We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Save Saved
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
solihull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel situated in the Medina about twenty minutes walk from the main square. If you are looking for a small haven of tranquility in the madness that is Marrakech, then this is the place for you! The rooms are comfortable and attractively decorated, the food is authentic and delicious and the welcome is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and they will go out of their way to help.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kells, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights over the course of a week in july 2012. Everything about the Riad Alma and their staff was exceptional from the welcoming emails from the owner Pierre before we left for Morrocco to Maurod walking us halfway into the city centre late on our first night to upgrading us to a suite ( we were they only guests in the Riad......it seems the approaching Ramadan and the 47 degree heat are a turn off for tourists) to allowing us to leave most of our bags in our room and keep our key while we went to Essaouira for 2 days to allowing us a late check out at 4.30 because we had a late evening flight. The Riad itself is beautifully designed and spotlessly clean. There was a small dipping pool which was great to jump into after a few hours exploring marrakesh in the heat.....because we were the only guests it was perfect and private for us though would have been a little crowded if there were more guests around. The Riad is located in the Kasbah district of the city and is about a 20 minute walk ( less than 5 euro in taxi) to Djemaa el Fna. it is within 5/10 minute walk of the Saadian Tombs, El Badi Palace & the Bab Agnaou gateway. I can't speak highly enough about Pierre, Maurod (whose English was limited but still managed to do all he could to help us) and the other staff. I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Calm, quiet hotel. Fabulous bedroom with crisp white bedlinens and a decent shower. Helpful staff and Pierre invaluable booking good restaurants. Eating in was also good - home cooking, will make what you ask for, and good local wine. We spent too much time on the roof terrace - just so seductive in the spring sunshine.
East in Haq Brick if you get the chance - no alcohol but fab food and VERY cheap

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We found Riad Alma after a thorough search in ... tripadvisor ... and we have not been disappointed. This is THE place to stay if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly and extremely conveniently located place in Marrakech.
Pierre and his people know all there is to know, they help out when needed and they serve the best dinner we found in this part of the world.
There is actually nothing I find at fault. The bed is good, it is quiet at night, roomy rooms, small but private pool. Perhaps finding the riad is a bit of a puzzle, but the first time we were helped by one of Pierre's people and the other times it was fun to get lost in those tiny, twisty, turny streets.

We were up at 5.30 one day to take part in an excursion but, we were served a perfectly good breakfast in time and as it was the most normal thing in the world. Great stuff!

Room Tip: Don't forget to spend some time on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years and could not have been happier. The staff were really friendly and helpful with advice on what to see/where to go. The interior is stunning and at night, when the weather turns a bit cooler, the fires in each room just add to the homely atmosphere. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The roof terrace and 2 courtyards are lovely to sit in during the day. I would highly recommend staying here as the food (and a glass of wine) are very welcome at the end of a day in the Souks. The evening meals, if you decide to eat in, are very well cooked- the moroccan salad was especially good!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A peaceful and beautifully maintained Riad in an interesting area of the city. Great to be in amongst the old streets rather than in the newer parts of Marrakech. It isn't far to walk into the main square and souks (about 20 mins at a leisurely pace), so everything feels accessible.

Rooms were simply and tastefully decorated, with some beautiful communal areas to relax in. Comfy beds! The pool area was spotlessly clean and tranquil.

It's a bit of a maze the first time you find it, but actually very straightforward once you know how. As a girl travelling alone I found the local area was fine to walk around alone, even at night. I'm glad I stayed in this end of town, as the local shops were very good value and authentic.

Will definitely stay here again on future trips!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

My friend and I arrived a different Marrakech riad (NOT Alma) and encountered a rude owner, stuffy courtyard (yep, they exist) and clerk who turned verbally abusive and physically threatening. Thankfully, we escaped to Riad Alma. This Riad is gorgeous--2 interior courtyards (one with a fountain, which wasn't on when we were there but was still nice, and one with a small pool, perfect for cooling off in) and several beautifully decorated indoor sitting areas. Our room was large and opened to a terrace overlooking one of the courtyards. It had 2 levels--the downstairs sleeping/sitting area and an upstairs bathroom (which tended to get overly warm). Breakfast (served in the courtyards) was fine- coffee/tea, orange juice,yogurt, bread, jam.  Pretty as it is, this riad shines because of its staff. We didn't see Pierre (the owner) very often, but when we did he was always friendly and had the perfect recommendation for where we should go that night. Mohad took care of most of the hosting duties and we were in very good hands-the guy is delightful. He was endlessly patient with my subpar French and gave us expert directions every morning to wherever we wanted to go. He even walked us to a nearby restaurant one night to make sure we found it (the door wasn't very well-marked). The neighborhood is also great-the riad is tucked away on a side street that seems to be populated mostly by families with adorable kids. You have to cross a few busy streets to get to the square, which isn't that close, but a few of the main sights (the tombs, the palaces) are nearby. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.