We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Dar close to El Djemma Fna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Tizwa to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa
26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Dar close to El Djemma Fna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

After having stayed the night before in an exceptionally restored dar in Fes, I can say that this dar is very average. The service was very high and is the only reason I'm rating it very good. The owners of this dar do not live here and you can feel and see the disconnect between this type of dar and those where the owners live in or nearby the dar.

We greatly appreciated all of the help from the staff. They purchased bus tickets for us, made us great breakfasts, accommodated us when the room was hot and provided many other helpful services.

The location was very good; a quick and easy walk from El Djemma Fna.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
120
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ynez, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Well located in the Medina near the souk, Riad Tizwa has 6 charming rooms organized around a central courtyard. Rooms are spacious, baths are modern and also large, very helpful staff and great breakfasts.
Reasonably priced is an additional plus.

Room Tip: All rooms are organized around the courtyard so all are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently traveled as a couple to celebrate our 3rd anniversary— and could not recommend the place more. Our experience began with lovely email and phone exchanges with the owners, Daniel and Richard. We would stay at the Riad Tizwa both in Marrakech and in Fès, making our Morocco experience very convenient to arrange. They arranged for us to hire a driver to take us from the Casablanca airport to Marrakech (and he was delightful, his name is Miloud and is also a knowledgeable tour guide). When we arrived, late at night, the lovely Hassan was waiting for us with a candle-lit spread of mint tea and almonds, followed by an incredible dinner up on the terrace (we had asked him for a favor, since we were starving from our trip—and he made it happen last-minute, even though dinners usually must be arranged in the mornings). He knows how much we thank him still for this! The next day, we met the amazing Mohamed, who manages the Riad. In him we found an invaluable person who took care of everything for us, from getting train tickets to Fes, to making restaurant reservations, to setting up a drive to Ourika valley—all with the best disposition, sense of humor and delight. Thank you Mohamed! Mallika and Aziza were also bright smiling faces during our stay. The location is perfect, right by Rue Mouassine as an entrance into the souk. Kudos to Richard for the gorgeous design of the riad— the rugs, the linens, and the amazing lighting were absolutely beautiful. They provide babouches and bathrobes in each room; and every morning, when you wake up, you can count on a tray of coffee and tea (kept hot in great thermoses) to be waiting for you at your doorstep. You can have breakfast at any time of day. Candles are everywhere. You feel at home. It is this sense of detail that makes Riad Tizwa Marrakech stand out. I would go back in a heartbeat, and would recommend it wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent for couples; huge, beautiful lighting, huge bathroom, gets some internet out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at this Riad in November 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was a mix of Moroccan traditional and Scandinavian style and cleanliness with excellent plumbing. The roof terrace where meals are served is delightful with individually curtained alcoves. The service from Mohammed was very good and there was always plenty of tea or coffee available.

The Riad has a good location and about ten mins from the main square. There were a couple of good restaurants in the area.

The only criticism we have is that although the meal was very good we thought it a bit pricey and alcohol was not available.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Riad Tizwa really is an oasis of calm from the busy streets outside. Hasan, Mohammed and the rest of the staff were all incredibly helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 3 which was luckily a good size as we had overpacked by quite a bit! It also had the biggest bathroom I've ever seen and interesting toiletries unique to Morocco. The roof terrace is a sunbathers dream and surprisingly quiet considering it's so central. The location is great most places of interest are within walking distance. If you don't fancy walking it's easy to catch a cab from outside the riad and they are really cheap. My stay at Riad Tizwa made my first visit to Marrakech a memorable one, hopefully I will get to make a return visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This was our second visit to Riad Tizwa in Marrakech. We stayed there five years ago with our two daughters, and we stayed as a couple at Riad Tizwa in Fes two years ago. There's a good reason why we stayed at the same place again, we knew we could rely on the standards to be as high as ever, and we were not disappointed.

Many other reviewers have pointed out the elegant beauty of the place. There is no need to keep moving to places to relax because the riad is a destination in itself and you can totally relax there. The staff were welcoming and efficient. Hassan in particular told us that the riad was our home for the time we were there. It was lovely to meet Mareika for a third time.

We've now had rooms 1 and 3, both of them lovely and we would choose either of them again if we return.

WiFi was difficult the first time round - hardly the riad's fault - but we found excellent reception in the ground floor courtyard and on the balcony outside our room, occasionally in the bedroom itself, but never as strong.

A big thank you to all the staff who worked to make our stay as magical as ever.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Riad Tizwa is like heaven in Marrakech . The location is in the perfect spot to explore the city to see the sights, the rooms are decorated in a wonderful mix of new and traditional, the bed was king size and the linens natural and crisp. But the best part of Riad Tizwa is Hassan. He is the ultimate host. A mix of professionalism, and warmth. No request was to large. His breakfast is the best we had in all Morocco. We fell in love with him. Can,t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.