We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed feelings....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Puchka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Puchka to your Saves list
Riad Puchka
24 derb Hadada | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 1,081 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

At first glance this riad seemed to be OK. The rooms are spacious, clean and well kept. Also the owner of the riad, an elderly man, was helpful. Since one room was not booked, he gave us an extra room without charging extra.
However, on the second day he showed us another side of his personality. We have little kids. And in the riad there is a swimming pool (in fact one of the main reasons why we booked this place). I think it is not abnormal that kids - while enjoying themselves in the pool - make some noise. So they did. Without any warning the owner came to me, and told me that we had to leave the riad because he could no longer stand the noise while he was having his nap! He also told me that he had the same trouble before, which raises the question why he does accept bookings from families with young children. Later that day, he told me that we could stay…
Another thing which happened was that – after a few days - our kids got rashes all over their bodies. First we thought it was a virus, but when we returned home our doctor diagnosed it as bacterial folliculitis, also known as "Hot Tub Rash". Given the fact that our children stayed in the jacuzzi several times, I send an e-mail to the owner and suggested him to have the jacuzzi inspected. I will not reply what he answered me, but his words were unprecedented, extremely foul and very unprofessional.
So, especially if you are travelling with young children, I suggest you think twice before you book here...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadiaetsalim, Owner at Riad Puchka, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
Il y a eu un changement de propriétaires au Riad Puchka !!
Les enfants sont maintenant les bienvenues,
Tous les problèmes cités ici, et ils sont très rares !! sont maintenant résolus
Les anciens propriétaires étaient des pros
Venez nous voir au Riad Puchka
Nous sommes a votre service 24/24 pour que votre séjour a Marrakech soit inoubliable
avec bientôt une piscine chauffée
A bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Myself and a guest stayed at stunning Riad Puchka from October 9-13, 2012 and stayed in the Green Suite on the top room...it was great! It was safe haven away from the wonderfully exotic, chaotic Marrakesh. The riad is beautiful and my guest is quite hard to please and even she loved it as well! In fact, she kept snapping photos of the detailed painting and tile! I was thrilled to stay here since illness a year ago led me to cancel my booking the prevous year. Everyone at the riad was extremely helpful. Affane (the driver) picked us up at the airport and he simply was the best! He spoke perfect English and was ever so accomodating. So much that we hired him for 3 consecutive days and didn't even tell him where to take us, we trusted that he would know the highlights and did he ever...he even took us to a Berber village and Berber market...and only 600 dirhams a day or 300 dirhams for half a day! I highly recommend him and you can contact him at affanetransport@yahoo.com. The riad offered a continental breakfast every morning and the orange juice is freshly squeezed...yum! We had the maid/cook make us a meal one night (chicken tagine) and it was delectable and extremely affordable! Unfortunately, owners Paul and Veronique were not there when we stayed there (they were in Europe) but I talked to Paul on the telephone and he was extremely gracious and allowed us to keep our bags in the riad while we spend 2 nights in the Sahara. Upon returing to the riad, Paul and Veronique were back from Europe and warmly welcomed us and Paul offered to put us up a night (for free), but we already had accomodations booked for our last night in Marrakesh. Talk about hospitality! You can't miss with this riad...it is centrally located in the old medina...the accomodations are wonderful...and the beauty is unparalleled...it is like living in a palace...complete with an amazing staff! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you choose the green suite, you essentially have the entire top floor to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a really enjoyable time here. The location is great. The owners were wonderful and the maid was such a good cook and at very reasnable prices.
Our children were very young and unable to make too much noise in the pool so I would sugest that this is not the place to go with very young children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadiaetsalim, General Manager at Riad Puchka, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
Il y a eu un changement de propriétaires au Riad Puchka !!
Les enfants sont maintenant les bienvenues,
Tous les problèmes cités ici, et ils sont très rares !! sont maintenant résolus
Les anciens propriétaires étaient des pros
Venez nous voir au Riad Puchka
Nous sommes a votre service 24/24 pour que votre séjour a Marrakech soit inoubliable
avec bientôt une piscine chauffée
A bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This delightful Riad was completely gutted and restored by the French owners a few years ago. It is in the heart of the ancient medina. They told us they restored it for themselves to live in, but it became so well-known and well-loved that gradually it morphed into a 6-suite hotel. The foyer is an artistic tour de force – walls, columns, floors, steps and swimming pool exquisitely tiled, and wooden ceilings ornately carved and painted. We stayed in a 3-room suite on the top floor, which has its own self catering kitchen and living room. The owners, Paul et Veronique, were delightful hosts, and no request was too much trouble. They organised guides and taxis for us and made sure our arrivals and departures at uncivilised hours were handled faultlessly by their staff. The Riad met all of our criteria, which were fridge and tea-making facilities, living space as well as bedroom, a/c, pool, clean, all devices working, in-room wifi, view, private outdoor patio and western plumbing all working! For the price, I could not fault it, and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a kitchen, ask for the top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for a week after doing a weeks tour around the High Atlas and Sahara. The help provided by Paul & Veronique before our arrival was excellent and Paul called us on our arrival to welcome us.
The accommodation was excellent, all the rooms were very pleasant, well equipped, great bathrooms and very comfortable.
We arranged for a meal on the first evening after our arrival and felt it was a little over-priced. No complaints about the food. Breakfast was very good and whilst it was the same each morning, no problem. The maids were very helpful in preparing food and keeping things clean.
We did not see much of Mustapha all week. He promised to come and give us an orientation on the first day and we waited over an hour for him to arrive. He then told us nothing we had already read on trip-advisor. He spoke excellent English and I am sure would have been a great help. We only saw him again on our last day when he got angry with our children for splashing water in the pool and then he left after unplugging the Internet.
The location of the riad means you step straight out into the alleys of the Medina. Daunting when you arrive, but we soon felt very comfortable coming and going at all hours.
Roof top views and sunsets were lovely, the pool very refreshing, needs a little updating.
Transport to and from the airport was provided and no problem at all.
Tips
-Dress appropriately. Respect the traditions and cover up, even if just a little (shoulders)
-Shopping for anything from a glass of orange juice to a leather bag is an experience to enjoy. We had one or two awkward moments, but nothing we couldn't easily walk away from. Most were friendly and as long as you know the game, you're fine. Nothing is ever free & the deal is never done until change is received!
-Walk away at least twice if you want to get a good price.
-Know your way around, you will be offered directions but be cautious. Never look lost ;-)
-Avoid very busy rush hour time. It was more intense during Ramadan at 7pm. Afterwards was busy but more relaxed.
-Carry lots of smaller change to give tips where deserved.
We loved our stay and thank you for an enjoyable week at the Riad.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Riad Puchka, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We fully appreciate all of our reviews and even if justifiably negative, we learn and improve. We should like to point out that Véronique and I, the owners of riad Puchka, have moved back into the White suite, have spent considerable sums of money to correct all faults that existed at the time of this guest’s stay (although he hardly makes mention of any of these) and have taken full mangement back into our hands.

