We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha to your Saves list
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Magical Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Les Trois Palmiers. The staff and owner were incredibly friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were met at the airport by the Riad's transport - efficient and quick and once in Marrakech he parked and took us down what seemed to be endless dark alleyways. We were soon at the Riad and as soon as the door opened we could see the dramatic contrast between the mysterious alleyways to the peace and tranquility of the Riad.The owner has completed an amazing project in getting this to such a high standard. The breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent and the service excellent too. The room was very nice but at the time when we stayed the drains created a smell and the hot water system could not quite cope with the demand. It is not really a place to take young children as noise travels. A fantastic central location and the owner was really helpful in recommending restaurants and in fact pointed u in the direction (and booked it for us) a fantastic restaurant - our best meal in Marrakech.
Would recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    47
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
300
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I'd been to Marrakesh years before as a student and had loved it, but this time I was coming back with my husband and two teenaged daughters. The reviews for the riad were fantastic so we mailed Patrick to see if he had space for 4 nights at the beginning of August. Commiunication was prompt and easy and brilliant double rooms were available.

Every single part of our stay at the riad was exceptional from our collection by Ali at the airport (we'd been delayed 2 hours at Luton and he'd had to wait for us when all others were breaking their fasts with their families) to Mustapha's kind care and smiling greetings at the door when we returned each evening. Our girls, 17 and 19, were quite simply in love!

There were other nice touches - one of the employees greeted us with impromptu plates of watermelon when she saw how hot we were after a day's sight seeing in 50 degrees' heat. We were also helped with organising train times to Fez and road travel by Patrick who gently advised us to have a rethink about our intended travel plans as the guide book appeared inaccurate in its estimation of how long it would take to drive through the Atlas Mountains to Taroudant. As a result we did not attempt to do the 7 hour train journey from Fez, pick up a car and drive the 6 hours (not 4) to Taroudant in one day - it would've been extremely dangerous to drive through the mountain range in the dark.

Added to this, on our journey to Fez I realised that I'd left my credit card in the now open safe in our room. I called Patrick who retrieved it and took care of it in the riad safe until our return 4 days later. It really put my mind at ease and as soon as we returned Mustapha presented me with it, again with a smile.

So ..do believe the reviews. They are genuine. I just hope that the riad isn't fully booked for when we want to return with other friends and family in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I were planning a trip abroad between 5/8/12 and 12/8/12 and wanted more of a cultural experience (apologies in advanced for the cliche), and Marrakech seemed to be the stand-out destination. We set about doing the necessary research on Trip Advisor, and the Riad Trois Palmiers emerged as a main contender for accommodation due to all the excellent feedback and the outstanding value for money.

Right from the off, the service we received was excellent. The owners were more than happy to answer our queries through email as we sought to confirm dates and ask questions about our visit. Free transfers, courtesy of the Riad's main driver Ali (what a legend he was by the way!) were arranged to pick us up from the airport when we arrived, and take us back at the end of our seven days.

When we eventually arrived at the Riad after a long day of travelling from the UK (Cardiff), Mustapha was on hand to welcome us and show us our rooms in a friendly and polite manner. I have to say that the staff at Trois Palmiers really made our holiday - they literally couldn't do enough for us. In particular, Mustapha and Mohammed were amazing right throughout the week; preparing food for us, organising excursions, giving advice about the city. In short, the service we received from the staff was 7* and I honestly could not fault them - even the cleaners were brilliant!

The Riad itself was exactly as expected; extremely clean, quiet and comfortable. The room we had on the top floor was equipped with fully functioning air conditioning which was an absolute GODSEND as the temperature all week was an average 49 degrees. Basically, what you see in the pictures is what you get, so you won't be disappointed.

The holiday itself was exactly what we had anticipated, and therefore I would recommend it to couples who are looking to get away and really experience something different. If you are looking for a holiday where you lounge by the pool all week, go out in the evening for some cabaret in a British-themed nightclub, followed by some food in a British themed restaurant, then Marrakech isn't the place for you.

The city, and country, is amazing, but certainly not for the feint-hearted. If you are visiting the square or the markets be prepared to be hustled! There's no point getting annoyed by it, as bartering is a way of life over there. Instead, try to embrace it with good humour and a smile on your face! Oh, and remember that for every price a merchant requests, they will usually accept a quarter of this price for their goods! Also, remember that you are in an Islamic country, so don't be surprised if you attract unwanted attention by dressing inappropriately.

Also, for those of you wondering about Ramadan and how it will impact tourists, then I would say it really had a minimal impact for us as visitors to the city in August. I would encourage visitors to be mindful.

