We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terre Resort and Spa Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Terre Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terre Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Palmaraie | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terre Resort and Spa Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We are in a strong position to review Terre resort and Spa as not only is it our second visit (previous stay Sep 06) but we stayed at the incomparable 5 star Plantation d’Albion in Mauritius and can make a true comparison as the resort has been recently upgraded . So inclusive champagne (but not before 1800) and on our arrival, we were told lots of little surprises would be offered every day (no more than before). Two years ago we thoroughly enjoyed our 7 days here and longed to return to see more of Marrakech and Morocco. The main criticism we had before was that Terre Resort only offered breakfast but this year that has been addressed by the addition of a lunchtime brasserie style service and a special evening at the Milagros restaurant, which was excellent – even if portion size was meager. The lunchtime ‘brasserie’ is good variation from day to day and service was superb.

We must have been spoilt by our holiday at Albion the previous Easter because on arrival to our suite there we had a welcome bottle of champagne, fresh cut fruit everyday and champagne included whenever you wanted it. As previously in 2008, on arrival at Terre Resort we were offered a non-alcoholic cocktail, mint tea and simple biscuits.. Our suite was identical to the one two years ago but the location was less impressive as it overlooked a building site and rough ground behind Terre Resort walls. To be fair, we asked to change and this was swiftly organized and we were relocated to a different suite overlooking the lovely gardens and the Spa.


A major criticism since our last stay was the special rates for children, including free for very young children. This led to several families with young children staying there. The pool area was dominated by them and the steps area into the pool was monopolized by a large English group with several children using the steps as their own private beach – resulting in many of us having to enter the pool from the restaurant side. Most open public areas of Terre Resort were also spoilt by the prolific number of people smoking – clearly the rules in Morocco are more relaxed but in a American owned resort we were surprised that there was not a total ban.

The hour of aperos, from 1800 was very good and an improvement was the special ‘tasters’ and ‘nibbles’ with your pre-dinner drinks and the singers and belly dancer were excellent. However, you had to still eat at Milagros restaurant (outside Terre Resort but close by) – 3 course meal of good quality, the Palmerie buffet (4 Star s) or the restaurant buffet in the club’s village in the Medina (3 Star s) – free 15 minute bus ride in the centre of Marrakech. All of these put together could not match the outstanding buffet and restaurant meals at the Albion, Mauritius – seen as Club Med’s showcase 5 Star village – something that all new 5 Star villages should try to emulate. On this measure Terre Resort falls short.

As for our previous stay in 2008 the strength of Terre Resort is its personalized service and the new general manager, Adam, has made a good start in upgrading the village to its 5 Star ambitions and is keen to improve things further. The staff are outstanding and cannot do enough for you. Chef de Bar, Kamal , is excellent and his team of staff work tirelessly to see to your every need. In particular, Redouane, Sofiane, Hisham (x2) and Mimo are fautless. In the Reception area Mohamed is keen to help in any way possible and the whole village is kept beautifully clean by a hard working team of staff.

This year we took the cycle tour, had a guided tour of the souks and took the High Atlas Tour which were all excellent. We organized our High Atlas Tour using non-hotelt/guide for a third of the cost of the hotel tour and had a personalized tour to see a Berber house, the potteries, the carpet makers and the two main valleys leading down from the mountains.

In conclusion, Terre Resort is as good as ever but not yet hitting the 5 Star standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay, in spite of our frustrations, but will be returning next year

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us as we take you comments very seriously and also use these to focus on the areas that need improvement. We do have to say that we are a family resort and that is why you encountered many families with children during your stay, we are focused on the entire family, but also have other offerings for couples, like couples massages. We are continously striving to provide our guests with unmatched service, and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to host your stay in the future and that your enjoy your future stay even more! Thank you for choosing Terre Resort and Spa, and we look forward to hosting your stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    92
    43
    45
    44
See reviews for
55
163
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balcombe
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was booked as a5 star resort through secret escapes, it has obviously been 5 star in the past and still has the potential but I would currently rate it by uk standards as a 2. Quite frankly the food is terrible.we were served raw oven chips,stone cold pasta(regular dried pasta) and I could spend days describing the terrible nibbles etc but I won't bore you!. You are miles from the city with no close restaurants or shops so are not only captive audience to their terrible cuisine but their fly ridden bar and terrace. The rooms are large but have seen better days.everything about this hotel is shabby, from the freeing cold pool with missing tiles to the reception area.The gardens are gorgeous with great views of the atlas mountains but this does not make up for the tepid jacuzzi and manky spa. The really sad thing is the staff are absolutely lovely and really do deserve to be working in a good hotel but they have to put up with guests sending back food and moaning constantly about all manner of things (and we witnessed this first hand on many occasions). All I can say is if you are thinking of going don't and if you have booked cancel, believe me if I had read any of the reviews I would have stayed else where and am a new convert to trip advisor. Bon Chance!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay, and have to disagree with your comments. We strive continously to provide our guests' the highest level of services. We have an extensive array of offerings on our menu, and with regards to the location, we are secluded from the city for your relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My son and I visited Morocco earlier this month and staying at Terre resort and Spa , it was the best part of our visit to Marrakech. The resort is a welcome space to the hectic pace of Marrakesh. The resort is stunning is clean, quiet and beautifully decorated.

