We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing about our trip to Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best thing about our trip to Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Truely lovely Riad - very tastefully decorated, with a beautiful roof terrace - many photo opportunities! Exceptional service (especially Hassan - possibly the best host we've ever had.) Tea and coffee left outside your room each morning, excellent idea! No time limit on breakfast - lovely selection of fruit, musli and pastries each morning on the roof terrace. Excellent location - under a 10 min walk to the Souks. Definitely order an evening meal here - best we had in Marrakech! Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
122
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

An oasis in the chaos of Marrakech, the perfect place to get away after shopping in the Souks! What really makes this riad stand out is its manager/chef/host Hassan, for whom nothing is too much trouble, he is probably the best hotel manager/host we have come across anywhere in the world.
Dinner on the roof of the Riad is a must, Hassan cooked what was by far the best meal we had in Marrakech.
The final nice touch was the coffee and tea left outside our room every morning that meant you could wake up at your own pace. Which was then followed by breakfast that was offered every morning with no time limit! Why can't more hotels do this!

FYI - this Riad comes highly recommended, however don't expect a flat screen TV with movies on demand in every room. This is the place you get 'away' from that, and its lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Riad Tizwa in Marrakech is by far one of the loveliest places i've stayed in world wide. The rooms are just amazing and designed in such authentic way. The Riad as a whole is so charming and beautiful and the Staff is superb, Every morning , fresh coffee is waiting out side your door and than breakfast is served on the lovely balcony. It is all done so seamlessly... Did i mention the location is just perfect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I loved my recent stay at the calm oasis of Riad Tiwza over New Year. With a superb location near the main square and the souk, the riad is a welcome place to come back to after a hectic day. Mohammed and Hasan are brilliant hosts and the level of service is amazing - nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts are incredible. The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and spotless. I can highly recommend Riad Tizwa for a relaxing stay in a fascinating city. Catherine Mann

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this excellently run Riad. Its real taste of old Araby near the heart of the city with all mod cons. A short walk to the souk, sunny (v.tasty) breakfasts on the roof, beatuiful star-drenched sky at night. Lots to do and see nearby, clean comfy rooms and helpful staff. Would recommend it for a peaceful but fascinating stay. A gem.
Alan Ravenscroft

Room Tip: Rooftop room gave views of great skies - especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked Riad Tizwa to get the whole family (aged 15-83) together for a birthday celebration. Taking over the whole riad worked really well for everyone. It's a magical oasis in an otherwise hectic city with great bedrooms and plenty of spaces to relax and socialise - but also to retreat. The roof terrace, sun-soaked even in December, was a real joy after damp grey England.

Beyond the delight of the surroundings, full of interesting touches, what made our stay at Riad Tizwa special was the exceptional friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, for whom nothing was seemingly too much trouble. Coffee and tea were laid outside each room in the morning before a sumptuous breakfast was lugged up three flights of stairs to the roof terrace and set out on tables strewn with rose petals. At our request, the team also cooked dinner for us on two evenings - and provided probably the two best meals of our entire trip. And the charming Hassan, having patiently set out directions to find something or other in the Medina, saw the look of panic on our faces and offered to escort us there.

In December, warm sunny days gave way to cooler evenings but there were heaters in the bedrooms and an awning over the central courtyard meant that we could sit there quite comfortably.

I highly recommend Riad Tizwa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. There's just one that doesn't have an ensuite bath-shower room, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My recent stay at Riad Tizwa was in many levels prefect. For the safety conscious, the house is located in a very chic part of town with the Royal Palace nearby. Very easy to find (even for me) The house itself seems timeless. Traditional Moroccan arquitecture with some very today facilities and a very modern decor. My room was massive and gorgeous. The staff is warm, friendly and always happy to help with dinner reservations, taxis, wifi, you name it. Every morning you'll find hot coffee and tea outside every room. The breakfast al fresco was incredible; Homemade yogurt, fruit salad and muesli and heavenly bread. The best part though was after a day of exploring this chaotic city going back to this calm oasis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.