooms for 20 people. Each room has a private bathroom , our rooms are bright and spacious 50m2 up . Seven of them have private terraces allowing for privacy and quiet time . The hammam spa and massage room are at your disposal to relax. Our chef one of the most famous of the city prepares dishes with market produce. Our team is highly qualified and works hard to make your stay a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing