We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #345 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay in Riad Les Trois Palmiers and we had and absolutely wonderful time. The Riad itself is tucked away down what can only be described as a 'backstreet' and to be honest, you wonder where you are being taken when you first arrive as it doesn't seem possible that such a beautiful spacious place can be hidden behind the walls. We arrived quite late on a Tuesday night and were shown to our room and then sat down to a lovely first night meal which we had pre booked and I'm glad we had a going out into the Medina for the first time in the dark would have been quite daunting. I would definitely recommend a first night meal there anyway until you get your bearings.
The following morning we were greeted by Patrick who really is a great host and he drew us a map of how to get to the square and gave us a few pointers on what to look out for. Before we left for Marrakech I'd read many reviews, good and bad, and really wasn't sure what to expect and was more than a little apprehensive but I found the city colourful, completely atmospheric and very friendly in the main. Yes, you get people shouting at you to come and look at there stalls, or eat their food or drink their orange but a big smile and La Shukran ( no thank you in Arabic) usually has them smiling back at you and being asked "maybe next time?" Or you accept their offer and see what they can offer you and in the shops you'll more often than not get offered some wonderful mint tea. And I usually ended up buying something! But this was out of choice, if you don't want to buy, move on....you are under no obligation. Two warnings I have are about the Henna ladies and the so called guides... The henna ladies grab you a lot and try to start drawing on you. A firm La Shukran seems to work better than speaking in English or French. And in the streets out of the square you will get lots of men start talking to you and then start taking you to either the tanneries or back to the square and then want paying for it....steer clear if you can, they just want your money. We got totally lost looking for the museum and decided to use a guide who then took us to the wrong museum and it was actually shut (which he knew because the Berber market was on) and then took our money and ran. A lovely man then helped us and found someone to take us who didn't want a penny, just a chat along the way.
The little things you must do! Drink the orange juice and mint tea, eat in the square at night even if its only once. We looked for a stall with local people and found one along the edge (even though we'd been told to eat in the middle) and the food was great and try one of the egg sandwiches you see being made on the street, the bread is wonderful and who knew that a little sprinkle of cumin on egg could taste so good!
There are a few trips you can take organised by Patrick and the day trip to the Ourika Valley and Atlas Mountains is a must. You stop to see how Argan oil is made and can buy some from a reputable source as most of the oil in the square and souks is apparently fake. You the take a trek in the mountains to see the waterfalls but be warned, this is more than just a nice amble up the mountain. If you are unfit like I am (!) or infirm in any way, you will struggle. It is hard work going up and down but worth it in the end. You then go to a Saffron farm where again it is safe to buy as the market has a much lower quality.
Back to the Riad, the staff are brilliant and Halid looked after us particularly well. Always running up and down the stairs to the Terrace to see if we needed anything. We ate there 4 nights out of the 7 and each meal was lovely although we had a lot of orange salad for pudding....nice but repetitive. The Riad also has a small but nice selection of wines and spirits for those of you wondering if you will be able to get an alcoholic drink. Mint tea flows and is lovely and complimentary. We stayed in the Bahia room which although small, was spotlessly clean and came with a private terrace so almost like another room. We ate breakfast on it and in the afternoon it caught the sun so perfect for chilling and reading or catching a few rays. It was hot in Feb when the sun came out though so I don't think I could sit there in the summer.
All in all we had a fantastic time and will be returning and won't even consider staying anywhere else. Thank you Patrick and all you staff for making our stay in Marrakech so great!

