We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Riad is just beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I stayed here as I traveled with a group of 12 through Morocco and we were able to occupy the full Riad as it has just 6 rooms total. The rooms themselves were spacious and authentically decorated. The showers could be a bit cold if everyone tried to take at the same time, just have to be careful to spread them out. My favorite things about this Riad; The friendly staff, the beautiful roof deck and the delicious food! We were lucky enough to have a private dinner in the courtyard our first night and it was absolutely amazing - one of the best meals we had in our 10 days in Morocco. And breakfast every morning was more than we could eat with fresh fruit, fresh yogurt, pastries, juice and more. The location of the Riad seemed to be convenient, though we traveled to and from via our tour van so I didn't walk around the Riad itself much. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The rooms on the middle floor or the one on the roof are most private/quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    34
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
135
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just came 2 days ago from Marrakesh - Riad Tizwa. Everything was just perfect, The location is excellent - near the Medina, the staff (Hassan, thanks) is very friendly and helpful, the riad looks amazing. Start your day with coffee and tee at yopur door, continue with a tasty breakfast, and go explore!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Riad Tizwa and were very well looked after by Hasan and Mohammad. We loved the huge breakfast every morning-- pastries, fresh yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc. Definitely ask for the room on the roof deck if you can get it, as it seemed the most private. The roof has loungers and covered areas so you can enjoy the sun or shade. We liked that we could order coffee or tea whenever, and in the end we discovered that they don't even charge for it! Quite surprising but did fit in with the overall 'our house is your house' atmosphere. We also liked the tea outside the door in the morning and the fact that you could just ask for breakfast whenever you got up. In terms of amenities there was the usual soap and shampoo provided, hair dryer, lots of space to hang clothes, and wifi in the downstairs area. We also liked that the whole thing is 'eco friendly!' Also FYI it was quite family friendly too, though perhaps better for older (ie quieter) kids.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the roof deck room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The Riad is unfussy, welcoming, and run as a real 'home from home'. It made a fantastic base for exploring souks and the Sahara.

Hassan and his colleagues are charming hosts. In addition to breakfasts wolfed down by a notoriously fussy 9 yr old, they cooked a great dinner.

Being in desperate need of somewhere to unwind, without the soullessness of hotels, this delivered on all fronts.

To get the most out of it, stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baku
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

There is nothing to fault with this riad: the welcome is warm; the bedrooms are stylish, comfortable and spacious; the roof terrace is glorious and sunny; the food is better than any restaurant; the location is central; the staff are considerate, helpful and charming. Go, go, GO.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Truely lovely Riad - very tastefully decorated, with a beautiful roof terrace - many photo opportunities! Exceptional service (especially Hassan - possibly the best host we've ever had.) Tea and coffee left outside your room each morning, excellent idea! No time limit on breakfast - lovely selection of fruit, musli and pastries each morning on the roof terrace. Excellent location - under a 10 min walk to the Souks. Definitely order an evening meal here - best we had in Marrakech! Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

An oasis in the chaos of Marrakech, the perfect place to get away after shopping in the Souks! What really makes this riad stand out is its manager/chef/host Hassan, for whom nothing is too much trouble, he is probably the best hotel manager/host we have come across anywhere in the world.
Dinner on the roof of the Riad is a must, Hassan cooked what was by far the best meal we had in Marrakech.
The final nice touch was the coffee and tea left outside our room every morning that meant you could wake up at your own pace. Which was then followed by breakfast that was offered every morning with no time limit! Why can't more hotels do this!

FYI - this Riad comes highly recommended, however don't expect a flat screen TV with movies on demand in every room. This is the place you get 'away' from that, and its lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Jazira
Riad Al Jazira
#167 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#70 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.