We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of tranquility in the middle of the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha to your Saves list
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Haven of tranquility in the middle of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We fell in love with this riad immediately. Well-hidden, yet very central, this wonderful house became our haven of tranquility during our stay in Marrakech. Everything is set and decorated beautifully and the rooftop terrace is just lovely. We spent many warm October evening sitting there and enjoying the sights and the silence. The breakfast was impeccable, the service even better. The staff is amazing, they really make you feel like you're at home away from home. Unfortunately we had dinner only once in this riad - it was the best dinner during one week in Morocco. We will certainly return one day.

The only reason not to give 5 stars is the fact that the room in which we stayed the first nights didn't have a door to the toilet/shower (which was luckily "around the corner"). After we took a trip around Morocco we had another (a bit more expensive) room and there we had a separate bath. So if you like privacy, remember to check that out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    47
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
300
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here last christmas and had a magical time. The location is perfect, the staff are so nice and are always willing to offer you advice, guidance ad help. The food is amazing and the tours organised by the riad were cheaper than we could find online. A minutes walk from the Riad you are surrounded by shops stalls and beautiful marrakech. Our room was small and on the very top floor which was fine for us but I would not advice anyone elderly to stay there. The riad itself is welcoming, warm and an oasis you love coming home to in the evening after a day sightseeing. Thank you to the staff for such and memorable stay. We hope to come back to visit some day

Rachel and Rowan

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on the first or secnd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

In April 2011 our family of three had the misfortune of staying in the Alaouite room on the 1st Floor, Les Trois Palmiers
During the first two nights of our stay, we had only mildly warm water in which to wash. It was not until our third night that the water was a reasonable temperature and finally on the last night the water reached an acceptably warm/hot temperature for a good shower. One can appreciate the difficulty in shaving without hot water.
The drain in our shower was continually blocked. After an evening shower the water would not drain away until at least the middle of the following day despite our efforts to disperse the water as advised by the manager. It was not a nice feeling to be standing in water that failed to drain away.
Three out of the four evenings/ nights we stayed were plagued by power failures. I’m afraid I reached the end of my tether when the power failed while was in the middle of a late evening shower. Trying to find your way out of a shower in the darkness is not only daunting, but downright dangerous. Unfortunately I not only slipped in the bathroom as I felt my way around, I also sat on my reading glasses causing the frames to distort and be almost unwearable. Lucky for me that no serious damage was sustained.
On a positive note, I would like to stress that the staff were excellent - they were courteous, kind and always helpful. We reported these problems to them during our stay on a couple of occasions in the hope that some remedy could be found, but they did re-occur. We then had a longer conversation with them on our departure. However, it seems that the problems were outside their control and it appears that the owners have known of these problems affecting the 1st floor for some time.
In summary Les Trois Palmiers is a very nice riad with good staff and at face value the tariff of EUR 130 is reasonable. However, at that tariff, I do expect hot running water on tap, good plumbing and a constant supply of electricity – things that we did not always get.
The owners have since offered two nights free accommodation as compensation however, they have not replied to our emails requesting alternate compensation

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from dining, swimming and general public areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We arrived in Marrakeckh from Rabat & were met by Hicham from the Riad who walked us through these little alleyways into this dark little alley to the door of the Riad. It all looked shady & dark & dirty until you step into the doorway ! It's a totally different world inside ! The owners Patrick & Caroline have created dazzling interiors in the Morroccan fashion with exquisite details in the archtecture ! Talented local craftsmen have decorated the tiled pools & doors with the most beautiful designs. Wonderful bathrooms & spacious bedroom. The terraces are lush with greenery & generous seating. Our breakfasts were wonderful & service by Mustapha was wonderful. Delila the cook makes food equal to restaurants that charge a lot more ! Fetima & the rest of the staff were lovely ! Great location near the shopping in the medina & the main square Jemma El Fna. Seems difficult but after simple map from Hichom we got around just fine. Thanks everyone for a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Riad in Feb/March 2011 after reading amazing reviews - we couldn't have found a better place to stay! It was an oasis of calm, but close enough to all the action of the main square. The staff - Mustafa, Khaled et al were absolutely wonderful, and couldn't have been better hosts. The rooms were always kept clean and the meal we had in the riad was fab - thank you for catering to our vegetarian needs! Breakfast on the terrace every day was a delight. The staff were also very helpful in helping us organise a day trip to the mountains - highly recommended.

Thank you for making our stay a memorable one and for making us feel at home!

Dipak & Anj

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Arrived at the riad apro 9.30 am Monday morning.
Our driver Ali was thare to meet us as planned. We drove to the medina where we then began to walk through the alley ways, I have got to be honest I thought oh my god is this for real " have I really paid to come here" I was feeling a little nervous as I had never expierenced anything like it before, "this was the real morrocan life"
We walked for a few minutes until we arrived at a small wooden door.The door opened very quickly for us to be invited into what we could only describe as a tiny piece of heaven.
This beautiful tranquil place is totally amazing and relaxing.
Whatever good comments you read on trip advisor" trust us you must believe."
The owner Patrick was there to greet us and did so with genuine warmth.
The staff at the riad were amazing, you are treated with the upmost respect and looked after from start to finish,nothing is too much trouble for anyone.
Dahlia the cook welcomed me into her kitchen and gave me a morrocan cooking lesson showing me all the wonderful spices that are used in a typical morrocan dish. Mustaffa was there every morning to greet us for breakfast with his lovely smile nothing was too much trouble for him.
The other staff who I will mention by name are Khalid, Fatima, salma, Hichim, Chiba, Hiba and Ali they will all play a fantastic and important part in making your stay as tranquil and relaxing as they did ours. They are all amazing.
To sum up our stay. Next year we will be back, proberbly at the end of the year when We are both feeling at our dreariest, knowing that we will leave totally recharged.
Oh just to let you all know I had nothing to be nervous about. The medina is safe,and the morrocan people are lovely.


  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We booked this hotel through Lowcostholidays.com and it was a very good choice;4 star, very reasonably priced, clean, comfortable airconditioned room, friendly helpful staff, good food and a nice swimming pool. As well as the dining room it was very pleasant eating at the tables outside by the pool.
The hotel was well located in a quiet road and yet within easy walking distance of one of the main Plazas where there was a good choice of restaurents, banks, buses and the tourist information office. We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day stay; the only complaint we had was the very cramped position of the toilet up against the vanity unit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Address: 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha est une magnifique demeure du 18e siecle situee dans le quartier des antiquaires de Dar El Bacha. Tres au calme mais seulement a 2 mns des taxis et 10 mns de Jeema El Fna, ce riad vous enchantera avec ses 12 chambres, deux patios, deux piscines, deux terrasses et un point de vue extraordinaire sur la Medina de Marrakech. Les proprietaires sur place mettront tout en oeuvre avec leur equipe pour rendre votre sejour inoubliable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.