We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Save Saved
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Calm, quiet hotel. Fabulous bedroom with crisp white bedlinens and a decent shower. Helpful staff and Pierre invaluable booking good restaurants. Eating in was also good - home cooking, will make what you ask for, and good local wine. We spent too much time on the roof terrace - just so seductive in the spring sunshine.
East in Haq Brick if you get the chance - no alcohol but fab food and VERY cheap

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
72
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We found Riad Alma after a thorough search in ... tripadvisor ... and we have not been disappointed. This is THE place to stay if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly and extremely conveniently located place in Marrakech.
Pierre and his people know all there is to know, they help out when needed and they serve the best dinner we found in this part of the world.
There is actually nothing I find at fault. The bed is good, it is quiet at night, roomy rooms, small but private pool. Perhaps finding the riad is a bit of a puzzle, but the first time we were helped by one of Pierre's people and the other times it was fun to get lost in those tiny, twisty, turny streets.

We were up at 5.30 one day to take part in an excursion but, we were served a perfectly good breakfast in time and as it was the most normal thing in the world. Great stuff!

Room Tip: Don't forget to spend some time on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years and could not have been happier. The staff were really friendly and helpful with advice on what to see/where to go. The interior is stunning and at night, when the weather turns a bit cooler, the fires in each room just add to the homely atmosphere. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The roof terrace and 2 courtyards are lovely to sit in during the day. I would highly recommend staying here as the food (and a glass of wine) are very welcome at the end of a day in the Souks. The evening meals, if you decide to eat in, are very well cooked- the moroccan salad was especially good!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A peaceful and beautifully maintained Riad in an interesting area of the city. Great to be in amongst the old streets rather than in the newer parts of Marrakech. It isn't far to walk into the main square and souks (about 20 mins at a leisurely pace), so everything feels accessible.

Rooms were simply and tastefully decorated, with some beautiful communal areas to relax in. Comfy beds! The pool area was spotlessly clean and tranquil.

It's a bit of a maze the first time you find it, but actually very straightforward once you know how. As a girl travelling alone I found the local area was fine to walk around alone, even at night. I'm glad I stayed in this end of town, as the local shops were very good value and authentic.

Will definitely stay here again on future trips!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

My friend and I arrived a different Marrakech riad (NOT Alma) and encountered a rude owner, stuffy courtyard (yep, they exist) and clerk who turned verbally abusive and physically threatening. Thankfully, we escaped to Riad Alma. This Riad is gorgeous--2 interior courtyards (one with a fountain, which wasn't on when we were there but was still nice, and one with a small pool, perfect for cooling off in) and several beautifully decorated indoor sitting areas. Our room was large and opened to a terrace overlooking one of the courtyards. It had 2 levels--the downstairs sleeping/sitting area and an upstairs bathroom (which tended to get overly warm). Breakfast (served in the courtyards) was fine- coffee/tea, orange juice,yogurt, bread, jam.  Pretty as it is, this riad shines because of its staff. We didn't see Pierre (the owner) very often, but when we did he was always friendly and had the perfect recommendation for where we should go that night. Mohad took care of most of the hosting duties and we were in very good hands-the guy is delightful. He was endlessly patient with my subpar French and gave us expert directions every morning to wherever we wanted to go. He even walked us to a nearby restaurant one night to make sure we found it (the door wasn't very well-marked). The neighborhood is also great-the riad is tucked away on a side street that seems to be populated mostly by families with adorable kids. You have to cross a few busy streets to get to the square, which isn't that close, but a few of the main sights (the tombs, the palaces) are nearby. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I can't praise the Alma highly enough.
We stayed for 3 nights and came away thoroughly and utterly relaxed, that being the whole point of the break.
The food was magnificent, the hospitality was not even that, you were made a part of the family as soon as you walked in the door and the facilities once inside were everything you need just to while away a few chilled days.

The only downside I have to say would be Pierre calling me down to watch England being beaten by France in a room full of his compatriots !!!! But I'll forgive him for that....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Riad Alma is absolutely beautiful: it has been decorated with amazing attention to detail and all of the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend this riad and would love to return there some time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#134 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.