We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience old style of Morocco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Experience old style of Morocco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Staying in Riad Tizwa is like being a guest in an old Moroccan family home. Situated in the heart of the medina, (but not very easy to find), everything is beautifully designed with comfort in mind. In typical fashion, the building is centred round a beautiful courtyard. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and really seem pleased to help.
Breakfast, served on the rooftop, is excellent and the early morning tea and coffee left outside your room was welcome.
Our room was large and very comfortable but I only wish there had been a proper shower in our bathroom.
Make sure they send a car to the airport to pick you up as the taxi driver we took couldn't find it and we ended up being taken on a 15 minute walk through the souk, following a stranger and pulling our suitcases.
Free wifi, but not in every room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    34
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
135
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had already read wonderful reviews of Riad Tizwa as it was featured as a mid-budget, luxury stay, in a bespoke city guide- aimed at designers, artists and fashion professionals (WGSN.com). I visited in early March 2014 with my boyfriend- our first time in Marrakech.

This is a beautiful, blissful Riad in an-easy-to-find (by Marrakech standards!) location- to the North West of the Medina, within the old city walls.

Take our advice and book the airport transfer directly with Riad Tizwa- you wont get ripped off by local taxi drivers and the door-to-door pick up service was exceptional.

When you arrive at the Riad, you're welcomed home- to an oasis of calm, authentic features, the beautiful courtyard (of which most of the rooms overlook) and a sun-trap roof terrace.

Our room was decadent and colourful- a four poster bed and a scattering of Moroccan craft features. The bathroom was huge, complete with luxurious robes, traditional Moroccan slippers and bath oils.

At the Riad, you're best placed to enjoy so much in Marrakech... It's a 10 minute stroll to the main square, 15 minutes from Jardin Majorelle and a short skip away from the souks, tanneries, museums and restaurants. Although Marrakech is notoriously difficult to navigate by map- you can always anchor yourself to a long wall on your left that runs you right down to the main square- marked by a familiar corner-post for officials and police.

Of course, you're here to see Marrakech- but the Riad and the staff really make this stay special. Above all, the staff - Hassan and Mohammed - are attentive, polite, relaxed, discreet, friendly and helpful. We were greeted by Hassan most mornings- and when returning to the Riad after a day of exploring. We asked a lot of questions, about haggling, where to head for dinner, where we could pick up a few beers... Hassan was always helpful and gave excellent recommendations.

Awake to tea and coffee, milk and sugar outside your bedroom door. Have your breakfast at whatever time you like- wherever you like. We took ours on the roof terrace every morning, just give a ten minute warning and a gorgeous selection of pastries, yoghurt, freshly-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, muesli, bread, butter and jam will be whisked to your table.

Your room will be turned down swiftly by the lovely staff- we loved the eco-aware attention to detail.

Riad Tizwa offers a relaxing, luxury stay with ideal location and absolutely unbeatable staff. We will e visiting again and have already recommended to family and friends. Thank you Riad Tizwa for a magical stay!

Julia & Kuba

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are very private, and overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Riad Tizwa was a stylish oasis of calm after busy, noisy days and nights in Marrakech. The interior is lovely – neutrally decorated with vibrant, colourful tiles on the roof terrace. The roof terrace was lovely – a great place to have breakfast and enjoy the sun.

The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Mint tea on arrival was a nice touch, as was the tea and coffee left outside your bedroom door every morning. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious.

The room was spacious and comfortable, especially the bathroom which was huge and well appointed. Nice modern Moroccan design details throughout.

A very welcoming, friendly Riad in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Riad Tizwa was recommended by my friend's friend who stayed here before. Immediately, I came to Tripadvisor to look up reviews on the riad. We have never seen such high ratings on Tripadvisor before!! Richard and Daniel were pleasant and helpful when we were booking and very accommodating. Since we were arriving late (after 11pm), we reserved a car (for an additional fee) through the riad to pick us up at the airport. This is the way to go since it was our first time in Marrakech and we would never have known where the riad was. Plus, we were 2 girls traveling and felt safe that the riad arranged this service for us. Hassan was a warm welcome late at night and prepared some tea and snacks for us. The riad was very quiet since all guests were asleep. We stayed in room 5 which was a bit small but we didn't mind it. There is a large bathroom and shower room. The riad is beautiful, very well maintained, and quiet even though very close to the Medina and souks. Mohammed and Hassan were there to answer all our questions and we had a lot!! Very honest and helpful.Tea and coffee outside our room every morning and a beautiful breakfast on the rood deck (tea, coffee, homemade yogurt, granola, pastries etc). My friend is allergic to gluten and they made sure to make her eggs during the rest of our trip. A trip to Marrakech deserves a stay at a riad and not a large hotel and Riad Tizwa would be my recommendation. The location is great - 5 min walk to different part of souk and 10-15 min walk to the Medina.

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the ground floor with double bed and en suite shower and bathroom. There is a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were recommended this Riad by my son who came last year. My other son and his family with me visited in February half term. It was a wonderful welcoming place to spend a holiday. Very close to the Souks and they could not do enough for their guests. Breakfast was taken on a very sunny roof, and dinner on the first night was beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Finding Riad Tizwa was a bit of an accident when I was browsing the web trying to find a nice place in Marrakech with only day before the departure. Now I can say it was a stroke of luck and if one wants a quiet, welcoming place in the medina where you're invited to feel like home, this is it! It's easy to get to and 10 min walk from the main square and souks with all their madness, yet it's absolutely quiet and extremely welcoming, including breakfasts on the roof terrace and great Moroccan tea & coffee served to your room. This is thanks to the staff there - Hassan and Mohammed, which is one you'd like to have in every guesthouse, they’re amazing. They made sure everything is organised starting from airport pickup, through delivering me to the bus terminal and making sure I meet my contact with tickets there to the final printing my plane passes and making sure I'll get to the airport. In a crazy city like Marrakech, that helped a lot and made my stay there a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All you have to do is to email the riad and ask - the staff will make sure you're getting the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there at the beginning of our trip to Morocco and at the end - three wonderful days in total.
We arrived there at night and at first were a little taken aback by the little alley way leading to the riad. The entrance seems to be in something of a dead-end alley but once we stepped in, we just felt transported into another world. Everything was absolutely wonderful. We were also lucky to experience two of the rooms on the first floor. I would recommend both the largest room and the one with the poster bed.

The breakfast is incredible and the service impeccable - served anywhere at any time. Every morning we'd wake up to find a tray with freshly made coffee and tea outside our room. The staff speaks perfect English and have great manners.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else on my next trip to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The poster bed room on the first floor is probably the most remote (we could hardly fall asleep beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Jazira
Riad Al Jazira
#168 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.