We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amina

Save Saved
You added Riad Amina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Amina
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This riad is really nice. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. I would echo the comments of other reviewers. The manager said (if I remember correctly) that the riad used to house the grandfather of the current King's second wife and family. Some of the other riads in Marrakech and just knocked through houses but this one is more authentic. The rooms were simple but kept very clean and tidy. 15 mins walk through the souks to the square. A shop road the corner for bottled water etc. The mosque (Sidi Ben Silimane) was also an excellent landmark for taxis to find - there are so many riads that they will not know where the hotel is by name alone

Only a couple of minor gripes: the jacuzzi on the roof of the building looked in desperate need of a clean and had a film over the surface of the water. The map provided by the manager was also not very helpful (scribbled on the hotel business card). A simple larger hand drawing of the route to the souks and main roads/taxis provided on arrival would have been far more helpful. Lastly, the shower heads need to be replaced or descaled as they sprayed water all over the place and were not terribly effective.

Some general comments about Marrakech: this place is not for the faint hearted and is pretty full on in terms of sights, smells etc. The souks and square are great. There is not a huge amount in terms of other sight seeing - the palais bahia is nice but you will be finished in about 10-15 mins; the palais el badi which is excavated ruins in also worth a visit. None of the sights are well sign posted (even if you get a taxi to the destination) or for that matter well looked after - most have piles of rubbish littered around. The entrance fees also seem ridiculously low for tourists at 10Dirham. I would recommend cafe france as a nice place to watch the world go by in the square. I would strongly recommend the Bains de Marrakech where we had a hammam and massage which was incredible. Maison MK, Pepe Nero and Dar Najat were also very good places to eat.

I would provide a very strong word of caution though about people trying to direct you in the wrong way in order to walk you round in circles and demand payment for the pleasure. Trying to find a landmark or restaurant is usually complicated by (mainly, but not exclusively) young men trying to tell you that it is closed or that he will show you the way to go. They can be very pushy and persistent. As a rule ignore all offers for help - we mistakenly put our faith in someone showing us the way to the Ben Youssef Madrasa and we got very lost and just found the first taxi to take us back to the square - not a nice experience as you can find yourself very isolated very quickly in the maze of alley ways.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I was here with a group, and I will say that the place offers an authentic stay in a riad. The rooms have been nicely outfitted, if a little cozy (they do what they can with the space). The owners and staff are very friendly and will help out with whatever and wherever they can. Don't miss going up to the roof toward sunset.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in the building across the alley - it can be a bit offputting at night as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Martin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staid a week in 2009.
Amina and the Medina took me right back to 1964 and my first visit to Marrakech.
Accomodation with copper wash basin in the bathroom, large comfortable bed a little pool, Nice people and good tagine. What else...
Around 4;30 go to the terrace and listen to the muezzins calling the faithful to the afternoon salat ( prayer ). The moroccan culture will hit you full strengh head and heart.
galisbay11@yahoo.com
( 2009 cannot be selected in the proposed dated of stay )

Room Tip: Depends on the travellers ability to handle of the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

This was our second trip to marakech and although this riad was not as luxurious as our last one the service is second to none nothing is too much trouble for Miriam and her team it is a very sociable riad and we loved it would recommend this riad Miriam gives you a welcome talk and goes through maps in detail and gives advice on where to visit I will definitely be going back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Staff and the level of service here is very good, our room was kept spotlessly clean as were most of the public areas, same couldn't be said for the plunge pool which was only cleaned on the last day of our 14 day holiday. We stayed half board, breakfast was continental style, bread, cake and pancakes with fresh juice tea and coffee, evening meals varied, some were very good, others not so, one even arriving not properly cooked. We weren't always given 3 courses and bananas with cream or ice cream for dessert became rather monotonous after five consecutive days. We did bring this to the riads attention and there was an improvement. The Riad was almost empty during our entire stay, this may have impacted on the menu and pool, the manager had said that the bombing had affected their bookings.
If you want the real experience then this is the place to stay, I would add that it has mosques around it which call to prayer starting at 4.30am so if you are a light sleeper you might want to take this into consideration.

There isn't a great deal to see and do in Marrakech, three to four days and you can see and do just about everything so if like us you like to keep reasonalbly busy then maybe do marrakech as part of a tour which most others calling at the riad seemed to be doing. Do go into the souks without a guide, yes you will almost certainly get lost but you will find your way out again and that is half the fun. Visit the Ensemble Artisanal first as this will give you an idea of the proper prices you should be paying, there are also some fixed price shops here - if your bartering skills aren't too hot your money will go further here but give bartering a try just for the fun of it, they will start with hugely inflated prices but remember you can always walk away. Try out a Hammam - Bains de Marrakech is amazing, best massage I've ever had and I've had a few worldwide. It's a total experience, for a hammam and a massage we were 3 1/2 hours, don't be fooled by the exterior it's very high class.

Avoid the tanneries, they're dirty and smelly, not very much to see, you will be taken to a not very good quality shop afterwards and be expected to buy something as well as pay for the privelidge of your two minute tour.

You also need to be a bit savvy, in order to try and get you to visit certain carpet and spice shops where the locals will get a commision they will spin stories that can be very convincing and they can work in pairs - they will tell you that places are closed, roads are closed, that they work in your hotel and will send you completely in the wrong direction. Just remember - nothing in Marrakech is free, cheap maybe but not free.

Taking money into Marrakech is controlled but don't worry, there are plenty of ATM's and banks and a money exchange in the airport. The rate is fixed by the government so it doesn't matter where you get your cash but remember to exchange it back before you leave, you get money right down to £1 coins so you don't lose out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at Riad Amina for 5 nights and I strongly reccomend this riad. This riad is very quiet and beautiful with excellent service right in the heart of Marrakech. The employees were all very kind, respecting, and helpful and I will never forget them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

An excellent Riad - small and friendly, with superb service. Nora and Miriam, always made sure we had everything we needed, gave good advice and sorted out trips, taxis, restaurants etc for us when asked. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the Riad is a true oasis. When you are dropped off from the taxi in the main square, there is a guide to show you how to get to the Riad - only a few minutes walk - we changed some money at the Riad so we could give him a small tip of 20 MADs. (just under £2.00) a lovely restaurant called Dar Zellij is "round the corner" and a member of staff will walk you there to make sure you find your way and collect you if you are worried about the streets at night. We felt very safe though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Amina 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.