We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at Dar Cherif” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Cherif

Save Saved
You added Dar Cherif to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Cherif
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Km 11, Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #539 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
casablanca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay at Dar Cherif”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

great house. great atmosphere. great food. very clean and luxurious. many thanks!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed 3 nights in a spacious and beautiful room (very kindly upgraded as the place had no guests on our arrival) in Dar Cherif, and it was a great place to relax and soak up the wide open skies. We chose to stay out of town for our first few days to ensure we had some real chill time. We ate a fabulous meal the first night - however it was rather pricey for what it was. 30 euro for soup, a main and fruit salad. Even the top restaurants in the city charge about that for much more food / ambience / finesse.

This theme continued and ultimately we felt like we were being slightly taken advantage of. The place is VERY remote so any food, drink or transport needs to be booked through the owner and it is without doubt very expensive and restrictive.

That said if you are used to luxury resorts this is to be expected and that was our error. However as an independent traveller on honeymoon i found being so totally cut off from cheaper / better alternatives very frustrating.

Booking a car to Essaouria we were told we couldnt get one for less than 130 Euro (for a two hour journey). It turned out after we paid there were coaches for just a few euros - and even hiring a car for 24 hours is half the price.

All in all a lovely place but the sense of being 'leveraged' once checked in is not something that worked for us.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Loved the Dar Cherif, the service was superb and tailored to our requirements (fussy 13 year old boys), the suites immaculate and very tasteful, the pool a dream.
We had a look at the tent - don't hestitate book it! Large, spacious, light and luxurious - and private.
5 stars - many thanks for starting our holiday so well.

  • Liked — Rooms - could live there!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Today Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

The previous review sums up our experience perfectly but I wanted to add another positive rating as we can't believe how lucky we have been and how we have really landed on our feet here.

The aim of our trip was to escape the hectic pace in London, take in some sun and a little culture. Within the first day we were so relaxed and well looked after that we could have gone home content. Maria is a delightful host and nothing is too much bother for her or her three charming staff. Traditional teas, coffee and water are brought to you on demand, there is fresh fruit in your room everyday and the fragrant roses by your bed are picked from the garden right outside your room. The food is delightful and we can eat where we chose. The Moroccan wine was delicious and when we couldn't finish our bottle the first night, Maria popped a cork in it and served it up the next night for us.

With only 6 rooms this residence has the feel of exclusivity and utter privacy without paying the handsome price tag. We have seen the other guests briefly but the pool, the hammam, the sitting room or the sun terrace have been essentially ours alone when we used them - and you certainly don't get that at one of the 5-star hotels in the city!

Although quite a distance from the city itself (and therefore not suitable to those wanting to revel in the constant bustle and noise), access is very simple - Maria will arrange a car to suit you and you tell the driver what time you would collected, avoiding the hassle of petit taxis around Djeema el Fna. Perhaps more expensive than using public transport, the chosen taxi firm is clean, prompt and friendly and as the fare is added to your room bill, the hassle of negotiating a price is removed from the equation. Our driver was very knowledgeable and he offered his telephone number should we wish to change our time of collection which took a weight off our minds that we had to be done by a certain time (we did more shopping in the souks than planned!) A range of excursions are available on request (e.g. Atlas mountains 1-hours drive / Essouria 1-day) or a car and guide can be arranged for your disposal, and you do not need to book days in advance, rather decide over dinner when Maria pops by to see how you are getting on.

Having travelled extensively over the last 10 years I have to admit although perhaps a little sceptical when we first drove through Marrakech and down a short bumpy track to get to Dar Cherif, I was certainly not let down - this is a beautiful serene residence for anyone wanting to escape a busy life and I would recommend it at the drop of a hat!

  • Liked — The privacy, the serenity, the delicious food and wine, the discreet and charming staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, we'll be back!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

Dar Cherif is a relatively new Riad run by a wonderful lady called Maria, ably helped by Driss, Fatima and her other excellent staff. The Riad is about 10km out of Marrakesh and may not be ideal for a short break for first timers to Marrakesh. However we had been before and wanted to spend time playing some golf and driving into the Atlas mountains.

Each room has been individually designed and all of them are very spacious. They all have their own private terraces looking out on the gardens, with the snow capped Atlas mountains in the background.

The gardens are spacious and there is a lovely pool for use when the weather is warmer.

Maria's chef will prepare anything for breakfast that clients want, so at various times we had croissants, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and wonderful little Morrocan pancakes soaked in honey. Breakfast is totally flexible and you can have it in your room or on the terrace at any time.

Whilst we did go into Marrakesh to eat at one of the best restaurants there, it was nowhere nearly as good as that produced by Maria's chef. As a result we ate almost every evening at the Riad, enjoying a wide variety of Tagines, couscous and other Moroccan specialities.

Maria is extremely well travelled and speaks English fluently, as one might expect from someone who worked at the British Embassy for a number of years. One of the delights of the holiday was enjoying a pre dinner aperitif with Maria and chatting about a wide variety of different topics, as well as finding out more about the "real" Morocco.

This year I understand Maria is getting a Minibus to take guests into Marrakesh, but if people are keen to spend most of their time amongst the hurly-burly of Marrakesh, this is not the place to come. However if you want to enjoy a peaceful holiday close to Marrakesh, play some golf, drive into the mountains etc, then Dar Cherif makes an ideal base.

  • Liked — The spaciousness and friendliness
  • Disliked — The 400 metre track to get there.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Cherif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Cherif

Address: Km 11, Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Cherif 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearby the three main golf courses of the region, just a few minutes away from the city, Dar Cherif offers everything for an idyllic and peaceful stay. Born out of a desire to share and destined for discerned guests, this wonderful riad is the result of the combined effort of a Moroccan family who conceives hospitality like a privilege. In the middle of a splendid Andalusian garden, this villa opens up on the fantastic spectacle of the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Dar Cherif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Cherif, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.