We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate suite good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shemsi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Shemsi to your Saves list
Riad Shemsi
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, Ca.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Chocolate suite good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The entry way and (small/very cold) plunge pool are beautiful. To lounge there after the noisy market (medina) area you need to pass through every time you come and go anywhere is a real pleasure. The suite is on the third floor (no elevator) and feels like you have the entire roof area to yourselves as the terrace is there too. (Maybe noisy if guests are partying in Summer?) The owner was not there apparently having a baby and the relief staff were nice enough but dropped the ball by having breakfast ready AFTER we were scheduled to be picked up by our city tour guide. No breakfast, big tour, not good ! Mohammed (nice guy) the night man forgot it was Sunday (stores open later apparently). He also locked himself out for an hour until I happened by. There was no food service offered and that's not a bad thing as the Les Jardins de la Medina riad is steps away and has a great restaurant, atmosphere, full staff and they change money for guests---at the official rate.

Room Tip: Chocolate suite big and has an extra single bed. A safe too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
150
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

After deciding to take a break before the madness of Christmas, we settled on Marrakech as our destination. A friend recommended Riad Shemsi so we checked it out on line and booked it up 18th - 23rd December.

We were picked up from the airport and as we drove to the Riad, I did have to question had we made the right decision, which was reinforced when the driver stopped in a busy, seemingly run down part of town, without speaking, got out of the car, dragged our bags out and headed of into the maddening crowed! Keeping up with him as he ducked down ever narrowing allies I did start to worry. After a few minutes we came to a dead end with just a big door in front of us.......All my fears were allayed once we entered, Riad Shemsi was a beautiful, peaceful haven far from the chaos we had encountered outside.

We were greeted by Noura and served mint tea with nibbles by the pool then left to relax and take in the calm before she came back to provided a map,several recommendations for places to visit and take us to our room.

The room was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate, although we did have a few issues with the heating not working and the electrics playing up but that didn't detract from our enjoyment, and the staff were very helpful in resolving the issues without delay.

We could not have been better located, once we learnt our way around we found we could walk to the Square, Souks and New town, also it is in a quieter part of the Medina, which you will appreciate as Marrakech gives new meaning to the words "hectic" and "chaotic", but don't be put off by this you really do learn to embrace the madness and roll with it.

The thing about Marrakech is that you never know what is behind the rundown facades and trust me you will always be surprised by the opulence it hides. It was a great place to visit full of sights and smells (not all good!) and never a dull moment. Alcohol is pretty much banned in the old city although there are a few hotels that serve drinks but you will pay a hefty price for the privilege - around 140 dirhams for a bottle (same wine costs about 8 dirhams at the airport) , in fact one place we went into charged 130 dirhams a glass.....yes a glass! and the Riad does not have a bar. Needless to say it was a very health holiday lots of walking and little alcohol, and one we truly enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shemsi for three nights, 30 November to 3 December 2013.

The riad is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean but it is the lovely service that takes it to the next level. Noura and Mohammed and so friendly and make you feel so welcome during your stay. They are there if you need them, nothing being too much trouble, or you are left to relax and enjoy the peace if that is what you want.

The riad is an oasis of calm in hectic Marrakech and it is great to return to of an evening after the day wandering around. Noura provided a map on arrival and we stumbled across a number or recommendations in our wanderings; all of them great.

Highly recommended and would definitely return. Helped make the holiday in Marrakech a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orange Room as a twin and it worked great for friends travelling together who wante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My future wife and I spent 3 days in march 2013 and loved everything about this place. We walked to the shops, restaurants and attractions everyday. The staff were fantastic. Mohamed was the kindest guy you could meet. Will defo go back. 10/10. Paul and pauline

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Shemsi from the 2nd to 6th of July, in the middle of Moroccan summer (hot with a capital H). We were expecting alot from this place due to all the good reviews by previous patrons, and we were thoroughly suprised. Riad Shemsi is a true oasis in the Medina, and far exceeded our expectations! The staff are very attentive, uninstrusive and could offer genuine advice on places to eat and see. We stayed in the Chocolate Suite which is by any standards a lovely room, and the rest of the Riad is equally immaculate and well appointed. The swimming pool was greatly appreciated, and although not olympic in size, it is a genuine pool and not a converted fountain.

On arrival the AC was faulty, and after 15 minutes a repairman showed up. I assume he could not fix it as he was given a (descrete, but audiable) ear ache from the woman in charge, and shortly afterwards another man showed up and to fixed the fault after a good hours work. I am familiar with ear ache regardless of culture or language...

The location is perfect as it is easy to find after a walk round the Souks, and also because it is in a quieter (and cleaner) part of the Medina - which you will really appreciate as Marrakech gives new meaning to the words "hectic" and "chaotic".

The food and drink offered are of good quality at a fair price. Water, english tea, mint tea and juice were offered FOC (all day and night) as well as light breakfast (served upon request) consisting of maroccan pancakes, baguette, jam and natural yoghurt with a choice of tea or coffee. My only comment would be that the seasoning is suited to european taste, which will suit most, but probably not foodies.

Finally, I must add that I am a rather spoilt traveller, who usually stays at rediculosly over priced resorts and hotels - and I'm usually rather dissapointed. Riad Shemsi is by any standards, world class. We will definately return again soon.

Room Tip: Choclate suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in riad shemsi for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. It was clean, light and really well decorated, with a pretty courtyard and a small roof terrace for breakfast, sunbathing or a refreshing mint tea after a hectic day in the souks. Noura and Mohammed looked after us so well booking taxis, restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. It is well located in the South Medina, 10 minutes from the main square and near many good restaurants. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shemsi from 11th to 22nd March 2013. This Riad is very attractively furnished and the staff are charming, good humoured and could not do enough to be of help and assistance. The rooms are decorated in the Moroccan fashion and are very comfortable.We were served an excellent breakfast every day. We thoroughly recommend this Riad. It is situated off the rue de la Kasbah inside the Medina and most sights are within walking distance..It was delightful to stay there.

Room Tip: The pink Berber rooms although charmingly decorated have very small bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#37 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#31 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shemsi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shemsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.