We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amina to your Saves list
Riad Amina
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed in Riad Amina for five nights with our teenage children. My husband and I stayed in the downstairs Junior Suite whilst the children were in an upstairs twin room. The rooms were beautifully decorated with fresh flowers in the lounge area and bathroom. The beds were comfortable.
We loved the Riad! We felt we were completely at home! Apart from the beautiful courtyard where we enjoyed breakfast and dinner on two occasions, there is a comfortable lounge and dining room. As some of the nights were cooler we ate in the lounge. The table was beautifully presented with rose petals. The home cooked dinner was absolutely delicious. Fresh ingredients and so tasty.
Although the weather was too cool for us to use it there is a lovely rooftop terrace with plunge pool and sunlounges.
The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English or French.
We enjoyed the private hammam opposite the Riad. It is highly recommended and quite an experience.
It is sanctuary in such an interesting city. We highly recommend Riad Amina and will definately return. It is a little hard to find but hey, that's Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
78 hotel reviews
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at Riad Amina for 3 nights, on a bed and breakfast basis. We chose it because we wanted to stay in somewhere with character in the medina that wasn’t too expensive and it turned out to be a very good choice. We were warmly greeted on arrival by the manageress who spoke excellent English and gave us a lot of very helpful tourist advice along with some mint tea and cakes. We had paid for a standard room and were given no 6, on the first floor. It was not very big, but we thought it was very charming with a comfy double bed, air-conditioning and en-suite with shower. The only downside of the rooms is a complete lack of soundproofing – the calls to prayer at the local mosque were audible at all hours and you could also hear noise from the courtyard during dinner and breakfast. If, like me, you are a light sleeper then I would say that earplugs are a must, otherwise it just adds to the atmosphere.

Breakfast is served in a variety of locations, depending on the weather and number of guests but we were able to eat in the courtyard every morning. A selection of bread, pastries, jam, and yoghurt was brought to our table along with orange juice and tea or coffee – we certainly didn’t go hungry. We didn’t eat dinner there but we did have lunch there once – a cheese baguette and chips will set you back about £5 – you can eat out much cheaper than this but you can’t beat the convenience. For eating out, we would suggest Café Arabe in the Medina (http://www.cafearabe.com/) and Les Premices on the south side of the Djemma El Fna. You will probably need to book a table in the most popular restaurants and locations at the weekend.

Riad Amina is situated in the north of the Medina, not far from Bab Taghzout. The Kuoni brochure says that it is ‘only 7 minutes from the heart of the souks and the Djemma el Fna’ - we felt this was a bit misleading as it actually takes nearly 30 mins to walk to the Djemma even by the most direct route. As a result, we ended up getting taxis for most of our return journeys – at a cost of between 15 and 35 dirhams each time (£1 = 15 dirhams approx) - definitely worth every penny. It also mean you’re less likely to get lost - we didn’t have any problems finding our way to the Djemma on foot, but getting back was a different matter and we got very lost on one occasion.

All in all, Riad Amina is a really lovely place with great staff, but the location could be better. If we were to go back again and had more money to spend then we would probably go for somewhere nearer the Djemma instead. But if Riad Amina suits your budget better then I would definitely recommend you give it a try.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland scotland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

Do not be put off on arrival through the back streets. Once inside it is beautiful. Staff are very friendly and the manageress is fluent in English, and willing to guide you in the right direction for everything. We had a massage arranged by the Riad - heavenly! Breakfast is basic continental but very good. It is very easy to get to the Souks and the big square from here, either on foot or by taxi for very little (baraining a must before entering taxi). A truly enjoyable experience for us and would reccommend to anyone thinking of Marrakech. Much preferable to a big posh hotel - lacking in atmosphere.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We staied 4 nights at the riad Amina. The room was small but cosy as well as the bathroom with shower. Everything was clean as well and teh brekfast was very good. The staff- we only saw women- was very courteous and friendly and helped us a lot with all of our requests. i definetely recommend it for a truly maroccoan experience but be aware that it's in a labirinth in the medina, it's 25 minutes walk from Place Jmna El Fnaa and no taxi can get in front of the door being that teh riad is in a pedestrian labirinth-area. We got lost twice during our stay and i would not recommend to walk around at night, best thing is to take a taxi to the closest point to the riad.

  • Liked — the cosyness
  • Disliked — you can't get with a car in front of it
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.