Room Tip: The Bahia room has a private terrace which is perfect for eating breakfast and chilling out after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    47
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
293
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are so glad we chose this beautiful Riad for our four-night stay, and first visit to Marrakech. Just getting there was an adventure. We received a complimentary pickup from the airport, and were met in a laneway by a friendly staff member. He then led us through a series of narrow, winding laneways, pointing out little features here and there so we'd remember our way next time (turn at the laughing cow sign, left at the potplant, etc). Around one corner was a tethered donkey, around another zoomed a local on a motorbike, offering a friendly smile. I felt like I had entered a Moroccan version of Alice in Wonderland. We arrived in a dim, dusty lane, knocked at a low heavy door, and entered what truly was a wonderland. Gentle light filters into an inner courtyard, chill-out music mingles with the trickle of water into the plunge pool, and luxurious Moroccan decor provides an instant sense of peace and relaxation.We enjoyed a delicious dinner under the watchful eye of a resident cat, and breakfast each morning consisted of delights such as homemade yoghurt, warm flat bread, freshly squeezed juice etc. Complimentary mint tea, served in silverware, is available at any time during the stay. The rooms are charming, spotlessly clean, quiet and private. We couldn't believe how lovely it all was, especially considering the reasonable price. It's in sharp contrast to the dusty, hot, noisy, chaotic atmosphere of the souk and the main square, which is a short stroll away (maybe 10 minutes), but contrasts are part of the city's beauty. From the sweet and salty elements in the food, to the simultaneous warmth and cunning of the market vendors, and the calm of riads and day spas that takes over the moment you step off the street. Go with an open mind, conservative clothes, and a cautious eye, and you'll appreciate the city for the fascinating marvel that it is.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the most quiet and private (it's a bit echoey around the inner courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently enjoyed a fabulous 3 night stay at Riad Les Trois Palmiers. It truly is a magical oasis in a fabulous location – with all the comforts one could wish for and close to the hustle and bustle of the main attractions of the medina. The Riad is spacious, with two large courtyards and a beautiful roof terrace with a fantastic view of the city. There is more than enough room for all the guests to relax! The wonderful, friendly and helpful staff went out of their way to make sure we felt at home and nothing was too much trouble for them. Delicious fresh food and drinks are available to guests at any time. We would encourage anyone visiting this vibrant and colourful city to explore it from the Riad Les Trois Palmiers. We wish the owner, Patrick and his team all the very best!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Huge , double riad in the medina. Clean, very helpful staff. Every need attended to with a smile. Was cold at time of visit but staff attentive and provided heating promptly. Wifi a little intermittent which was frustrating at times. Food well presented and delicious. Within easy tho confusing at first-distance of Jamaa al Fna. Beds clean and comfy, bathrooms roomy, showers hot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Jan.1-9, 2013 my husband and I escaped the world at the Riad Trois Palmiers in the impenetrable old residental area of the Medina. We knew from Google Maps where we were supposed to be but it was a good thing to be met by the staff both at the airport and at the street end to be guided in through mysterious passages to the door of the Riad.
Much of the passage was covered, how would we ever have found this place?
No matter, by the next day we were experts.
Already an adventure to find, the Riad itself was perfect, warm and welcoming and beautifully restored and decorated by Patrick and Caroline, our hosts. Our room, the "Alaouite" room was exactly as pictured in the website but better. Heavy wooden doors and window frames with coloured glass panels opened onto the courtyard below.Totally charming and private. Great bed, bathroom too exotic to believe, we felt like VIPs. And that is the standard of the Riad; the best chef, the wonderful staff who treat you like long lost family. We loved it. Forget going out to dinner or breakfast, bring lots of books or read the books in the library, nothing is lacking here.
The wines of Morocco are served in the Riad and in most restaurants that serve alcohol. We enjoyed the white and Rose wines and Patrick can suggest good choices. Patrick is the go-to person for advice on excursions out of Marrakech. With a comfortable SUV and driver Ali, we made several trips, one to the Atlas Mountains with a mule ride up the inacessible to a hilltop Berber village and a brilliant lunch in the sunshine overlooking valleys on two sides with snow a few hundred feet away. This is a must, ask Patrick to arrange it for you. In fact, ask Patrick what he suggests for places to visit in Marrakech. He always visits every suggestion made by guests to check out the venue for himself and his taste is impeccable. This also goes for places to eat although on review, the Riads's chef was the best.
The location is ideal, within the Medina and near the Souks and most historical must-see sites.
We walked everywhere and enjoyed exploring the city at a leisurely pace.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, large to small, some with twin beds and extra beds for families. Some on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The best thing in Marrakech was the staying in this Riad. Clean, good services and friendly warm staffs and owner I really recommend this Riad to stay in Marrakech..the staff are helpful. The first thing , you must ask for advice to start you journey there and they promptly give. Don't forget because it is so important.

Room Tip: The best is the terrace room and a breakfast there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Address: 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha est une magnifique demeure du 18e siecle situee dans le quartier des antiquaires de Dar El Bacha. Tres au calme mais seulement a 2 mns des taxis et 10 mns de Jeema El Fna, ce riad vous enchantera avec ses 12 chambres, deux patios, deux piscines, deux terrasses et un point de vue extraordinaire sur la Medina de Marrakech. Les proprietaires sur place mettront tout en oeuvre avec leur equipe pour rendre votre sejour inoubliable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.