In this particular case, our customer was very demanding and we made every effort to please, including 36 email exchanges between him and us during a four month period between confirmation and arrival.

In spite of the positive remarks made by our guest, we find that some of the negative ones were unjustified and here is why :


Statement 1: We arranged for a meal on the first evening after our arrival and felt it was a little over-priced. No complaints about the food. Breakfast was very good and whilst it was the same each morning, no problem

Answer 1 : The breakfasts (included in the room rate) change everyday with a variety of typical Moroccan crèpes and cakes. Some items like butter, jam (peach, strawberry, rasberry), honey, do indeed tend to remain much the same each day. These guests drank no coffee or classic teas and we made a special effort to accomodate their unique tastes with hot chocolate and a variety of herbal teas.
We provide a unique eating system whereby we sell all of our food and drink at COST-PRICE (we make absolutely NO profit on the meals) ; it is therefore impossible to eat and drink in Marrakech the same quality and quantity of food for less : we guarantee this statement. These guests, 10 in all, had a full meal including drinks (sodas, herbal teas, mineral water) for a Total Cost of of 54 euros (£42) or ($66). That is £4.2 per person for a full three-course meal with drinks and tip included !Over-priced ?

Statement 2 : We did not see much of Mustapha all week. He promised to come and give us an orientation on the first day and we waited over an hour for him to arrive. He then told us nothing we had already read on trip-advisor.

Answer 2 : Mustapha greeted our guests upon their arrival in the evening and left the riad at 9PM. We always specify that he usually arrives at 10AM unleszs otherwise arranged. No time was set for the next morning. Mustapha arrived at 10AM. It took our guest almost half an hour to get his group organized for the general orientation. Mustapha spent over an hour briefing them and answering all questions. He spedfically asked them on several occasions if they had any additional questions, to which the answer was no. He was constantly interrupted by the noisy teen-aged adolescents. He noticed upon arrival the first morning that the teen-agers were dive-bombing in the pool and told them politely to stop as this results in water being projected into the living room and office desk.

Statement 3 : The maids were very helpful in preparing food and keeping things clean.

