We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a more perfect riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a more perfect riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed in the gorgeous Riad Tizwa back in May and loved it so much that I came back... twice! I was on holiday with a friend, and as two women travelling together we found Riad Tizwa to be the perfect base in Marrakesh. Our room (Room 6) was massive, so plenty of space for both of us to unpack all our luggage and settle in. The room was lovely, clean and cool, even when it was in the high 30s outside - we barely needed the AC. We also had the most impressive ensuite bathroom I think I have ever seen. Breakfast, served on the roof terrace, is fresh and delicious. The Riad is a stunning, peaceful retreat from the bustle of the city, managing to be quiet in spite of the fantastically central location just on the edge of the souks. Daniel and Richard have clearly put a lot of thought into the decor and restoration and have produced a clean, modern look while maintaining the beautiful moroccan features that give the Riad it's real character. The roof terrace is beautiful and the whole place is full of nooks to relax in. Comfy beds and luxurious linens. We loved it so much that we decided to cancel our second Riad and come back to Tizwa after our trip to the High Atlas. I also returned for my last night in Marrakesh after the conference that was the original reason for the trip (stayed in Room 3, which is gorgeous too, and much more spacious than it looks in the pictures on the website). Overall, the thing that makes Tizwa really feel like home is the warm, super helpful hosts, Mohammad and Hassan, who will recommend places to eat, organise airport transfers, travel into the mountains etc., and are always happy to help in anyway. Can't wait to visit Marrakesh again so that we can enjoy the Tizwa hospitality again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are coolest during hot weather, but all have AC. Stayed in Roome 6 and Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
133
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The riad is quite nice, very clean and calm, set away from a busy street down a narrow alley (but close enough a taxi can drop you off with your bags and you can get them to the riad w/o needing a hand trolley). I had Bedroom 4, whose bathroom is separate in the hall (but private) - the room and bathroom were both spacious and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts on the rooftop patio were lovely and far too much food for one person to eat - and all of the staff was very kind and helpful.

Only two downsides are quirks probably common to a lot of riads - one, the place is echo-y, so if there are other guests in the halls/central atrium talking or children running up & down, it can be difficult to sleep (most other guests seemed to realize this, but there were one or two loud nights/early mornings - the staff might want to mention that sounds echo when guests check in). The other thing to note is that the roof patio, while lovely to sit at for breakfast, does not have a view of the mountains, just other roofs mostly. If you do want views of the snow-covered Atlas Mtns, there are several restaurants with roof patios in the medina, but my favorite place was the rooftop terrace of the Badii Palace (the most peaceful place in Marrakesh, which I happily paid 10 DH entry to go back to several times).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nothing was too much trouble - Hassan and Mohammed excellent hosts as were the rest of the staff. My fault entirely - I booked their sister Riad in Fez but didn't realize until we arrived in Riad Tizwa Marrakech!!!!!! - Long story but it got sorted and the owners were also extremely helpful in rectifying this error. Ideal location to walk and explore Marrakech. Breakfast excellent. Would recommend, as friends had recommended to us. My husband had a shower which he said wasn't brilliant. I had baths, the water took a long time to run and wasn't that hot, but for three nights/four days we coped. If we returned to Marrakech the only reason we wouldn't stay there is because we would chose a hotel with a pool to sit around after a hot day exploring - but that is a personal choice only. Riad Tiswa certainly gives you a true experience of Moroccan hospitality, and if that's what you want - go for it.

Room Tip: Large room on middle floor to the right of the stairs from ground floor great size - very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just spent three days in Marrakech staying at the Riad Tizwa.Which was situated down a little alley so off the road, and quiet. Staff- Mohammed and especially Hussain were delightful and so helpful with organising a driver for the day to the mountains etc. It was very relaxing. Rooms were comfortable and cosy, not so posh you felt uncomfortable.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Riad Tizwa for 3 nights last month with our son. The Riad is peaceful and calm amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and is conveniently situated in the medina. Hassan and his team were extremely welcoming and helped arranged transport and trips for us - nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay at Riad Tizwa again and would happily recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed there at the end of march for 6 nights..We chose the taxi pick up service offered as we were landing late in the evening.Good thing we did as it was tucked away in the Medina. Mohammed and Hassan are fantastic very helpful with our day trips away and always with a smile.
The breakfasts were spectacular on the rooftop with fresh yogurt and orange juice and local delicacies.
We stayed in the downstairs rooms - very spacious.The only improvement I could suggest is to check the plumbing in the baths.Too many times we were surprised in the shower by bursts of cold and hot water with absolutely no water pressure.It is an eco hotel so no face tissues either! On the plus side the beds and linen are divine!!
Will recommend it as a very nice place to stay in the medina
Otherwise a very

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Staying in Riad Tizwa is like being a guest in an old Moroccan family home. Situated in the heart of the medina, (but not very easy to find), everything is beautifully designed with comfort in mind. In typical fashion, the building is centred round a beautiful courtyard. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and really seem pleased to help.
Breakfast, served on the rooftop, is excellent and the early morning tea and coffee left outside your room was welcome.
Our room was large and very comfortable but I only wish there had been a proper shower in our bathroom.
Make sure they send a car to the airport to pick you up as the taxi driver we took couldn't find it and we ended up being taken on a 15 minute walk through the souk, following a stranger and pulling our suitcases.
Free wifi, but not in every room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.