We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeatable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hotel Assia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Hotel Assia
32, calle de la Recette | Riad El Mokha, Jamaa El Fna, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Repeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Really nice riad close to the Jamma el Fna square. Really nice people. We stayed two times. They helped us with any issue we had. Nice breakfast at the terrace. They called us a taxi when leaving at 0630.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

Very Friendly,great location,clean,super roof terrace, good Internet and wi-fi. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

good value for money
very clean
free internet
excellent view of the Atlas mountains from the roof terrace
breakfast buffet, served on the terrace, by very smiley english talking personal
contrary to all the other hotels I staid in Marocco, Riad Hotel Assia has a female employee at the reception.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Holland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

As a tourleader I've had to stay in some pretty bad places over the years, but this is one I keep coming back to again and again on a voluntary basis!
Assia is small, perfectly located and has a very friendly and helpful staff. Expect no luxury, though quite some effort has been made on the decor. Nice little coutyard, carved wooden doors, nice tiles and fabrics, coloured glass in the windows. As it is built as a riad, most of the windows are on the courtyard. Only the rooms located at the front have windows looking out on the alley, which might be a disadvantage when you are a light sleeper, as you might expect right in the center of a big city the noise goes on all night.
As I said, no luxury, but everything you need is there. Clean beds and towels, plenty of hot water, blowers that can blow hot or cold air (and heating is really rare in Moroccan hotels of this category, though winters can be fiercely cold), free wifi, friendly staff. I've read complaints about the breakfast, but I've always found it delightful and plenty: fresh orange juice, hot pancakes, boiled eggs, assorted rolls or bread, as much coffee, tea,milk and hot choclate as you want.
Best of all is the location, right in the heart of the medina, close to the square. A real little haven, very good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This would be the only hotel from backpacking around Morrocco for 12 days that I would recommend. Staff are great and well set up. Had good sleep apart from last night when herd of Spanish guests where on the roof terrace late at night - ask to be on first floor away from the street when book.

Stayed in two different rooms both ensuite with shower trays. Good quality rooms for budget accommodation not far off UK standard of good quality English B&B and well cleaned. They even have a currency conversion place which is good if you just arrive from the airport as DHs aren't available outside Morrocco.

Breakfast is really good quality and they cover over the bread etc. British standards regarding food hygiene and excellent coffee.

They staff very friendly and give good advice, when it was time for us to go to the airport they found us a cab which cost 80dhs in total for the journey for both of us (payment should be for journey not per person but taxi drivers tried to rip you off). So, took the hassle factor out. Really great people with reception staff that speak English.

Only bad thing I can say is they recommend Expeditition Safari re. dessert and Atlas trips who are a really awful firm - I ended going with them and got food poisoning and others have posted bad reviews on this company. If they recommend these to you, do some research and find another company.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We reached hotel assia, in the evening and were greeted by the friendly staff there.

This is a riad (enclosed hotel) with daylight coming through centre. The rooms were clean and bedding was changed daily. The bathrooms were very basic and in the morning the water can turn cold... (however after reporting it to the manager, he fixed this issue). Breakfast is served on the terrace roof and is basic again you get what you pay for... coffee, tea, mint tea, french bread, crosisants, orange juice etc...

Even though in an alley way...The location of the hotel was good as was literally 1-2 minutes walk from the main busy Jema el fnaa square and medina. Outside the alleyway of the hotel, there are shops, restaurants, takeouts, muisic shops, clothes shops etc.. Taxis bay... KFC within 5-10min walk.. main bus stop 5-10min walk.

Overall it is a cheap hotel and you get waht you pay for! Not bad stay at all! Local to alot of amenties & routes.

you can get coaches and buses and travel out easily to Essaouriou, agadir, Fes, Ouirka, Atlas mountains..
.Any questions, please message me!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010 via mobile

The positives: very close to jma fana, staff was hospitable, nice terrace. They had wifi and even a computer for customer use. The staff stored our luggage after we checked out for free.

Negatives: there was noise coming in from outside. The breakfast was pretty basic but was still better than other hotels we were at.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hotel Assia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Assia

Address: 32, calle de la Recette | Riad El Mokha, Jamaa El Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Riad Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hotel Assia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Hotel Assia to your Saves list