We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Irene

Save Saved
You added Riad Irene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Irene
36, rue Kaa Akhlige | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40 000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #318 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Friendly, clean and fantastically well run.
zakia is worth her weight in gold, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This was the third time I'd stayed at this riad and the third time I didn't want to leave. Our arrival day happened to be the same day as the explosion at the Argana Cafe which may have put me off had I not visited Marrakech before. As usual we were looked after by the staff at this ideal riad beyond expectation and Zakia cooked amazing meals for us almost every night as we were there for a relatively lazy week, I would say everyone should eat here at least once when they stay for top home cooked food. The rooms here are well set out and it now feels like home from home with free wi-fi access for your Facebook convenience. On previous visits we have made day trips to both the Atlas mountains and Essaouira all with the help of the staff at Riad Irene so I would say if you need help on excursions while here then just ask.

Some of the reviews of this riad have noted it may be a little out of the way, but for me this is the appeal of staying here as you can see the real city. We can easily walk to the main square in less than 15 minutes walk passing through where locals live, go to school and shop, meaning you can see something different every time you pass through. It is close to Riad Losra, Riad Dyor and Riad Kheirredine for reference and you'll find these riad's rates are a lot higher and in the same location and the locals are friendly and helpful if you should get lost.

I can't rate this place highly enough and would return tomorrow if I could, I'm aware we all look for different things in our holiday places but this place comes highly recommended from me.

Book in and enjoy.

Dean and Paula.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

When arriving in Marrakech and driving towards Riad Irene, one big surprise followed another. Starting with the location, in the middle of the medine. The advantage is, of course, that you are in the middle of everything. On the other hand, you can get lost easily. But if this happens, the owners will take care by themselves to bring you back where you belong to. They also provide maps to help navigate.
The owners and the staff of the riad were the next positive surprise. They welcomed us with opened arms, helped us with every little need right from the beginning, including preparing a little meal for us after a long travel or giving us valuable shopping tips inside and outside the medina! So, we really felt home away from home.
The stay itself was very comfortable and fulfilled all our expectations. Just be prepared to leave a bit more money, if you order one of the homemade dishes. They are delicious and freshly prepared, but cost their price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Had a great time in Riad Irene. The location is good once you get used to the Marrakech alleyways. The whole ambiance of the riad was lovely, Zakia the house keeper was very friendly and helpful and also a great chef. We met Irene and Pascal who were also very friendly and welcoming. I would fully recommend this as a great place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Excellent service and very friendly and almost familiar atmosphere at Riad Irene. We felt like home after just one day. Both staff and owners were very friendly and helpfull. The riad is very beautiful and gives you a true Merrakechian experience.

At first it was very hard to find the way to Djemna El-Fna and the center, but after a while we learned. It is about a 20 minutes walk to the main square, but we found that positive, because it gave us an opportunity to see less touristic parts of the town too.

Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Riad Irene was a wonderful place to stay its design very French and classic on the inside due to Irene the patrons design skills. Very light and airy with a wonderful courtyard and roof terrace giving every comfort. The dining room made you feel very special with scented candles and buches of roses everywhere. The meal which we had on one night was beautifully cooked a and Irene herself made a wonderful apple/caramel flan. The only drawback was it can be very noisy, the mosque is just yards away and as the riad is down a very small alley, the children kicking around a football can be heard clearly as can the constant motor skooters going up and down. However, I tried to combat that by having ear plugs at night as Im a very light sleeper. But the biggest drawback is its location. Its a long way from the main square and you couldnt possibly walk out in the evening in the medina, its a warren of dark alleyways you would get hopelessly lost. So we had to take taxis and that also meant walking to the main roads which wasnt pleasant, the area around is unpleasant very smelly and dirty. So there are fors and against depending on which is most important to you. But when you look at the pictures of riad irene you will be tempted to stay there and you will love it, just be aware of its location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My wife and me stayed at Riad Irene for 5 nights in total. We highly recommend this lovely house, run by a very nice French couple and there staff. The Riad is situated very close to the main place in town - the Jam el fna. You will get a perfect little map from the Riad to find the route through the labyrinth. The room we stayed in was very cozy, very clean and almost luxury standard.
Irene serves a typical French breakfast which will bring you through the day - just tasty!
You also will get picked up by the Riad from the taxi point near the Medina wall.
Both of us felt like visiting well known friends or even family. It is the perfect location for a relaxing time in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Irene

Address: 36, rue Kaa Akhlige | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40 000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated inside the medina of Marrakesh, right by ramparts, Riad Irene was completely renewed in the respect for the local architecture. It consists of a patio all around of which get organized the various rooms : 5 air-conditioned rooms including each a large bed for 2 persons + bathroom and toilet, a "b' hou" (Moroccan lounge), a lounge-dining room, a kitchen and an office.On the panoramic terrace, 2 sheltered lounges, a dining area and 6 sunbeds.Situé à l'intérieur de la medina de Marrakech, tout près des remparts, le Riad Irène a été entièrement rénové dans le respect de l'architecture locale. Il est composé d'un patio autour duquel s'organisent les différentes pièces : 5 chambres climatisées comprenant chacune un grand lit pour 2 personnes + salle de bains et toilettes, un "b'hou" (salon marocain), un séjour-salle à manger, une cuisine et un bureau.Sur la terrasse panoramique, 2 salons abrités, un espace repas et 6 sun-beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Irene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.