We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oasis of calm amongst the hustle & bustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect oasis of calm amongst the hustle & bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I was recommended this hotel by a friend, and I can't thank her enough. It's such a charming place, tucked down a quiet side street just a few minutes' stroll from the main square & soukhs. The staff were extremely helpful & attentive, and the roof terrace is a fantastic place to take a hearty breakfast or an evening beer, or to soak up the sun if you feel like a rest from the shopping & sightseeing. The rooms are very comfortable & cool with tasteful decor.
Unfortunately I fell ill with gastroenteritis during our stay (NOT due to the food here I hasten to add!) & the manager called a doctor round & whisked me off to hospital quick smart. She even visited me in hospital, ferrying my partner to & fro and even bringing much needed plain food from the hotel kitchen to help my recovery.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough, along with it's sister property in Fes.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We've just returned from a stay at Riad Tizwa in Marrakech. A first visit to the chaotic city and very glad we stayed in a Riad to complete the true Moroccan experience. Riad Tizwa is situated right in the heart of the city and only 10 minutes walk from the main square. It has been beautifully restored with ornate ceilings and charming original doors. The bedrooms are very comfortable with lovely en-suite facilities including moroccan bath and body products. There are some lovely touches with tea/coffee placed outside your room at 0730 daily, mint tea on arrival, delicious breakfast served when and where you would like. We had a delightful home cooked meal on arrival and the staff can't do enough for you. If you're looking for good quality accommodation with a real Moroccan experience/hospitality, then choose Riad Tizwa.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We just loved this place - we even extended our stay!

My wife and I took a 3 week break to see morocco and really lucked out. This riad in Marrakesh and its prettier sister in Fes are just everything we hoped for. Real simple to find, friendly and pretty dam relaxed. There is a real home environment here ( and they are environmental too)

We had trekked down from south of spain in to tangier and made our way on the overnight train to marrakech (which was like lying on a hard board and being shaken all night ) - but it saved quiet a bit of time (so we found out when we took the train north to Fes)

The marrakesh place is really comfortable and lovely but the most striking thing was just how relaxed and silent it was. Hassan totally made our stay as he was just happy and constantly working. The breakfast was fantastic, and the candles at night just so pretty, but it was the home feeling that kept us there. Maleekas cooking was just wonderful and we just slept for days. They helped us plan our trips up to the atlas and to the beach - but word of advice - take the bus both ways not a grand taxi as there is so little that is grand about It.

We thought we were only going to stay 5 days but ended up there for the week

Really recommend Room 2

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Can not say anything negative about Riad Tizwa in Marrakech
Amazing location in the Old Town right next to the Souks but still quiet and idyllic.
The rooms are incredible, clean, beautifully designed, comfortable... the bathroom is also gorgeous with fresh rose petals laid on arrival
The Staff can't help you enough and were a pleasure you speak to - without being too intrusive. Nothing is too much to ask and there were a variety of options for day trips if you so wish, plus lunch, dinner, massage, hammam etc etc
Breakfast is lovely - fresh - delicious - served on the beautiful roof terrace every morning.

Can not recommend enough - stay here, you will not regret!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x0x0x0x0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

next weekend trip in Morocco....

We stayed in tizwa in Fes, so thought we would try Marrakech. The riad is even more relaxed. Same good breakfasts and home like service. And the same staff as Fes! Samir was in 2 places at once

stayed in room 1 here as well and slept so well. The same touches of candles and lovely smells at night of burning incence

parking nearby and a wonderful dinner

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Stayed in this riad with a group of family and friends and had the whole place to ourselves (it sleeps 12). The riad is in a lovely quiet location on the edge of the medina. Easy to walk to all key areas of the city. The staff were incredible and looked after us so well. Breakfast was wonderful. Lovely relaxing courtyard on the roof to enjoy beer and shisha. All the rooms were impeccable - special mention to room 6 on the ground floor which had amazing decor and a wonderful bathroom. Room 1 is also amazing (very large!).

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I booked this place for a group of us on the recommendation of friends. Via email, the owners responded promptly, positively and in friendly fashion to my every awkward request and sorted in advance all that I needed sorted. We were welcomed by the most charming staff who looked after us attentively during the whole of our stay - even after we'd paid the bill and left! The riad itself is delightful. The rooms reflect the exotic nature of Marrakech and are very comfortable and quiet. it is a mere 10 minutes walk from the hub of old Marrakech, the large square and the Souk. Room prices are reasonable and additional expenditure was meticulously accounted. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent, dinner very good and service unsurpassable. My group unanimously loved Riad Tizwa and would commend it wholeheartedly to future visitors to Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jockfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#47 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing