We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It's hard to know what you'll find when you wander down a back alley and knock on a giant wooden door in Marrakech. My recommendation is that you knock just once-– on the door that leads to the Riad Tizwa. The bed and breakfast experience waiting inside its walls is sure to sweep you off your feet and land you flat onto one of the padded rooftop terrace beds sipping mint tea and snacking on toffee covered peanuts as though you were lounging around a more deluxe version of your own home.

The sleeping quarters are equally as enchanting. The eclectic mix of traditional and modern decorating is a delight to sand swept eyes, while the crisp, fresh smell of the air (and the sheets) is sure to leave you swooning with pleasure after the sometimes assaulting odors of Marrakesh’s well-trafficked streets. Beds are comfortable, storage and dressing space abounds, and bathrooms are fit for the most persnickety of royalty. Finally, the warm, hospitable staff will make you feel as though you really are king or queen of this fine palace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
122
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just had 4 nights at this Riad and it was perfect. The location meant we could walk everywhere easily and yet retreat back to the Riad whenever we liked. All the staff were really friendly and helpful...we mostly dealt with Hassan who was excellent with great English. We to liked the coffee/tea outside the room in the morning and being able to have breakfast whenever suited us. The breakfast food was delicious every day. All the facilities were enhanced by their attentiveness to Eco attributes which we appreciated. The beds were very comfortable and recommended hamman and cooking school good value.
All in all this was the perfect way to end our 2 weeks in Morocco. Next time we would check out their Riad in Fez as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Riad is just beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I stayed here as I traveled with a group of 12 through Morocco and we were able to occupy the full Riad as it has just 6 rooms total. The rooms themselves were spacious and authentically decorated. The showers could be a bit cold if everyone tried to take at the same time, just have to be careful to spread them out. My favorite things about this Riad; The friendly staff, the beautiful roof deck and the delicious food! We were lucky enough to have a private dinner in the courtyard our first night and it was absolutely amazing - one of the best meals we had in our 10 days in Morocco. And breakfast every morning was more than we could eat with fresh fruit, fresh yogurt, pastries, juice and more. The location of the Riad seemed to be convenient, though we traveled to and from via our tour van so I didn't walk around the Riad itself much. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The rooms on the middle floor or the one on the roof are most private/quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just came 2 days ago from Marrakesh - Riad Tizwa. Everything was just perfect, The location is excellent - near the Medina, the staff (Hassan, thanks) is very friendly and helpful, the riad looks amazing. Start your day with coffee and tee at yopur door, continue with a tasty breakfast, and go explore!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Riad Tizwa and were very well looked after by Hasan and Mohammad. We loved the huge breakfast every morning-- pastries, fresh yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc. Definitely ask for the room on the roof deck if you can get it, as it seemed the most private. The roof has loungers and covered areas so you can enjoy the sun or shade. We liked that we could order coffee or tea whenever, and in the end we discovered that they don't even charge for it! Quite surprising but did fit in with the overall 'our house is your house' atmosphere. We also liked the tea outside the door in the morning and the fact that you could just ask for breakfast whenever you got up. In terms of amenities there was the usual soap and shampoo provided, hair dryer, lots of space to hang clothes, and wifi in the downstairs area. We also liked that the whole thing is 'eco friendly!' Also FYI it was quite family friendly too, though perhaps better for older (ie quieter) kids.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the roof deck room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The Riad is unfussy, welcoming, and run as a real 'home from home'. It made a fantastic base for exploring souks and the Sahara.

Hassan and his colleagues are charming hosts. In addition to breakfasts wolfed down by a notoriously fussy 9 yr old, they cooked a great dinner.

Being in desperate need of somewhere to unwind, without the soullessness of hotels, this delivered on all fronts.

To get the most out of it, stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baku
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

There is nothing to fault with this riad: the welcome is warm; the bedrooms are stylish, comfortable and spacious; the roof terrace is glorious and sunny; the food is better than any restaurant; the location is central; the staff are considerate, helpful and charming. Go, go, GO.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.