We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Irene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Riad Irene to your Saves list
Riad Irene
36, rue Kaa Akhlige | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40 000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Excellent service and very friendly and almost familiar atmosphere at Riad Irene. We felt like home after just one day. Both staff and owners were very friendly and helpfull. The riad is very beautiful and gives you a true Merrakechian experience.

At first it was very hard to find the way to Djemna El-Fna and the center, but after a while we learned. It is about a 20 minutes walk to the main square, but we found that positive, because it gave us an opportunity to see less touristic parts of the town too.

Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Riad Irene was a wonderful place to stay its design very French and classic on the inside due to Irene the patrons design skills. Very light and airy with a wonderful courtyard and roof terrace giving every comfort. The dining room made you feel very special with scented candles and buches of roses everywhere. The meal which we had on one night was beautifully cooked a and Irene herself made a wonderful apple/caramel flan. The only drawback was it can be very noisy, the mosque is just yards away and as the riad is down a very small alley, the children kicking around a football can be heard clearly as can the constant motor skooters going up and down. However, I tried to combat that by having ear plugs at night as Im a very light sleeper. But the biggest drawback is its location. Its a long way from the main square and you couldnt possibly walk out in the evening in the medina, its a warren of dark alleyways you would get hopelessly lost. So we had to take taxis and that also meant walking to the main roads which wasnt pleasant, the area around is unpleasant very smelly and dirty. So there are fors and against depending on which is most important to you. But when you look at the pictures of riad irene you will be tempted to stay there and you will love it, just be aware of its location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and me stayed at Riad Irene for 5 nights in total. We highly recommend this lovely house, run by a very nice French couple and there staff. The Riad is situated very close to the main place in town - the Jam el fna. You will get a perfect little map from the Riad to find the route through the labyrinth. The room we stayed in was very cozy, very clean and almost luxury standard.
Irene serves a typical French breakfast which will bring you through the day - just tasty!
You also will get picked up by the Riad from the taxi point near the Medina wall.
Both of us felt like visiting well known friends or even family. It is the perfect location for a relaxing time in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

After having a guide direct us to the hotel (even he had trouble) we made it to the Riad and were greeted by Irene and Pascal, we felt at home from the minute we walked in. They spoke perfect English/French. We were given a grand tour of their Riad, when we were shown to our room it was beautiful, every detail had been covered and it was perfect. We were served Moroccan tea on arrival, and anything we needed (including a tailor-made map by Pascal!) was provided. We had rose petals spread over our bed, a huge powerful hot shower, thick big towels, and beautiful linens. Unfortunately we were only there for one night but it was a great hotel experience. Ask Pascal to send you a copy of his map before you embark on your search, it'll make life easier. A hidden Paradise!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed at the Riad Irene to celebrate a friends birthday, the accommodation and hospitality were excellent, we were made very welcome and well looked after. The girls who ran the Riad cooked and served a traditional Moroccan meal for us, the table was beautifully set and decorated with rose petals. Afterwards we retired to the comfortable roof terrace for drinks. On our departure Irene the owner was horrified to learn that the airport transport we had organised on line was to cost us 400 dirhams, she promptly cancelled this and ordered us a Grande Taxi costing 150 dirhams. The only downside was that it took us two days to negiotate our way in and out of the medina and had difficulty finding our way back. In hindsight had we telephoned the Riad, I'm sure Abdul would have met us at the Medina wall gate as he did when we arrived.

  • Liked — the comfort and hospitality
  • Disliked — difficulty in finding it after dark
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

This riad is deep within the medina, you have to book a transfer from the airport to the riad as it is down little alleys. if you like local this is it. The riad itself has been renovated and the bedrooms are great. The Staff only speak french or Arabic so brush up on your french as it will help. Although we speak very little french we got by with the help of the french owners who arrived for a visit, they spoke english. We had breakfast which was fine, we did not have any other meals in the riad although you could order meals. They give you a map to navigate out to the city wall or down into the souks and main square. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this riad. If we return we will certainly stay there again.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Irene

Address: 36, rue Kaa Akhlige | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40 000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated inside the medina of Marrakesh, right by ramparts, Riad Irene was completely renewed in the respect for the local architecture. It consists of a patio all around of which get organized the various rooms : 5 air-conditioned rooms including each a large bed for 2 persons + bathroom and toilet, a "b' hou" (Moroccan lounge), a lounge-dining room, a kitchen and an office.On the panoramic terrace, 2 sheltered lounges, a dining area and 6 sunbeds.Situé à l'intérieur de la medina de Marrakech, tout près des remparts, le Riad Irène a été entièrement rénové dans le respect de l'architecture locale. Il est composé d'un patio autour duquel s'organisent les différentes pièces : 5 chambres climatisées comprenant chacune un grand lit pour 2 personnes + salle de bains et toilettes, un "b'hou" (salon marocain), un séjour-salle à manger, une cuisine et un bureau.Sur la terrasse panoramique, 2 salons abrités, un espace repas et 6 sun-beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Irene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.