Answer 3 : Why did our guest give us only 4 out of 5 for cleanliness ?

Statement 4 : We only saw him (Mustapha) again on our last day when he got angry with our children for splashing water in the pool and then he left after unplugging the Internet.

Answer 4 : Mustapha was on hand and present at the riad every day and the customers had his telephone number if they needed anything specific. On two additional occasions when the parents were out sightseeing, the teeen-agers were left on their own at the riad and they were as rowdy as on the first day, screaming at the top of their lungs and……dive-bombing. Each time Mustapha patiently asked them to calm down and stop dive-bombing. Come the day before departure, Mustapha, again confronted with the same events, did finally, indeed get upset with the teen-agers, which "splashed" so much water up onto the reception desk, that the computer was drenched. He did indeed unplug the computer and left for the computer shop where thay had to disassemble the whole thing at a cost of 20 euros to us.

We care a lot about our guests and do make every effort to ensure that they have the best possible holiday. As said above, we’ve made lots of improvements since last summer to make the riad even more friendly and comfortable than ever before , so come and have look for yourself.

Warm regards,

Paul and Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

For us, the biggest asset of this delightful riad was the help that owners Paul and Veronique were able to give us when planning our trip, including such things as advice on Ramadan and booking a Toubkal trek for our two sons. When there, Mustapha could not have done more for us, for example getting some medicines from a pharmacy when one of the boys felt ill. We thoroughly enjoyed our days in Marrakech, thanks in no small part to our safe and relaxing 'home' base.

Room Tip: We had the Green Suite, ideal for our family of four, and with diretc access to the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This review is a little late as I completely forgot to add it! My boyfriend and I went to Puchka last July 2010.

We organised a transfer from the airport to the riad with Mustapha through emailing which was great. The trip was bumpy to say the least but was great to get the first glimpse of Marrakech. When we got the riad we were blown away. The alley to get there looks like a normal, dark alley but when you get in it really is like a whole other world. It's decorated in traditional Morrocan style which amazing colors everywhere.

Mustapha met us in the riad and sat us down to talk about everything. He gave us bottles of cold water which was nice in the 40 degree heat. He talked about the riad, the surrounding area. He also gave us a map and circled the riad and everywhere he thought we'd want to go to. He was so friendly, asked us if we wanted to know anything and was just generally amazing. He also gave us his mobile number in case we ever needed him which was lovely and very reassuring. He understood the Marrakech can be a bit overwhelming for the westerner and was very reassuring. Throughout our stay he was always on hand for any questions we had like was it ok to be taking photos of the Moroccans. He could have been English because his English is so good.

We stayed in the Blue Room was was amazing. The ceiling was tiled and lovely, the bed was quite firm but very comfortable. There was a television but it didn't have any English channels, not that we minded too much. The bathroom was amazing. There was the biggest bath I've ever seen, it can easily fit two people! There was also a separate shower. Again everything in the bathroom was traditionally Moroccan.

The maids in the riad were lovely and cleaned our room very nicely, especially considering our mess! They spoke french so it was always nice to say hello to them.

The pool downstairs was really nice in the 40 degree heat, but be warned it's not heated and can get verrry cold. It's a big pool, from what I've heard most riads have plunge pools but you could swim in this one. There was also a jacuzzi but we never really went in it.

The breakfasts were nice but a bit samey for a week. This is the only negative I can think about for the riad and it's not even that big. You got fruit juices, tea, coffee, traditional pastries, yoghurt, bread and jam. It may have been because it was so hot but we found this a bit heavy for the mornings. It was all lovely though.

The riad is fairly easy to find as the alley to get to it has a shop opposite. The shop keeper here was lovely and spoke french and some english so was very handy to get snacks and things for lunch. Sometimes the alley had boys down there just talking. At first this was a bit intimidating but they were very friendly and said hello .

We found 99% or Moroccans were very friendly. The only bad experience we had was when we told a henna lady we didn't want any and she swore at us. Apart from this though we think everyone there was friendlier than the majority of the English.

Overall we absolutely loved Riad Puchka and especially Mustapha. We also loved Marrakech. If this is your first visit it can be a bit overwhelming but stick with it and you'll fall in love!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Puchka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Puchka

Address: 24 derb Hadada | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Puchka was originally built for ourselves and as you can see, it is a veritable little palace. We spared no expense fitting it out in the purest of Moroccan tradition with the finest and most expensive materials. You have free access to the swimming pool, heated spa, mini-gym, sundeck and barbecue. Live and eat like kings and queens at very affordable prices. Contact us directly and we’ll take persoanal care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Puchka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Puchka Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Puchka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.