We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shemsi

Save Saved
You added Riad Shemsi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Shemsi
194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bergen
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Shemsi from the 2nd to 6th of July, in the middle of Moroccan summer (hot with a capital H). We were expecting alot from this place due to all the good reviews by previous patrons, and we were thoroughly suprised. Riad Shemsi is a true oasis in the Medina, and far exceeded our expectations! The staff are very attentive, uninstrusive and could offer genuine advice on places to eat and see. We stayed in the Chocolate Suite which is by any standards a lovely room, and the rest of the Riad is equally immaculate and well appointed. The swimming pool was greatly appreciated, and although not olympic in size, it is a genuine pool and not a converted fountain.

On arrival the AC was faulty, and after 15 minutes a repairman showed up. I assume he could not fix it as he was given a (descrete, but audiable) ear ache from the woman in charge, and shortly afterwards another man showed up and to fixed the fault after a good hours work. I am familiar with ear ache regardless of culture or language...

The location is perfect as it is easy to find after a walk round the Souks, and also because it is in a quieter (and cleaner) part of the Medina - which you will really appreciate as Marrakech gives new meaning to the words "hectic" and "chaotic".

The food and drink offered are of good quality at a fair price. Water, english tea, mint tea and juice were offered FOC (all day and night) as well as light breakfast (served upon request) consisting of maroccan pancakes, baguette, jam and natural yoghurt with a choice of tea or coffee. My only comment would be that the seasoning is suited to european taste, which will suit most, but probably not foodies.

Finally, I must add that I am a rather spoilt traveller, who usually stays at rediculosly over priced resorts and hotels - and I'm usually rather dissapointed. Riad Shemsi is by any standards, world class. We will definately return again soon.

Room Tip: Choclate suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
135
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in riad shemsi for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. It was clean, light and really well decorated, with a pretty courtyard and a small roof terrace for breakfast, sunbathing or a refreshing mint tea after a hectic day in the souks. Noura and Mohammed looked after us so well booking taxis, restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. It is well located in the South Medina, 10 minutes from the main square and near many good restaurants. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shemsi from 11th to 22nd March 2013. This Riad is very attractively furnished and the staff are charming, good humoured and could not do enough to be of help and assistance. The rooms are decorated in the Moroccan fashion and are very comfortable.We were served an excellent breakfast every day. We thoroughly recommend this Riad. It is situated off the rue de la Kasbah inside the Medina and most sights are within walking distance..It was delightful to stay there.

Room Tip: The pink Berber rooms although charmingly decorated have very small bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Girls trip, we had the riad to ourselves. It is beautiful! From the rooms, the pool to the breakfast quarters to the lounge on the roof!

I loved the mint tea and the flat bread served for breakfast.

The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

It is 10 mins away from the city and costs a few dhirams by taxi. You could get lost walking back as its in a maze and very secluded spot. But beautiful inside, worth the stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As we were staying in Riad Shemsi for a week we decided to book the Chocolate Suite and we did not regret it. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The large shower room had lovely toiletries and bath robes.
Breakfast is very nice with delicious homemade yogurt but there was no variety. We had two lovely evening meals in the Riad and another in Les Jardins de Medina very close by. (booked by the Riad)
It takes more than 15 minutes to walk to Jmaa El Fna through the hustle and bustle of the very busy Marrakech streets. It was hotter than we expected so the air conditioning in our room was most welcome on a few occasions.
The Riad booked the trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. It is expensive but we really enjoyed it. We walked for two hours with a local guide and learned a great deal about the Berber way of life. To take advantage of this you do need to be able to walk on steep, rocky ground.
Riad Shemsi is a lovely place to come back to after a hectic, hot day. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and I became addicted to the wonderful sweet mint tea. We loved the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for just one night but it was lovely- the staff were really friendly and helped us to plan our short time in the city, suggesting a great hammam etc. Its peaceful and beautifully decorated, comfortable and reasonably priced! highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we visited the riad in august and had a very nervous arrival! The taxi we booked with the hotel dropped us on the main street and didnt even show us to the door. dont book a taxi with the hotel, over priced. We were greeted by abdellah, with tea and biscuits. Wow! amazing! such a beautiful riad, modern yet traditional. We had the whole place to ourselves for 5 days!
Plus - breakfast included, air-conditioning, clean, root top terrace for sunbathing, pool when in the hot august heat, out of town, peace and quiet, 'vanilla' room was a bargain - your paying the same price for a mid-range riad as you would for a not very nice riad closer to the square. staff very helpful, informed us on everything and helped us plan the rest of the trip. the kasbah (area of medina it was in) is nicer than the central or north medina, wider streets, better lit.
negative - poor selection for breakfast, it is a 25 minute walk to jammaa el fna, not a pleasnt one either, especially when its 40 degrees. get a taxi back at night. not much around the kasbah.
overall, the riad was so gorgeous it made our trip!!! would million percent recommend and go back. marrakech can be overwhelming so it was thankful to have a place like here to chill out in and have peace and quiet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Riad Carllian
Riad Carllian
#148 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Room Service, F...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#162 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Boutique, Resta...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Dar el Souk
Dar el Souk
#231 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Riad Awa
Riad Awa
#222 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Romantic, Pool...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#70 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Riad Cinnamon
Riad Cinnamon
#123 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shemsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.