We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, stylish Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Calm, stylish Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Riad Tizwa was a stylish oasis of calm after busy, noisy days and nights in Marrakech. The interior is lovely – neutrally decorated with vibrant, colourful tiles on the roof terrace. The roof terrace was lovely – a great place to have breakfast and enjoy the sun.

The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Mint tea on arrival was a nice touch, as was the tea and coffee left outside your bedroom door every morning. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious.

The room was spacious and comfortable, especially the bathroom which was huge and well appointed. Nice modern Moroccan design details throughout.

A very welcoming, friendly Riad in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
122
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Riad Tizwa was recommended by my friend's friend who stayed here before. Immediately, I came to Tripadvisor to look up reviews on the riad. We have never seen such high ratings on Tripadvisor before!! Richard and Daniel were pleasant and helpful when we were booking and very accommodating. Since we were arriving late (after 11pm), we reserved a car (for an additional fee) through the riad to pick us up at the airport. This is the way to go since it was our first time in Marrakech and we would never have known where the riad was. Plus, we were 2 girls traveling and felt safe that the riad arranged this service for us. Hassan was a warm welcome late at night and prepared some tea and snacks for us. The riad was very quiet since all guests were asleep. We stayed in room 5 which was a bit small but we didn't mind it. There is a large bathroom and shower room. The riad is beautiful, very well maintained, and quiet even though very close to the Medina and souks. Mohammed and Hassan were there to answer all our questions and we had a lot!! Very honest and helpful.Tea and coffee outside our room every morning and a beautiful breakfast on the rood deck (tea, coffee, homemade yogurt, granola, pastries etc). My friend is allergic to gluten and they made sure to make her eggs during the rest of our trip. A trip to Marrakech deserves a stay at a riad and not a large hotel and Riad Tizwa would be my recommendation. The location is great - 5 min walk to different part of souk and 10-15 min walk to the Medina.

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the ground floor with double bed and en suite shower and bathroom. There is a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were recommended this Riad by my son who came last year. My other son and his family with me visited in February half term. It was a wonderful welcoming place to spend a holiday. Very close to the Souks and they could not do enough for their guests. Breakfast was taken on a very sunny roof, and dinner on the first night was beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Finding Riad Tizwa was a bit of an accident when I was browsing the web trying to find a nice place in Marrakech with only day before the departure. Now I can say it was a stroke of luck and if one wants a quiet, welcoming place in the medina where you're invited to feel like home, this is it! It's easy to get to and 10 min walk from the main square and souks with all their madness, yet it's absolutely quiet and extremely welcoming, including breakfasts on the roof terrace and great Moroccan tea & coffee served to your room. This is thanks to the staff there - Hassan and Mohammed, which is one you'd like to have in every guesthouse, they’re amazing. They made sure everything is organised starting from airport pickup, through delivering me to the bus terminal and making sure I meet my contact with tickets there to the final printing my plane passes and making sure I'll get to the airport. In a crazy city like Marrakech, that helped a lot and made my stay there a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All you have to do is to email the riad and ask - the staff will make sure you're getting the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there at the beginning of our trip to Morocco and at the end - three wonderful days in total.
We arrived there at night and at first were a little taken aback by the little alley way leading to the riad. The entrance seems to be in something of a dead-end alley but once we stepped in, we just felt transported into another world. Everything was absolutely wonderful. We were also lucky to experience two of the rooms on the first floor. I would recommend both the largest room and the one with the poster bed.

The breakfast is incredible and the service impeccable - served anywhere at any time. Every morning we'd wake up to find a tray with freshly made coffee and tea outside our room. The staff speaks perfect English and have great manners.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else on my next trip to Marrakech.

Room Tip: The poster bed room on the first floor is probably the most remote (we could hardly fall asleep beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent a few days at Riad Twiza and had the best time ever. The staff are lovely and very helpful, we felt at home from the moment we arrived. The rooms are beautifully decorated and kept extremely clean and the attention to detail is something we very much appreciated. A little plus: we were told we could have breakfast anytime of the day, anywhere in the Riad as opposed to the usual time restrictions imposed in hotels. Enjoying a delicious and copious breakfast on the terrace has to be the nicest way to start the day before heading out to the bustling Medina.
There were no false notes to our stay and we highly recommend this place as a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely Riad, located close to the Souks. The managers are helpful with excellent English. Great breakfasts on the roof terrace and tea and coffee delivered to your room in the morning. We stayed in Room 1, it's very spacious! Our kids stayed in a room on the same floor.
Sadly, the alley way in front of the Riad was being dug up, so we were woken at 7am with drilling for the last couple of days of our stay.
I would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.