The breakfast every morning is delicious, with yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, butter, jam and bread every morning and then each morning, there is a different main course i.e. crepes, fried egg, Moroccan pancakes. We weren't hungry again until dinner time.

The best part about staying at the resort is the staff , the staff was so helpful and gracious, going out of their ways to make sure we had everything we needed.

I have stayed at a number of similar priced hotels in Marrakech for the last 12 months and this is my favorite. Our suite was amazing, the whole resort is beautiful. Some previous reviews do not do justice to the resort. I had the free half hour massage and it was far better than the one I had at other spas in Marrakech a few months ago. There are a number of courtyards so the pool is not surrounded by dining tables (as is common). The pool area is fabulous It meant you could walk past reception on the way back to the bar then the pool area whee you can have drinks to be brought up. A couple of times they brought a lemon instead of lemonade to go with our drinks but they could not do enough for you. If you wanted an extra bucket of ice to cool your drinks (or guest) this was no problem. We arrived very early and left late. We were given a spare room while ours was prepared and allowed to stay in our room until late afternoon. My only reservation in writing such a glowing review, is that I may struggle to get a room if I go back to Marrakech. The other hotels have been lovely in different ways but for the first time I would be worried about booking somewhere else for fear of disappointment. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I would not recommend this place to anyone.
It didn't start off well when the car booked through the hotel failed to collect us at the airport - we waited an hour to get picked up.
The hotel lobby is nice as is the pool area, but i'm afraid these are the only good things i have to say about this hotel. The room was dirty and the shower was filthy! The room was never cleaned the whole time we were there and it took 3 calls to reception to get clean towels delivered, we also asked for more loo roll but this never came so we had to get our own supply.
The breakfast is really really basic - a few pastries with jam, bread and eggs and they don't top up, so despite getting there for 8.30am (bf is from 8-10am) nearly everything had run out.
Taxi bookings were never made, food took an age to arrive and the staff can barely speak any English so there is no point even trying to ask for recommendations of places to visit or eat. We also discovered on our last day that we had been given a junior room and not the suite that we paid for - they also tried to charge us for the mini bar which was free with our booking.
Other guests seemed to share are opinion of the place - one lady we met described it as faulty towers - beautiful to look at but terrible, terrible service.
The worse moment of our time here happened on leaving the hotel. We asked for a taxi to be booked to take us to our hotel and when the the driver arrived a price was agreed. However, on arriving at the airport we were met by one of the Terre hotel workers who had just dropped off some other tourists in his car. The taxi driver asked us to give him(hotel worker) the fare money which we did, but he took one look at the money and said it wasn't enough. We told him it was the price we agreed back at the hotel and he got very aggressive, blocking our path and shouting at us. In the end we paid the extra money just to get away, as we (two females) felt very threatened. It was a horrid end to a bad stay in this truly appalling hotel.
PS - don't bother visiting Chez Ali next door - total rip off. Dreadful food and dire ''entertainment''

