We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Attention and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shemsi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Shemsi to your Saves list
Riad Shemsi
194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Attention and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shemsi from 11th to 22nd March 2013. This Riad is very attractively furnished and the staff are charming, good humoured and could not do enough to be of help and assistance. The rooms are decorated in the Moroccan fashion and are very comfortable.We were served an excellent breakfast every day. We thoroughly recommend this Riad. It is situated off the rue de la Kasbah inside the Medina and most sights are within walking distance..It was delightful to stay there.

Room Tip: The pink Berber rooms although charmingly decorated have very small bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Girls trip, we had the riad to ourselves. It is beautiful! From the rooms, the pool to the breakfast quarters to the lounge on the roof!

I loved the mint tea and the flat bread served for breakfast.

The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

It is 10 mins away from the city and costs a few dhirams by taxi. You could get lost walking back as its in a maze and very secluded spot. But beautiful inside, worth the stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As we were staying in Riad Shemsi for a week we decided to book the Chocolate Suite and we did not regret it. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The large shower room had lovely toiletries and bath robes.
Breakfast is very nice with delicious homemade yogurt but there was no variety. We had two lovely evening meals in the Riad and another in Les Jardins de Medina very close by. (booked by the Riad)
It takes more than 15 minutes to walk to Jmaa El Fna through the hustle and bustle of the very busy Marrakech streets. It was hotter than we expected so the air conditioning in our room was most welcome on a few occasions.
The Riad booked the trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. It is expensive but we really enjoyed it. We walked for two hours with a local guide and learned a great deal about the Berber way of life. To take advantage of this you do need to be able to walk on steep, rocky ground.
Riad Shemsi is a lovely place to come back to after a hectic, hot day. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and I became addicted to the wonderful sweet mint tea. We loved the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for just one night but it was lovely- the staff were really friendly and helped us to plan our short time in the city, suggesting a great hammam etc. Its peaceful and beautifully decorated, comfortable and reasonably priced! highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we visited the riad in august and had a very nervous arrival! The taxi we booked with the hotel dropped us on the main street and didnt even show us to the door. dont book a taxi with the hotel, over priced. We were greeted by abdellah, with tea and biscuits. Wow! amazing! such a beautiful riad, modern yet traditional. We had the whole place to ourselves for 5 days!
Plus - breakfast included, air-conditioning, clean, root top terrace for sunbathing, pool when in the hot august heat, out of town, peace and quiet, 'vanilla' room was a bargain - your paying the same price for a mid-range riad as you would for a not very nice riad closer to the square. staff very helpful, informed us on everything and helped us plan the rest of the trip. the kasbah (area of medina it was in) is nicer than the central or north medina, wider streets, better lit.
negative - poor selection for breakfast, it is a 25 minute walk to jammaa el fna, not a pleasnt one either, especially when its 40 degrees. get a taxi back at night. not much around the kasbah.
overall, the riad was so gorgeous it made our trip!!! would million percent recommend and go back. marrakech can be overwhelming so it was thankful to have a place like here to chill out in and have peace and quiet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have just returned from spending 4 nights 5 days in riad shemsi, a truly breathtaking place, we stayed in the chocolate room which was just wow..
I would highly recommend a stay there the staff were so helpful and Marrakech takes me back to my travelling days way back when
It's a must place to go :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the chocolate which was more expensive but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with our 2-year-old to Marrakesh in October and were delighted to find that Riad Shemsi met our family needs perfectly. We've heard that small riads can be tough to have toddlers in (since sound carries so well), but this was a lovely riad with the perfect sized pool and terraces for a little one. The staff was fantastic with our daughter and made our stay that much better. Breakfast on that beautiful terrace is wonderful!

We took a wonderful cooking class with the sweetest, kindest chef and shopped for all ingredients beforehand with the staff. They also arranged for a tour of the city with an English speaking guide which we thought was wonderful - but didn't realize they charged by the person and ended up paying twice as much as we expected. Oops! And don't let the guide not walk you home, telling you the riad is 'easy to find'. We were lost for a good hour at night before we found our way through the winding medina back to Riad Shemsi. This location is in the newer part of the Medina (by new, it's not 'new' - you're still in authentic Morocco) but is a short walk to the main souks. Out of the hustle and bustle. Our only criticism might be the decor - very classy and modern but I was hoping for something much more Morrocan (the boxy velvet furniture could easily be updated with authentic decor). Overall we felt incredibly safe and were happy to have found this riad!

Thanks to Peter for helping to arrange our stay! And for joining us for part of the cooking class!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shemsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.