We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Alma to your Saves list
Riad Alma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

My friend and I arrived a different Marrakech riad (NOT Alma) and encountered a rude owner, stuffy courtyard (yep, they exist) and clerk who turned verbally abusive and physically threatening. Thankfully, we escaped to Riad Alma. This Riad is gorgeous--2 interior courtyards (one with a fountain, which wasn't on when we were there but was still nice, and one with a small pool, perfect for cooling off in) and several beautifully decorated indoor sitting areas. Our room was large and opened to a terrace overlooking one of the courtyards. It had 2 levels--the downstairs sleeping/sitting area and an upstairs bathroom (which tended to get overly warm). Breakfast (served in the courtyards) was fine- coffee/tea, orange juice,yogurt, bread, jam.  Pretty as it is, this riad shines because of its staff. We didn't see Pierre (the owner) very often, but when we did he was always friendly and had the perfect recommendation for where we should go that night. Mohad took care of most of the hosting duties and we were in very good hands-the guy is delightful. He was endlessly patient with my subpar French and gave us expert directions every morning to wherever we wanted to go. He even walked us to a nearby restaurant one night to make sure we found it (the door wasn't very well-marked). The neighborhood is also great-the riad is tucked away on a side street that seems to be populated mostly by families with adorable kids. You have to cross a few busy streets to get to the square, which isn't that close, but a few of the main sights (the tombs, the palaces) are nearby. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I can't praise the Alma highly enough.
We stayed for 3 nights and came away thoroughly and utterly relaxed, that being the whole point of the break.
The food was magnificent, the hospitality was not even that, you were made a part of the family as soon as you walked in the door and the facilities once inside were everything you need just to while away a few chilled days.

The only downside I have to say would be Pierre calling me down to watch England being beaten by France in a room full of his compatriots !!!! But I'll forgive him for that....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Riad Alma is absolutely beautiful: it has been decorated with amazing attention to detail and all of the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend this riad and would love to return there some time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed with some friends at the beginning. Riad Alma was slightly away from the Medina (About 20 minutes walk away) in a much quieter area of the Kashba which suited us fine. It was in an area in the heart of Moroccan daily life
We couldn't fault the Riad at all. Very charming. Excellent service and nothing was too much trouble for Pierre and his staff. Mourad was absolutely great. We had a meal cooked for us personally on the second night and that was good.
We would definitely recommend the Riad to anybody.
There was one slight negative however and that was that they charged us each 10 Dirhams EACH for what was a FREE map. It was a shame really that they persist in doing this. But this musn't put you off. Just refuse the map or ask that you don't want to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Can't speak highly enough of the riad or pierre and his staff. friendly and unobtrusive made us feel very welcome and our stay very comfortable. it was always re assuring to know that the oasis was waiting for us after the hurly burly of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We loved our stay at Riad Alma... our suite was beautiful, the staff were exceptionally attentive and breakfast, lunch and dinner were fabulous. The location - within the Medina and a short distance from the square - was perfect for our three day Marrakech break. I would recommend Riad Alma to anyone looking for a luxury and restful santuary.

The Riad is furnished with an array of beautiful objects and antiques from all over the world and has a really stylish and elegant feel. What a special and unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Hello Trip Advisor family.

After so much turmoil about choosing a place to stay we decided on Riad Alma.
I had found this Riad through hipmarrakesh.com and spoke to Amanda over the phone and she took my deposit over the phone. I had so much apprehension since so many reviews are biased or skewed or based on 1 contribution. Our flight was delyaed by 2 hours and I contacted Amanda at Hip Marrakesh and she contacted the Riad and let them know that we were arriving late.
We were picked up at the airport by a driver that works with the Riad. My boyfriend and I speak no French or Arabic and the driver spoke English.
To my very very surprise, this Riad was perfect. The pictures are just as the Riad is.
Pierre the owner was there and gave us so many great suggestions on where to eat dinner or lunch. The room was immaculate, the bathroom large. We had a terrace outside out room. We needed something ironed the staff did it, laundry needed? Not a problem.
Breakfast was superb, fresh squezzed orange juice, crepes, eggs, toast, whatever you wanted.
Dinner was also excellant at the Riad.
The free wifi was a plus!
Dinner on rose petals in the courtyard was a plus!

My suggestion..go ahead and book it, you will not be dissappointed.
Any questions? feel free to ask.
I LOVE MARRAKESH

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.