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at our resort as, we are open to the feedback that we recieve from our guests. First of all I have to disagree with the fact that your are stating that the room that you were checked in to was dirty. We have a cleaning team in place, that ensures that rooms are cleaned and sanitized before a guest checks in. Also for extended stays, our cleaning team visits your rooms twice daily, once for cleaning and the other time for turndown service. If your do not disturb sign was on your door then our cleaning team does not enter the room. Regarding the breakfast that is included is continental breakfast and there is an additional charge for the menu items for breakfast. I am sorry to say that with all the negative comments that you have posted to damage our image and repuation you left the resort leaving your incidental bill unpaid which involved contacting the local police. As far as Chez Ali, we have no control over the offerings there as it is restaurant outside of the hotel that you choose to go to and we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy Chez Ali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked a long weekend at the Terre Resort with a Groupon Voucher. The initial contact with the hotel and booking of a pick up from the airport was easy and we travelled by Easy jet from Gatwick to Marrakech. On arriving we met up with the front desk coordinator who didn't seemed to expect us and left us in the foyer wondering whether we had a room or not! This was our first contact with this individual and on every subsequent occasion he failed to do what we asked him to do and then blamed everything and everyone else for his ineptitude.
We finally got to our room which was lovely to be fair. A bit dark but nice big bed, big ensuite with the odd peeling paint but very nice nonetheless. When in Africa, don't expect perfection. Grounds are stunning and the pool and pool area very nice. Food was fine when you got it but service was slow and even pedestrian when the senior manager wasn't around. We had a number of issues all weekend with service - rooms not made up, requests for taxis ignored, extra pillows took 24 hours to come etc which rather took the gloss of what was a nice trip away. Would I go back to this hotel? No - the staff are simply not up to the task and even at Groupon rates, you do expect more. Pity really because we loved Marrakech and will go back soon but we'll find a small family run place to stay and avoid this place. In summary, lovely hotel with lovely spa but unless you are extremely laid back you will find it very annoying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your experience during you stay at our resort. Please be assured that you comments do not go un noticed as it is your feedback that helps us determine ares where we can improve. I do have to disagree with the fact that you state that your room was not clean, as we ensure that rooms are cleaned and before a guest checks in. Also for extended stays, our cleaning team visits your rooms twice daily, once for cleaning and the other time for turndown service. If your do not disturb sign was on your door then our cleaning team does not enter the room. Once again Thank you for sharing your comments as they will be taken into consideration and we will make corrections as appropriate! We hope that you allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

the driver of the hotel came at the airport 1,5 hours later to pock us up. we were staying at the suite with spiders and cockroaches! the bathroom was beyond filthy!
the couldn't speak any basic English and we lost two dinner reservation because of that- they say only yes - even when they don't understand. our room was never cleaned- and there the rooms are cold and superDiRTY

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding you stay at our resort. I have to disagree with you with regards to the condition that you state your room was in. Our rooms are cleaned daily and we also offer turndown service. If there was an issue with the temperature of you room, we were never notified, because in those cases we can provide you with extra blankets, and a portable heater. Once again I want to Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The website shows this as a 5 star hotel. It is clearly not. It is barely a two star. The bed was damp though quite comfortable and the wardrobe smelt of damp. I requested on arrival that our safe be fixed as it wouldn't close. Despite two more requests nothing was ever done.

On the first night we and our friends (total 4 ) ate in the hotel's restaurant. On the daily menu most of the dishes were off though we were the only diners at 8 p.m. I had warm seafood salad and very dry (clearly reheated) chicken. The tablecloth had big stains on it. Breakfasts there was little choice and the dining room hosted no staff but maybe two or three birds at a time flying round. Plates were not removed from the tables when finished with and on the last morning I witnessed a bird eating from the scrambled egg spoon alongside the serving dish.on the buffet. A member of staff who was stocking the buffet took no notice of this.

Birds were a general problem, entering by the front door and flying around in the reception and out through the door in the bar.

During my stay in the hotel (5 nights) we were continually troubled with having to ask for towels and one guest was presented with towels that smelt of chlorine and had clearly been picked up from the loungers by the pool and delivered to her room. I got the impression that there were not enough towels in the hotel and they could not be replenished when old ones were removed.

The worst of all my experiences was that I had two lipsticks, a hair product and a bottle of nail strengthener stolen from the bathroom gradually during my stay (value about £45). I reported this to the Manager on two ocassions and he finally appeared at my door with the housekeeper and the maid who cleaned my room and proceeded to tell me that he had carried out his investigations and this could not have happened. This was embarrassing and unneccessary.

Of course we would not return to this hotel, but despite all this we met some nice people there and all laughed about our experiences and clearly this was once a lovely place. However, having one's personal possessions stolen was inconvenient and unpleasant, I would have preferred to have had money taken.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrai, Guest Relations Manager at Terre Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Please be advised that your comments do not go unnoticed, and we make every effort to provide 5 star service. With regards to the menu, we have a Food and Beverage team in place that is trained to honor our guests special requests. With regards to the cleanliness of the restaurant I have to disagree with your statement about the cleanliness of the restaurant, as it is cleaned 3 times a day. Now with regards to theft, we follow our guiding principles, and if an item is found it is taken to lost and found, and you can claim your items there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terre Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre Resort & Spa

Address: West Palmaraie | La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terre Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our secluded and luxury five-star getaway is located in the Palmeraie Desert, just 7 miles from the enchanting city of Marrakech. Everything at Terre (earth), from the architecture to the cuisine, is an innovative blend of old and new. Take a step into the past and be submerged in true Morocco style while being spoiled with all imaginable present-day luxuries. Our extra large suites come in various configurations to accommodate your every need. Our friendly staff and trained staff manage our full service resort offering from dinning, relaxation, activities and venturing on to the mystical red city of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Terre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Resort And Spa
Terre Resort Marrakech
Terre Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.