Overall, I would say that this Riad, the people who work in it, the location and the overall experience were truly outstanding. Would we return? Most definitely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for four nights commencing beginning of August 12, and have nothing but positive things to say about this Riad and Marrakech.
I will keep it brief and to the point as you should read as many reviews as you can.
...the owners are fantastic, from the min you book till the time you leave they can't do enough for you.
...the Riad is absolutely stunning and far better than any large, commercial hotel you can stay in.
...the courtyards are beautiful and the two pools are a relaxing break from the heat.
...the photos online do not do the Riad any justice at all.
...mustapha (night manager) is the nicest guy I have ever met and made us feel like we were staying with family.
...the food is superb, the breakfast is a wonderful selection of pastries, pancakes and fruit with tea and coffee.
...the rooftop is great in the day to sunbathe or relax but magical to enjoy dinner on at night.
....they organized our trips to the atlas mountains and it was cheaper and better organized than the street sellers.
...they recommended some beautiful restaurants to eat in and we couldn't fault any of their recommendations.
...the airport transfers were great and without them I don't know how we would have found it.
Marrakech is an interesting place to visit and I would recommend it to everyone. We will definitely go back again but only if there is space at this Riad. It's like staying at a palace with lose family, it's peaceful, beautiful, relaxing and wonderfully renovated. Try it, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Now for the negatives:

There are none, if it's 21 out of the riads in Marrakech I'd love to know how the other 20 have got it better cause this is amazing especially for the price.....don't hesitate, book it now, you'll love it...

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We (family with a one year old) spent 5 days at the riad. From the moment we arrived until the second we left, we felt extremely well cared for. Everyone at the riad went always out of their ways to help us and make us feel really at home.

We came across the riad by using trip advisor's ranking system and after booking on two other places (one intentional, another by mistake: Make sure you book at the RIAD and not the HOTEL! they are not the same!). The reviews are correct, and it is true that the riad is located somewhat out of the way of regular transit, but do not let that put you off. After the first day out, you will get accustomed to all the little streets in the medina so this is not going to be a problem, even at night. The staff at the riad will draw you a map anyway if needed.

We did not experience any of the negatives mentioned on the other reviews: we had hot water, we did not experience noisy neighbours, and we were never disturbed by any sewage works.

The room was excellent. We stayed at the Almoravide (fantastic decor in the room, just as in the pictures), with three beds plus a cot the owners provided free of charge, so we had all we needed. The AirCon system worked perfectly, which was good since we were at > 39 degrees average! Our bathroom worked fine, no problems with drains whatsoever, hot water running all the time. There is no fridge in the room but you can use space on the kitchen if you need to (for baby food for example).

The ryad has two pools which are fantastic to cool down after having experienced the medina in all its hot beauty.

The staff, well, we really fall short in our words to describe them. Bear in mind we had a one year old kid who has tons of energy to burn. They were all awesome. Kind, helpful, always paying attention to our needs and anticipating them (cold drinks after a day out, cold watermelon in the afternoon, preparing breakfast as soon as they heard our son stirring and making noises in his cot). Not only they provide excellent service but they were also giving us a hand with our son, helping us get some rest as well.

As for the other amenities, the terrace is beautiful, the views are fantastic. Especially at sunset, when the breeze hits and it is all fresh.

Do try the dinner service. You have to let them know in advance if you want to have dinner, and it is fantastic. They also provide lunch if you ask for it (good for us to eat while the baby slept), and it definitely beats eating in the streets, although there are lots of good small restaurants to choose from (do try the tajine kafta).

TV: yes, there is no TV in the room, but do you really go to marrakesh to watch TV ? if you want, there are two tv rooms were you can sit in and have a drink while catching up with the world news.

Getting to and from the riad to the airport: The riad will provide a driver, free of charge, to take you to and from the airport.

Organising days out: Ask the staff at the Riad, they will make good suggestions for you, and arrange everything. Ask them before booking anything off the street, there are a lot of stands offering excursions and when there are so many, it is better to aks someone with experience.

In closing, you will not regret staying in this Riad. it is a very nice place. Of course, you can pay quadruple and stay at a top notch 6 star hotel, but the experience will be completely sterile and different. Staying at this riad is a fantastic experience, and its location, so close to the jemma el fna plaza, the souks, the koutoubia, the bahia palace, the medrassa, etc. (all walking distance by the way, no need for cabs or horse-carriages or anything else) just makes it fantastic. we definitely recommend it and will come back to this place next time we get a chance. Thanks to all the staff at the riad for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. It was our first visit to Morocco, and although it was a bit nerve-racking getting the the Riad, the minute we walked in the door it was absolute paradise and relaxation. The staff was very friendly and informative (honestly) about everything in the surrounding area. We stayed in the King suite, which had one of the best bathroom's in the world and I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go for the Saadienne suite, best room in the house, and not much more than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were recommended by friends of London who had been a number of times. The riad was in great order and the welcome was so warm and smiling.
There were loads of extra little touches such as home made pastries and fruits in our room and the bed was really comfy.
Staff are amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The owners are obviously really trying to make this place different, they were enthusiastic about the city and helped with a walk route. Never forget their hand-made map, it's really useful.
Try it !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Address: 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha est une magnifique demeure du 18e siecle situee dans le quartier des antiquaires de Dar El Bacha. Tres au calme mais seulement a 2 mns des taxis et 10 mns de Jeema El Fna, ce riad vous enchantera avec ses 12 chambres, deux patios, deux piscines, deux terrasses et un point de vue extraordinaire sur la Medina de Marrakech. Les proprietaires sur place mettront tout en oeuvre avec leur equipe pour rendre votre sejour inoubliable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.