We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amina to your Saves list
Riad Amina
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€56 off room rate
Ranked #267 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you are looking for a central location in the Medina, I would definitely recommend his Riad. It is close to the Souks and easy access to the new city, yet also providing a haven of peace after a long day of sightseeing/ shopping etc.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and we always felt we were returning to a friends home each evening.
The room we had was in a traditional style, whilst basic, was really pretty and perfect for 3 nights stay.
The breakfast was continental, with bread, croissants, cake & yogurt. This was too many carbs for me, but they were very accommodating and kindly made me an omelette one morning.
Lovely place...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Your car from the airport will drop you off by the big blue gates of the school as from there on in the roads and alleyways are too cramped for motor vehicles. At this point you'll wonder what you've got yourself into if this is your first visit to Marrakech! Fear not. It's quite safe and you'll observe that the locals are not one bit interested in you and are more intent on going about their daily business - at least in this area. ( by the way you'll be hassled near the square and in the souks so just don't get into any conversations! ) You'll have made a good choice to stay here though for your first visit to Marrakech. Make sure you use wheeled luggage as your guide from the hotel escorts you through the alleyways.
Tip him a 20 Dirham note ( about £1.50 ). The welcome from Miriam the manageress was warm and the complimentary mint tea very refreshing as she made us feel quite at home. We ate there the first night and the Tagines were the best we had throughout our stay - if you want to eat Moroccan do it here. It’s tasty home cooking at it’s best ( for Marrakech ) and reasonably priced too. Our suite was very comfortable with a good comfortable lounging area. Breakfast was comprehensive with plain yoghurts, three different types of pancakes ( that varied from day to day ) excellent French style coffee, a selection of teas, French Bread, Croissants, two slices of a very light and fragrant Madeira style sponge cake and Apricot and Strawberry Jams. The staff are very gentle and nothing is too much trouble. The top sun terrace is perfect for sunbathing and if the Riad isn’t too full ( it wasn’t on our visit ) it can be yours exclusively.
Once you get used to the area it’s easy enough to find your way back to where your car from the airport dropped you off. So, to get back onto the main route and back to the school’s blue gates, come out of the Riad's door, turn left, immediate right and second left. Follow onto the school gates. To get to the Souks ( and ultimately the big main square ) just follow the taxis and traffic flow to the small square that has the Pharmacie Populaire on your left. To the right of the Pharmacy is the start of the Souks. Now, you can wander through the Souks and eventually come out onto the big main square. If you want to get straight to the big main square and mosque then just keep following the taxis and traffic flow ( for about 10 minutes ) until you get to a corner where you can bear right, go down to the big and wide main road and as you look to the left you’ll see the giant mosque on the right hand side of the road. Walk towards the mosque and the entrance to the big main square is opposite the mosque on your left.
Minor gripes were a blown light bulb that never got changed, a basin plug that was extremely hard to lift up and drop down and croissants and pancakes that weren’t always warmed through. So, no major problems there and it’s important to realise your’e not paying five star Hotel Mamounia prices. All in all, with its charming courtyard and staff, it’s perfect for a first stay in Marrakech to really absorb and find out what makes Marrakech tick. If you returned again then perhaps stay in the Mamounia ( as Winston Churchill chose to do ), if funds allow, and mostly remain on site eating and drinking there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arriving at the Riad was like all, an Oasis in the Medena a short walk down lane ways and Moroccan tea and sweets on arrival.
On being taken to the room it was then downhill.
The room measured 2m x 3m and the bathroom 1m x 3m, just room enough for the bed.
We had dinner there and it was good.
On leaving we the owner inquired how our stay was, other then the room ( some may call it a cell), it was good.
We were asked why we did not complain about the room, my response was we should not need to complain the get an adequate room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A guide bought us here and thank goodness he did . From the moment we stepped over the threshold we felt welcome. Charlene, the owner, was very friendly and put us at ease...she did her best to accommodate us. We were offered to sit and relax and take some mint tea, as we waited while our room was prepared (we had arrived quite early).,

Rooms were beautifully decorated and clean, beds very comfortable, air conditioning was really appreciated in the August heat!

When ever we asked for anything it was never too much trouble. They offered to prepare food such as sandwiches or a salad, which when it arrived, was way beyond what our expectations in quality and quantity. .

Friendly, informative and sooo helpful. ..you would never get this experience in a hotel. Miriam the manager was a wealth of information about Marrakech and next time we are going to follow her recommendations to the letter! :D

Any time we gome back to Marrakech we are staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After 36 hours of travel, to arrive at this oasis and be greeted with a mint tea and biscuit was a true delight. The staff were amazing, friendly and attentive. The breakfasts were delicious, fresh squeezed orange juice, just done pancakes, jam, coffee and that forever peace. Our ears were ringing from the silence, and we just loved it. The rooms are extremely comfortable and furnished in a traditional manner. You could not go past this Riad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This riad is really nice. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. I would echo the comments of other reviewers. The manager said (if I remember correctly) that the riad used to house the grandfather of the current King's second wife and family. Some of the other riads in Marrakech and just knocked through houses but this one is more authentic. The rooms were simple but kept very clean and tidy. 15 mins walk through the souks to the square. A shop road the corner for bottled water etc. The mosque (Sidi Ben Silimane) was also an excellent landmark for taxis to find - there are so many riads that they will not know where the hotel is by name alone

Only a couple of minor gripes: the jacuzzi on the roof of the building looked in desperate need of a clean and had a film over the surface of the water. The map provided by the manager was also not very helpful (scribbled on the hotel business card). A simple larger hand drawing of the route to the souks and main roads/taxis provided on arrival would have been far more helpful. Lastly, the shower heads need to be replaced or descaled as they sprayed water all over the place and were not terribly effective.

Some general comments about Marrakech: this place is not for the faint hearted and is pretty full on in terms of sights, smells etc. The souks and square are great. There is not a huge amount in terms of other sight seeing - the palais bahia is nice but you will be finished in about 10-15 mins; the palais el badi which is excavated ruins in also worth a visit. None of the sights are well sign posted (even if you get a taxi to the destination) or for that matter well looked after - most have piles of rubbish littered around. The entrance fees also seem ridiculously low for tourists at 10Dirham. I would recommend cafe france as a nice place to watch the world go by in the square. I would strongly recommend the Bains de Marrakech where we had a hammam and massage which was incredible. Maison MK, Pepe Nero and Dar Najat were also very good places to eat.

I would provide a very strong word of caution though about people trying to direct you in the wrong way in order to walk you round in circles and demand payment for the pleasure. Trying to find a landmark or restaurant is usually complicated by (mainly, but not exclusively) young men trying to tell you that it is closed or that he will show you the way to go. They can be very pushy and persistent. As a rule ignore all offers for help - we mistakenly put our faith in someone showing us the way to the Ben Youssef Madrasa and we got very lost and just found the first taxi to take us back to the square - not a nice experience as you can find yourself very isolated very quickly in the maze of alley ways.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I was here with a group, and I will say that the place offers an authentic stay in a riad. The rooms have been nicely outfitted, if a little cozy (they do what they can with the space). The owners and staff are very friendly and will help out with whatever and wherever they can. Don't miss going up to the roof toward sunset.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in the building across the alley - it can be a bit offputting at night as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.